Drumroll please

What She Wore: jean capris, grey LSU t-shirt, grey and purple slip-on tennis shoes.  It’s was too freakin’ hot for capris–I should have worn a skirt or something.


Today was really exausting and I’m getting ready to hit the sack, but I wouldn’t want to leave anyone hanging.
 
Overall, our school’s progress in math was 2% which sounds terrible.  We’re supposed to increase 10% a year.  The thing is, though, they only count how many kids "pass" the test each year.  Last year 15% passed, and this year 17% passed. 
 
BUT
 
Our kids do abysmal every year.  So many were languishing in the lowest category that the idea that they would leap forward twenty or thirty points wasn’t really realistic.
 
SO
 
Mr. K and I poured over each individual score and compared it to last year.  I’d estimate that 90% of our kids had a score increase.  Of particular excitement for me were my two dyslexic kids.  This year, we read the test to them (which is an approved modification on the math test) and they both tripled their scores from last year.  We are over the moon with excitement.  This may not be a huge victory for some, but math is an uphill battle.  Each year builds on the next and most of our kids come to us not able to recite their multiplication tables, unable to use fractions or decimals, and hopelessly lost with regards to geometry.  Not too shabby for two people who never taught math before.
 
Like I told Mr. K., "I’ll take it!"
 
KM
 
PS: One regular diet coke today and about one caffeine free one.  I yawn all the time, but I’m not going to die.   
 
PPS: My school has two programs: regular and afternoon.  The afternoon program is sort of like electives: athletics, gifted and talented, art, dance.  The afternoon director asked me if I wanted to teach a reading class one period a day for kids who are drastically behind.  It might help me line up some kind of part time gig in the future (if I’m interested). It will pay about $100/week which isn’t bad for an hour’s work each day.  Yay!
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Drumroll please

  1. Nooner™ says:

    Hey! I\’m excited for those two dyslexic kids! And, for a proud you 🙂
    ~Nooner~

  2. . says:

    Woah! My comment disappeared. And so did this entry for a minute. Something weird is going on. I think I am cursed (I had serious space problems yesterday and today). Anyway I forgot wha tI said but congrats to all of your kids because math is hard. I never could quite figure that out because I was good at it and liked it but then when I was tutoring I realized just how complicated it can be!
     
    2 snaps up for them!
     
    aak

  3. Jo says:

    Congrats KM and Mr. K. Will you be making any type of little certificates for the kids to boost them up?
    You are to be congratulated over and over!!!!!!! And the after school thing, things happen for a reason, you are right in thinking that it may be your lead for the babmino!

  4. Tracy says:

    That\’s great about the test scores – yay for improvement!!!  And nice job on the diet cokes, see in no time you won\’t be drinking them at all and won\’t miss them!!  I used to drink soda all the time, like it was all I ever drank, now it\’s a huge deal to me if I drink one a week!  I do drink coffee though so there\’s my caffeine fix, lol although I HATE being "dependent" on something so I am thinking of quitting the coffee, I figure if I mix regular with decaf I can gradually wean myself off of it!  Anyways, that after-school job sounds like it\’d be perfect for you! Have a great day!

  5. WINDOW LIVE says:

    It will take time but you will adust to the lack of caffeine. I think those tests are bogus. What about kids who just don\’t test well. What about kids who cannot concentrate on school because of their God awful home life. You cannot measure success of education based on tests. I know people who are educated but still not very smart. I am sure they would do well on a standardized test but they are not intelligent in the well rounded way if you know what I mean. I need to shut up! Have a great weekend.

  6. Toni says:

      That is wonderful news, really! So this must be the "reward" you teachers speak of–good for you, and for your students! And the diet coke/caffeine free…um, you\’ve got guts kid. I\’ve gone overboard with the soda and coffee and don\’t think I could go back now even if I wanted to…which I don\’t.
      I hope you take that reading class–sounds like a great opportunity to make some $ and reach your students.

  7. Nadine says:

    Progress is sometimes slow…Hang in there!!
     
    We are expecting a cold front…..temps should be in the mid 90\’s! Geez I may have to turn on the heater!!

  8. Unknown says:

    It\’s way to hot here too!!!  Those scores sound pretty good to me !  Great job!
     
    Ashlie

  9. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I would say any little progress with your kids is grounds for a celebration.  Every seemingly small step is really a huge step for them and I too am excited about this news.  You and your colleagues are doing a great job and I applaud you all.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  10. Becca says:

    The kids are doing so good and so are you! Keep up the good work! And yes it is hot! It is just noon here and it is 95! I gave up on the capris and am in a sleeveless tshirt and bum around shorts! I am all about comfort today!
    Becca

  11. Darcy says:

    Nice job!  Any improvement is improvement and you should be very proud!
    Hope you have a lovely weekend! (mosquito free?)D

  12. Sue says:

    That is great news girl.  Math is such a stinker for so many kids.  DQ\’s downfall I\’m afraid.  I\’m horrible!  Good job to you two!  You will give those kids a little hope and sometimes kids just need a little success and hope to make it rather than chose another path.  Proud of you girl!
    BTW: you are linked in today\’s post.  I posted Ashlie\’s interview and since I met her through you…  well, I couldn\’t leave you out!  I saw you went by Ashlies and I posted the same interview. 
    Have a great half caffeinated day!
    : ) Sue

  13. David says:

    Hi KM!

    yeah, I know, I left you guys hanging today…I had an insane day…sorry! I\’ll get it written up soon, though, and it\’ll be my next post, I promise!!!

    BTW…the "yawns" from drinking less soda go away…give it time…About a month or two, you\’re body will adjust to the lack of stimulants all the time (make sure you aren\’t adding extra sugar to coffee or something to make up for it).

    Once your body is rid of it, and you\’ve adjusted, you\’ll notice that the "stimulants" really made you more tired in the long run…they seem to sap your energy quicker…you\’ll have more endurance. 🙂

    -David //BootJockey

  14. tassietoo says:

    And I read something in a magazine that said caffeine causes you to store more (belly) fat…I did NOT want to see that!  DC just tastes so gooood!

  15. Cheryl says:

    Tripled their score…That is fantastic.  $100 a week for 5 hours of work is not bad at all…

  16. Nooner™ says:

    Hi KM,
    Greetings and Salutations from The Granite State (New Hampshire)!
    My little brother (who I will mention in an upcoming blog) and I are in Portsmouth, a very kewl coastal town, visiting The Foofer.
    I have a laptop and access the Internet from hotel rooms when I travel, and am able to receive emails on my Outlook Express, but I have yet to ever figure out how to adjust the smtp line and send emails when I am traveling. I\’m just not too computer literate, I guess.
    So, I will write you a very short note when I return to Connecticut in a day or so to comment on the Blogs of Summer.
    ~Nooner~

  17. Unknown says:

    I wish I had teachers like u wen I was in school…I was bad at math…terrible..and in some ways im still "afraid" of it. Even today if u ask me over the top of ur head..say…64-39..i\’d say – let me get my calci. Which is pretttty bad for someone who\’s a grad now.  I guess when it comes to math some ppl just dont have it 🙂
     
    Cheers
    YB

  18. Kathryn says:

    Okay, I have a grey LSU t-shirt, and a white one — bought at the LSU store on campus…in the Union…
     
     

  19. Antonella says:

    First of all let me just say that I think that\’s great news! Like you said math builds up and if they did terrible last year, you have to re-teach last year\’s stuff and this years new stuff. You take what you can get!
     
    ANd, about your previous blog, I don\’t think you\’\’ve failed your gender at all!! You of all people should realize that raising children is not something that you should take lightly. Why shouldn\’t you take a year off of work?? It will be hard but it will be totally worth it!
    have a great weekend,
    Antonella

  20. Gracia says:

    Hi KM,
    With regard to your previous blog, you didnt fail anyone, or sell out…or whatever you may call it. When you are ready one day to take the plunge to be a stay at home mom, you\’ll soon discover how easy working a \’real\’ job is. I think staying home and taking care of kids is one of the hardest jobs to do. It takes every ounce of your being to get it right.  And there are no backsies on this one!
    PS – Ii think your b&W shots are just fantastic.
     

Leave a Reply

