The Creative Process

What She Wore: baby blue shorts, white tee, baby blue wedges with red white and blue plaid on the wedge.

Lately I’ve been doing a lot of little creative projects: I’ve been sketching in a sketch book, I started painting on a canvas (and then stopped), and I bought a lot of pretty scrapbook paper with the intention of doing something good with it.  I bought a lovely book about finding your creative self and I’ve been reading it in the bathtub (I’m not the only one who does that, right?)
 
At the same time I’ve been thinking about blogs–why people do this.  What’s the attraction?  What makes a person start pounding out their innermost thoughts and feelings for an audience of strangers?
 
And then I got it.  Blogging is an act of creative expression.  Putting your words on paper, carefully selecting a backdrop, maybe even designing a banner.  All of these things are creative acts.  And the best part?  A built-in audience with live-time feedback.  If you write something really well then usually someone will let you know.  Or sometimes a stranger will leave a comment because they felt moved by an entry.  All of these things let us know when we’ve done a good job.  
 
Look around blog-land and you’ll find all sorts of creatve types: not only writers, also painters, designers, poets, photographers, and jewelry-makers.  Often times these little pieces of people are placed up on their web sites like an after-thought.  Today, I encourage all of you bloggers to put your creative sides front and center!  Draw something, photograph something, write something out of the ordinary.  Let the creative juices flow.  And besides, it’s a Sunday–can you think of a better way to spend the day?
 
KM
 
PS: I’ve been lax with my shoe pictures.  When I get back from my afternoon errands I promised I’ll get all caught up.  Today’s shoes are stellar, by the way.
 
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Self Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Creative Process

  1. Unknown says:

    They\’re blogs! Hooray Blogs!I really should give you a copy of Form 1136-D, Article 3, Section 17. If I can find it again…you deserve a direct link from my site.As for creative…well, I burned it all out over the last week at band camp. As you may or may not know, I am the composer/arranger of my former high school\’s marching band show. On about the third day, we realized that I had forgotten to complete third clarinet and third trumpet parts. So I had to write those. Then, I said so many inspirational/shirtworthy quotes just so the clarinets would stay in line on field. Funny thing…they are actually getting shirts with some of my quotes. Let me tell you – inspiration is a creative art in itself.So yeah.-Josh "The Ender"

  2. siobhan says:

    Question!!  Don\’t you ever just throw on a pair of sweats or walk around barefoot???  I spend half my time in drawstring shorts, a tank top and shoeless!  You must have one heck of a closet!  Well, I\’m also reluctant to buy new clothes, I keep hoping that I will lose these last pounds and be able to wear my pre pregnancy clothes!
    🙂 Siobhan

  3. Cheryl says:

    Well said..today i walked out into the swamps and got a fantastic shot of a dragonfly…I was able to use my macro lens and get a closeup of his head.  It is no bigger than my pinky fingernail but it turned out fantastic…made my day.

  4. KEL says:

    Being creative for some comes easy…for others it seems to take work.  I myself like to pretend I\’m very creative however my intentions are good while my follow thru is not so hot.  I love to try new things, I love to try and recreate different things however they never turn out how I had imagined so I end up having someone else do them and just buy it.  It is a great idea though, and I\’d have to agree with you that blog land is an incredible outlet for those who are creative.  It really is an amazing place full of suprises.
    ~K

  5. Unknown says:

    I try to be creative as much as possible, when the life has not been sucked out of me at work. I will try to bring my creative side to my blog today!
     
    have a great day
    Karla

  6. Jaysey says:

    I have Kel\’s problem with follow through…my attention gets diverted too easily! 🙂

  7. Jaysey says:

    I have a bit of a perfectionist problem too–if I can\’t do something perfect, I don\’t want to do it at all!  I have many complexes.  When I do actually complete projects, though, they\’re really something.  Lately (because of all the weddings), my creativity has come to fruition through scrapbooking and photo slideshow making.  I can\’t even commit to keeping one notebook–I have like afifteen scattered all over the place–chock full of ideas! 🙂

  8. T. says:

    Wow!  You Space has really blossomed into something else since I was last here!  It looks fabulous.  I hope your summer has been going splendedly.  Just wanted to drop a note to say \’Howdy.\’  I\’ve been terribly lax (speaking of which) with keeping up with both my blog and blog buddies; I must say, I am tres impressed with how fab your Space looks. 
     
    Cheers!
    T.

  9. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I never think of myself as the creative type, but I guess everything about blogging is indeed creative.  No wonder my artsy fartsy friends are impressed that I am keeping up with this (smile).  Hope you had a fantastic weekend!

  10. Darcy says:

    Hey girl…. I read in the bathtub as well… only now only books I own, because I have the habit of letting them swim and the library hates that!
    And yes, I\’ve put onions in these burgers as well… I had a really hard time getting them to not fall apart, so I took the onions out… you just reminded me to try sticken em back in!
    I\’ll try to stay on the blaggon (blogging wagon 😉 )
    D

  11. Sue says:

    That\’s a good idea.  I\’ll have to do it one day this week.  I just posted. LOL.  The weather was gorgeous this weekend for a change, so the computer was turned off.  I\’ve had a couple of things rolling around in my empty head… I\’ll have to think about putting those in writing. 
    I agree with Siobhan.  More than half of my life is in sweats and barefoot.  *shaking head* I\’m hopeless at this point.
    : ) sue

  12. Karla says:

    Hey. I read in the bathtub too! I think it\’s cause I started doing it growing up to get away from everyone else and because it good\’s a way  to unwind. As you know, I am not really what I would consider artsy/creative (unless you count makeup as creative?). I leave that to all you other girls. I can\’t even cut/paint/draw a straight line (unless we are taking about eyeliner)! KAE

  13. Connie says:

    I just happened to come across your blog.  I like the pictures you took of you and your dog.  Good job.  I will be back to read more.  I like what you write.  Have a great day tomorrow. 

  14. barnyardmama says:

    Karla–of course putting on makeup is creative–I watched you do it like one of the Masters.  And besides, KBG always calls her face her canvas!  Basically, I\’ve encouraged you to guy buy some new eye shadow or something.
     

  15. Jen says:

    You are TOO funny!!!  I always enjoy reading your blog.  Sometimes your funny stories crack me up and then you have your days where you are very insightful and I enjoy people that can "reflect" on life for a moment. 🙂  Thanks for such creating an enjoyable blog-reading experience! 🙂

  16. Elizabeth says:

    Maybe I\’ll write an entry drunk as a skunk. That would certainly get the juices flowing! Hope you had a great Sunday!

  17. Nooner™ says:

    Hmmm … interesting .. I have a Creative Side? .. I hadn\’t thought of it that way .. But, your "write" of course!
    OK, here\’s my latest thoughts on you and your spaces site: you are so uplifting. I enjoy coming here. It is always so interesting. Different too. Like the gorgeous black and white photographs. So striking. And, now I\’m laughing. Thinking of the baths you say you take. I bet after a year of reading one another\’s blogs we would discover we know more about each other than a neighbor does in real life .. lol. If your a note taker, for the record I\’m a shower guy. I also like to brush my teeth in the shower. In the shower, sometimes I like to …
    lol
    ~Nooner~

  18. CJ says:

    Sunday is the one day I try to spend completely out of doors away from the house, enjoying the beauty of life around me.  Monday is when I scramble to express my creative side.  I really need a good camera.

  19. Kathryn says:

    Love "these little pieces of people" *smile*
     
    Though I wasn\’t from there originally, I lived in Baton Rouge for about 38 years- Good man was born and raised-until college whenhe moved to BR- in New Orleans (N\’awlins, dahlin\’)
     
    Can\’t hear that DA DA DAAAA DA! GEAAUXXXX TIGGGEERRSSS without getting a little misty eyed *laughing* –though I\’m glad I\’min the mountains once again (born in West by gawd Virginia)

  20. Tracy says:

    Haha no you aren\’t the only one that reads in the bathtub, I do that too, only I cant wait to eventually put in my new jacuzzi tub that I want, ahhh I might never get out of it, lol!  Anyways on to the topic of the day, hmm see this is what I suck because I am not creative. At all!!  I think too black and white.  That explains why I rarely make any changes on my space.  And I rarely write anything really thought-provoking.  I love reading blogs and connecting with people on different issues, seeing we have something in common, even though obviously we are so different in many ways, it\’s so cool to read blogs of people all over the place and be able to identify with them.  Happy Monday!

  21. Nadine says:

    I so agree…….there are some very good writers in blogland. Some need to take the plunge and try to get something published. Others are just fine in Blogland typing away silly things….like me!!
     
    Duty calls!!
     
    Have a great day!

  22. David says:

    Hi Katy!!!
     
    I apologize for the delay in writing the second half of my "Conquest!" post…I was just really busy on Friday, and when the day was done, I just didn\’t have the energy to write it (it was one of those emotionally draining things, you know?)…but I\’ve now posted the second half of the story which you so eagerly waited for!!!  🙂
     
    Thanks for coming by…I do always love your comments!
     
    Here\’s the link:  http://bootjockey.spaces.msn.com/  New visitors are welcome…my space is "Private", but if you ask for accesss, I\’ll gladly grant it!  I\’m usually pretty good about being timely, too…
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  23. Unknown says:

    You got it!  The only person in the Universe other than people on the net who cares that I can string a sentence together is my sister.  I discovered, once I became a nurse, that to most people that\’s all I am.  I hate that.

  24. Alicia says:

    I\’m looking forward to seeing those "stellar" shoes, Katy!!  :)~
     
    HUGS!!!

  25. Karla says:

    Thanks for the shout out! See you in 4 days. Love ya!

  26. Unknown says:

    I totally love reading in the tub…one of my favorite ways to relax!  I even light some candles usually…nice soothing music as well…ahhh…maybe I need a bath soon!  Isn\’t it strange how you meet people in blog-land that you might never otherwise know…and it does feel so affirming to have someone comment on your thoughts…

  27. Unknown says:

    heya Katie-bug,
     
    Man I\’m swamped!!! I miss blogging! Waaaaa! Freaking work is driving me mad…not that I wasn\’t mad as a hatter any how!
     
    Creative, how about throwing a wedding together in one weekend?!?!?! Haha…I may have done just that!
     
    lol
    love,
    Mercy

  28. SomedayQuilter says:

    I couldn\’t agree more.  It\’s definitely a creative process and outlet.  And I\’m even writing, which I normally try to avoid. :o)
    Love the shoes.

  29. Unknown says:

    hola soy monika de españ  espero que me vistes entre por acualidad y par conocer mas persona simapticas un saludo cuidat y se feliz

Leave a Reply

