On the Road Again

What she Wore: Jean capris, a short-sleeve white tee, and my red and white wedges.  I’m feeling patriotic these days.

Every year the Hub and I travel home twice a year.  At Christmas we stay put in the Crescent City, but in the summer time we continue east to the Redneck Riviera (AKA Florida beaches on the Gulf of Mexico). 
 
Yesterday we spent about two hours getting ready to go–what to bring, what to leave, hunting for the cat, running back inside to grab something we forgot.  The typical chaos that ensues when a woman who wants to pack one million outfits goes on vacation with a man who thinks he can do two weeks with a pair of shorts and two shirts.  After we’d been on the road for about five minutes I start to smell something distasteful.  I look at my husband and exclaim, "Did you fart?"
 
"Yeah, but don’t worry, it had a lot of volume, but I don’t think it was too potent."
 
 
My trip had officially begun.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to On the Road Again

  1. Big Dog Mom says:

    Your Hubby sounds a lot like mine!!  Something about a small enclosed space that makes them want to stink it up.  Is it any wonder I hate road trips? 

  2. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Sounds like my brothers – that is too funny!  I hope you two have a wonderful time at the beach.  Take lots of pictures.

  3. siobhan says:

    that is funny.  My hubby bragged that for years he had never farted in front of me.  The one day he bent to pick up our son and one got away from.  the look of utter astonishment on his face had me giggling hysterically.  Still does. 
    Have a great vacation!!
    Siobhan

  4. Nadine says:

    Oh Have a great time!! Have margarita for me, whistle at the men, and relax!! Just don\’t get sand in your swim suit bottom!! That might cause you to need to wash it out with whoever is in the shower!! It could happen to the most innocent of people!!
     
    No virus……Let\’s just say I am no longer packin\’ around 2 15 pound melons for boobs!!!
     
    Hugs!!!

  5. Laura says:

    Ooh, lucky you… it could have been worse…. Do yourself a favor and buy some Febreeze air freshener to keep in the car…

  6. Becca says:

    OMG that is too funny! M does the silent but deadlies! At least yours has a sense of humor! Have a great trip!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  7. Sue says:

    How funny!  I always know when Hubby is officially home.  A kiss, a \’hi\’, and within a few minutes he lets \’em rip!  Then I know he is home and officially off duty.  I should get it on video sometimes.  He can leap in the air and release on demand, all kinds of tricks.  MEN! 
    Hope you have a good trip and enjoy the Redneck Riveria!
    Sis and I had the same thought about the Kansas pic when I first pulled it up.  Will have to ponder that…
    : ) Sue

  8. Karla says:

    Have fun with "Cat"! I am very jealous I am not going to be there with you girls. 😦 Have a blast at the beach!

  9. KEL says:

    HAHAHAHAHA–I am officially crying now!  I think is the start to an EXCITING vacation–have fun!!!!~K

  10. Andrea says:

    Have fun and at least there is only one of him right.  We have three teen boys.  Why are these things so funny?  Oh well I guess I always knew thy were full of it.  Have fun.

  11. Rosebay says:

    FLorida <ears perk> Where?

  12. Carol says:

    Men.  They\’re little boys in big packages.  Mine figures the louder the better.  You can dress them up…
     
    ~Carol

  13. Unknown says:

    Oh yeah, been there done that.  Why do they think it\’s so friggin\’ funny?  Good LORD.
    God bless : )

  14. Unknown says:

    Oh gosh!!!  From a wife who has to put up with farts from hubby and 3 boys…..THAT"S JUST GROSS!!!!!   I\’m sure he was proud!  My hubby enjoyed the description he gave of it.  He was laughing as I was reading it.  Enjoy your trip!! 
     
    ~Ashlie

  15. CJ says:

    Okay, so it truly is ALL men who fart and think it makes them sexy, right?  LMBO.  Thanks so much for stopping by my space and leaving such supportive words.  I\’d given my situation a great deal of thought and am researching schools, etc. so I can become an advocate for others.  What do you think?

  16. Antonella says:

    LOL! That\’s so funny! My fiance actually tries to not do gross stuff like that in front of me (at least, not be to obvious about it)
     
    I like your blog about young married people! As you know I\’m planning on getting married soon and I always get strange remarks. Damn it, I\’ve been with Magbert for almost 7 years! Why should we not get married?
     
    I\’m glad you enjoyed you pizza. I\’m convinced that the best pizza in the US in righ there up the block. If you ever come to NY, Ciccio\’s pizzeria, Mmmmmm!!!
     
    Antonella

  17. IegnA says:

    Gotta love men.  LOL.  If I don\’t pay attention my man will set his clothes in the office instead of putting them in the hamper.  When i go into his office and I see the piles of clothes and ask him about them I get the "well, they\’re not exactly dirty yet" story.  To which I grab up all the clothes and put them in the laundry.  Speaking of which, I probably ought to go check on that.
     
    Angei

  18. Jo says:

    I just love those "Official" reminders! I can always gage the kids and the Hubby by something! At least there\’s windows to open to try to air it out, and your not sitting in a restaurant or church. I can remember sitting in Church one Sunday and the "smallest" let em rip, and then it echoed on the pew so of course they all giggled and then it was like a competition. When we walked out I swore I\’d never sit with them again. Now they wonder why no one sits next to us when we go!
    Have a great, r-e-l-a-x-i-n-g mini-vacay!
     
    Be Safe! 

  19. Jaysey says:

    LOL!  Have fun!

  20. Unknown says:

    Eat some po\’boys for me!!
     
    AND some moonpies!!!
     
    sigh…and crawdaddies and and sweet iced tea that you don\’t have to sweeten yourself!!!
     
    Have a wonderful time! Did you bring a clothspin for your nose? hehehe I can imagine you having it on your nose and him driving and turning to look @ you with it on…lol.
     
    hugs,
    Mercy

  21. Unknown says:

    LOL.. Men can\’t wait for an enclosed space, I think it is programed into their DNA. Have a great trip!
    K

  22. K says:

    Way too funny!  Have a greatime at the Beach… I\’m going too but not like yours…. My internet will up and running at home soon so I will be available so check up this weekend!  Look forward to your great stories!
     
    Ciao bella… and enjoy the relaxation!  Sunscreen… wear sunscreen!
    KC

  23. Tracy says:

    Haha, too funny.  I hope you have a great trip!!!!

  24. Dream I Fly says:

    ohhh (that\’s a sigh of jealousy), you should have a great time, the weather\’s looking great down there right now. My daughter\’s in Gulf Shores now and my sister\’s going next week – also from Little Rock now that I think about it….  but anyway, I was all excited about my day off tomorrow and now I know how pitiful it really is….. 😉
     
    Have a good trip! Keep an eye on the Gulf!
     
    Michelle

  25. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Oh, I love the Redneck Riviera phrase (laughing)!

  26. Nooner™ says:

    Hi KM!
    Wow .. wild Fourth of July Weekend wedges!  Woo hooo.
    Hope you had a good trip getting down to the Gulf. Here\’s hoping your vacation is wonderful!
    Oh, I changed the look of my site too .. You inspired me. 😉
    ~Nooner~

  27. Hollie says:

    Wow! What a change to the space! Has it been that long since I last checked in? Hope you enjoy the trip!
    Hollie

  28. Toni says:

    i was born and raised in the redneck riveria!!! where abouts are ya\’ll going??? funny when i mention i\’m from fl up here in oklahoma, they all think–oh, wow, fancy–miami? and i have to admit that pensacola was more like backwoods oklahoma than they could ever imagine, except with beach, and a beautiful one at that.
    hope you are having a GREAT time. ~toni

  29. barnyardmama says:

    @Angei–my husband will hold on to stinky-a$$ stuff way past it\’s expiration date with the excuse that it\’s not really dirty yet.  I just scoop it up and get it in the wash.  I think his nose does\’t really work.
    KM

  30. IegnA says:

    I know my man\’s nose doesn\’t work.  He used to make "creatures" out of silcon when he was a kid and he hasn\’t been able to smell since.  Soooo weird.
     
    🙂 Angei

  31. Elizabeth says:

    Ah, men. Doncha just luv em??

Leave a Reply

