Beach Recap

What she Wore: My best outfit of the week I wore out to dinner.  White tank top, jean capris, red and white striped sweater, and my patriotic shoes. 

I’m back and I’m tired.  Too many days of travel.  Too many days in the car.  Vacation was relaxing, but the ride home was torture.  If I say anything about leaving the state between now and Christmas I want someone to remind me about how I feel right now:  exhausted. 

 

The trip was long.  We started off by going home, so the Hub’s family could lay eyes on him and know that he made it back to the states in one piece.  We visited his dad, and then his mom, and then we headed out to Florida.  It took about a million hours.  There was the usual construction traffic, and in Tallahassee some moron got into an accident and their boat blocked the entire road.  We stood still for around an hour while making friends with a hick/effeminate/ghetto-fabulous man driving a Ryder truck.

 

The beach was utter paradise.  The time-share is on a little key outside of Sarasota.  It’s a tiny place close to some big-name hotels and other places out of our financial reach.  The water is green and people around are like family.  This is my eighth year and the teenager who used to hang around us is now an accountant, and the one-year-old next door now has a five-year-old brother.   The place is fully equipped with wireless internet, but the Hub banned all blogging and the like and it was an interesting change.  I sat, read, napped, frolicked in the ocean, napped again, and ate.  I jotted down little thoughts in a notebook and I’m sure they will eventually develop into blog entries. 

 

The sunsets were the best we’ve had in years and the fourth provided us with one helluva an amateur fireworks display.  It was a much-need break.  On our final night we went to an Italian place in a strip mall that had some of the best food I’ve had in AGES.  Family-owned, non-commercialized, delisoso cuisine.  Fabulous.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m glad to be back to reality.  The wacky schedule and lack of sleep have left me ready for my own bed. 

 

KM

 

PS: You may have noticed my first attempt at photographing my own shoes.  Not sure how I feel about the results, but this place has always been a work-in-progress.

 
I’m going to bed now.  I’ll be around visiting in the morning.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Beach Recap

  1. Betty says:

    Hi KM,
    Ahhhh, there is absolutely no sunset like a Gulf sunset.  We have spectacular, pastel sunsets in the desert, but I still prefer the golden sunsets on the Gulf.
    Have missed reading your always interesting and many times humorous entries.
    Betty

  2. Karla says:

    Hey. I will probably be meeting the brothers in Destin at some point in August after Roberto gets back from OCS. I CANNOT wait. Hope you had fun on your vacation. I\’ve missed you this past week!!!!!!!!  BTW, I am starting the south beach diet tomorrow. Gee I am looking forward to that, but it is time I got this weight gain under control.

  3. Aunt says:

    nice photos.
    and fun to see your shoes.

  4. Nooner™ says:

    Here\’s hoping you slept hours and hours and feel so much better today. The beach ~ ahhhh … glad it was a paradise for ya! The photos are great .. such a pretty sunset. As you volunteered, I\’m downloading a pic .. the Italian Place one .. and adding you to the Friends album!  Wooo hooo!
    ~Nooner~

  5. Jo says:

    Very cool! Hope you got your much needed rest. The pics are great and you look soooooo happy and relaxed!
    I like the pic of "your" shoes. It really does complete your "What she wore".
    I hope there are some funny "Closet" stories coming our way!
    Good to have you back.

  6. Nadine says:

    That is just the perfect vacation!! The beach and a hunky man on your arm!!
     
    Love the Shoes!! and that is a good way of doing it.
     
    Glad you are back safe and sound!!
    Hugs!!

  7. Laura says:

    sounds like a great trip… I hate the driving as well. I like to sleep but BMac wants someone to talk to. If I am awake, I need bathroom breaks…. what a mess. Anyway, glad you are back home safe and sound.

  8. Unknown says:

    Sounds like a good time to me!! Glad you made it back home safe and sound!
    God bless : )

  9. Unknown says:

    Good morning!
     
    Sounds like you all had a lovely trip.  Your pics are beautiful.  Yes, long drives are absolutely no fun.  The ride home is always longer!
     
    Hugs,
    Jaime.

  10. Gina says:

    Great pictures! Especially of the shoes — love em!  Sounds like a fab vaca, despite the traffic.

  11. Unknown says:

    welcome back. Missed you.  You must validate my summer fashion review for men. You are, after all, concerned with fashion.
     
    a penny for your thoughts

  12. Tracy says:

    Glad you had a good time!! LOL about driving — my brother drove from Indy to Maine — 17 hours —  AND they had a 2 yr old and a 4 yr old.  Talk about torture!! My sis in law said next time they are definitely flying!! The drove so they could bring EVERYTHING but the kitchen sink but apparently they didn\’t think it was worth it!  The italian place sounds great, I love those little, local, not-advertised a lot places, they are always so good!  Isn\’t it funny how we can nap so much on vacation, yet still come back feeling exhausted!!! I love going away but am also always ready to get back home and into my regular routine.  Glad you made it back safe!

  13. Becca says:

    Glad that you had a good time, but equally glad that you are back. I don\’t mind road trips, but hate the idiots and the traffic. I bet you will have lots of stories to share and your photos are fantastic!
    Becca

  14. Mrsbrown2k1 says:

    Glad your back.  Can\’t wait to hear more about your trip!!!
    Seeing pics of your shoes is cool!
     
    Tam in Texas

  15. K says:

    It sounds like a great place to visit despite the journey there…. The pictures are great… now I can\’t wait to go away myself!
    Now.. come on … dish out the good stories! 
    Welcome back bella!!
    Ciao,
    KC

  16. Gary says:

    Glad to hear y\’all made it back okay. Kinda sounds like our trip there last month….horrible drive down, horrible drive back, wonderful week in FLA. Never so happy to get off the road and back home. THen again, just STAYING down there had a certain lure to it…..but nah…(sigh). 

  17. KEL says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time…I loved the pictures and the sunsets…ok, I\’m jealous!  I haven\’t seen sunsets like that in a few years.  Glad you made it back ok and had a fun!  Its amazing what a vacation will do for you~~K

Leave a Reply

