Good Friends

What she Wore: Baggy jean capris, turquoise tank top, turquoise beaded mules.

Have I mention just how much I LOVE seeing my college buddies?  I got not one, but two chances during my vacation.  And if you were wondering exactly why I love these people so much, I’ll give you a few conversation topics discussed during our visits.

 

  • Whether or not it’s acceptable to look at your friends while they’re naked.  Just for comparison purposes.
  • Which of our single friends we’d rather be married to.  My husband was completely on Team Karla due to her ability to make a mean eggs benedict.  I may never stop hearing about those eggs. 
  • Animal genitalia.  I’m sorry, but if I had a female dog I’d have to put her in underwear or something because I CANNOT look at a female dog’s “stuff.”  Male dogs?  Adorable, furry, carrying case.  Human males should look into cuter packaging.
  • How we’re all letting ourselves go.  Those hot chicas from college?  Dangerously close to being matronly women out without chaperones.
  • The perils of going to formal events while pregnant.  But I’m not gonna lie—pregnancy?  The best excuse to go shopping EVER.
  • Who imbibed the most at Emma’s wedding—the verdict?  Cat.  Don’t believe me?  Check out this pic:

  

Of course, Karla was giving her a run for her money.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Really, I don’t see these people enough.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Good Friends

  1. Unknown says:

    ummmm….Were these sober conversations?  hee-hee!  I\’m still laughing over the 3rd one!  Can I go on vacation w/you and the hub?  That sounds like my kind of trip!  Just lay around!!! 
     
    ~Ashlie

  2. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi KM, nice pics from the Redneck Riviera (smile).  College friends are the best……..but mine are all over the world so I don\’t get to see them often at all. Sounds like you all have a blast when you get together!
     
    I laughed at the question you posed on my space (smile).  I think I am not married because I am too busy with this PhD for me to even date. Plus, most men will think I am some kind of over-achiever ready to squash their manhood (laugh).  Or maybe it\’s because I would rather stay home and watch sports instead of going out………how will I ever find a man (smile)? Mikey said that I will after I have completed my dissertation……time will tell.

  3. Jaysey says:

    I know what you mean–I love visiting w/ the college fam. But I always come back completely worn out!

  4. Jaysey says:

    It is slow, isn\’t it?  Not sure why…

  5. Sue says:

    What a great vacation!  Beach, sunsets, fireworks, alcohol, great friends, and your hubby!  What could be better?  So glad you had such a great time and glad you are back. 
    (regarding song:  I\’m actually in a great mood, I just think that song is funny.  Hubby you say "I\’m a loser, just kill me" when jesting and when the song came out, we just laugh)
    : ) Sue

  6. russ says:

    We are so close! We could meet in person some day just like me and Manny\’s Mom did. Just promise you won\’t wear those plastic shoes!
     
    Let me know when is good for you!
     
    Russ

  7. David says:

    Hey there KM!

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I agree, moving debts SHOULD be repayed in beer, but, he asked for a spagetti-feed instead. 🙂 (Neither of us are big drinkers, really). So I made my World-Famous spagetti sauce over the weekend. 🙂 Don\’t laugh, it\’s delicious! *wink*

    -David //BootJockey

  8. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I love those shoes.  I can\’t wear those since my toes are so long.  So tell me, what were you expecting. 

  9. Unknown says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time on your trip.  You should plan to do more things with your friends. Maybe a New Years Bash at a hotel, something within a decent travel distance for everyone.  The photos are awesome.  I love the one from your condo, great view.

  10. Dream I Fly says:

    you ain\’t kidding – college friends are the best – wait til you\’re going on w 20 years behind you! They know WAY TOO MUCH!! and are more than willing to share w new men and children…..
     
    but the conversational topic ya\’ll missed has to do w your parents having sex…. some of my friends believe they did it only once per child produced…. 😉
     
    Michelle

  11. Elizabeth says:

    I wouldn\’t mind imitating the cat, except for that constantly puking thing.
    "
    Whether or not it’s acceptable to look at your friends while they’re naked.  Just for comparison purposes." If the guys are hot, then a resounding Yes. *cough* LOL

  12. Elizabeth says:

    That should read:
    If the guys are hot, then a resounding YES.
    *blushes*

  13. Elizabeth says:

    Okay..that\’s weird. It wasn\’t there a second ago. I need to lay off the heavy duty caffeine first thing in the morning.

  14. Laura says:

    cute furry packaging?!?! WTF? I am sorry… but that sounds like a horrible idea!!!! ha ha… I can\’t get the images out of my head… noooo!!!!
    As far as seeing friends naked, I think it depends on the friend. I have had some that have no problem with nudity, then others I feel uncomfortable nude around… I wonder what that is about.
    Glad you had a good time with them. Sounds like you do need to see them more often!

  15. Alicia says:

    I guess you don\’t!!  But you sure do have interesting things to talk about, by the looks of it!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂
     
    P.S. AMAZING photos, Katy!!

  16. ahmed says:

    Hi There
     
    I`m Mido from Egypt The land of Pyramids.
     
    I like to meet new people.
     
    I hope we can talk soon.
     
    mearmsh_awy@hotmail.com

  17. Unknown says:

    I\’m so glad you two had fun…I\’m back but JEEZUM petes I\’m so busy, I swear when I load my pictures in the damn pc I\’ll blog!! We had a great time as well…
     
    Work sucks! lol
     
    hugs,
    Mercy

  18. Unknown says:

    please don\’t print the name Karla again. It\’s a breach of my marriage parole.
     
    Where is the turquoise top. How do you put those pics up?  I use http://www.imageshack.us   I upload, then click on it and just right  click and copy and paste and voila….but your pics are smaller.

  19. Unknown says:

    and my comment on the military pockets was only an example.  Some embroidering, pearlized buttons, whatever….it could be anything, but maybe something unique that makes people go "hey, that\’s different"

  20. barnyardmama says:

    @Reggie–I could give "her" a psydonym like I do for my other friends–I wish they had spell check in the comments section
    I use image shack for my images, but they are small–I guess I\’m using a different link than you are.  I\’m so bad with this html thing it\’s a wonder you can see anything at all.
     
    @Sasha–welcome to my bizarro brain.  I just think it\’s nice that dogs have a little place to put that thing when they\’re not using it, so the rest of the world doesn\’t have to look at it.  The part about humans was a joke.  But girl dogs?  I just can\’t look.  It freaks me out.
     
    @Zwebby–no worries, I don\’t think even one of my pairs of shoes are plastic.

  21. Karla says:

    OOOHHH, what psuedonym would you give me??? I don\’t care if you print my name KT

  22. Becca says:

    I love this blog! Good friends are rare! Cherish every moment!
     
    Becca

  23. Karla says:

    Breach of marriage parole?

  24. David says:

    I think the blogworld is a little slow \’cause it\’s summer, and everyone is busy enjoying it!!! 🙂

    Me, I have no life. <LOL>

    -David //BootJockey

  25. Gracia says:

    I have had some catching up to do over here…
    Hey it seems you guys had one heck of a fantastic beach trip!!! Those sunsets are just gorgeous!
    I love catching up my college mates…just to see how we have all changed etc…but you know the funny thing is, all those sexy and curvaceous gals that got all the guys…they look like they got beat with the ugly stick!! I know, shame on me…I\’m brutal. All I\’m saying is, I was a classic stick insect with bad hair and no one looked at me in school. But, with all my dorkiness, I still scored the greatest guy on this planet..HA!!!
    I like the \’real\’ shoe shots.
     

  26. Karla says:

    I used spell check on Word to doublecheck. My first attempt was wrong. Will you announce my pseudonym first? Will it still be linked to my blog page? Other comments related to your blog:

    1) I want to know what the consensus was. I will admit curiosity in a underwear or swimsuit type way. But I would not ever really want to see my friends full out naked. I have no need to see their "junk" (is that term only used for males?).

    2) YAY Team Me. I knew my cooking would someday come in handy (that whole win your way to a man\’heart through his stomach). Tell your hubby that I\’ll make sure to have the neccessary ingredients on hand the next time y\’all come visit too.

    3) Weirdos. Why do I hang out with you people?!?!? Oh yeah, y\’all make me laugh with your weirdness and downright frank comments.

    4) Working on it (Hey, I still have a man to catch j/K)

    5) No alcohol. Definitely a peril. What formal? I want to go!

    6) I plead the 5th.

    I miss you weirdos!!!!

  27. Karla says:

    Why is it that Cat looks pretty normal (sometimes even cute) in her drunk pictures and I always manage to look like a complete moron?

  28. Karla says:

    Actually I was pretty embarrassed, seeing as how this was a wedding and all, and you would think I would have been more proper/ladylike. But then I just now remembered The Watermelon Incident. So maybe wih our group of friends, it\’s par for the course….

    Do you think I\’ll have more or less fun at my own wedding?

  29. barnyardmama says:

    @Karla–You\’ll definitely have less fun at your own wedding.  You have too much to do.  Being a bridesmaid is definitely the best.
     

  30. Gina says:

    OMG, those topics are just a breeding ground for some major fights, lol!  I love it, wish I was a fly on the wall for those…

  31. Julie says:

    First, love the shoes.  Second, hilarious conversation.  Everyone needs friends with whom they can sit and chat about things like animal genitalia.  I mean, hey, we all gotta look at it at some point. 

  32. Karla says:

    Well I have definitely got the bridesmaid\’s part down. My mom tells me I have too many friends. At the last wedding, I commented that if I hit ten, I may have to do something drastic. But I just realized that if I am in both of my brothers weddings, that will put me at 9. Only 1 more is needed to send me over the edge. God, why do people love me SO MUCH?!?!? 🙂

  33. Karla says:

    It will be sad when we don\’t have any more weddings to look forward to. Weddings always do make the best parties.

  34. Karla says:

    Also, regarding #5, I would have been fine if it wasn\’t for that girl\’s/bridesmaid\’s tequila shot. UUGGHHH! (For some reason when Cat suggested it, it sounded like such a GREAT idea. Probably me first clue that it was time to wrap it up and call it a night.)

  35. Unknown says:

    Looking back, perhaps the tequila shots were a bad idea. And I have no idea whose hat I was wearing. And I need to remember that the ridiculous things I say about animal genitalia and which of my friends I would like to say naked are fodder for Katy\’s column. As if that would stop me!

  36. Karla says:

    So there was a specific about who y\’all wanted to see nekkid?!?!? Here I was thinking it was more hypothetical. Although I guess I should remember that I was curious enough to see E\’s sister\’s naked pics.

  37. Unknown says:

    Aaaaaah…the good \’ol days!  Getting together with "old" friends is the BEST!
     
    God bless : )

Leave a Reply

