Best Laid Plans

What She Wore: baggy jean capris; t-shirt that reads, "New Orleans: Rebuild, Renew"; grey slip on tennis shoes.  It’s so hard to get yourself dressed in something cute when it’s raining outside.

You know how sometimes you have this great idea?  And then it goes completely to $hit?   That’s what happened to me today and that’s also why I didn’t get home until 8:00.
 
At my class today I heard someone talking about CiCi’s pizza.  This got my mouth watering and I knew I was going to have to get some.  I was telling Mr. K about my craving and he said that his wife was also in a pizza mood.  He suggested we all go get some pizza.
 
He and I worked on school stuff until his wife and kids came home at 5:00.  His youngest was a bit tired, so we hurried out before it got too late.  When we got to the restaurant, the baby started THROWING UP.  She was violently ill in the bathroom and covered herself, Mrs. K, and the floor, and the toliet in puke.  Meanwhile the older child happily munched on pizza and watched Nick on the TV.  There’s really etiquette guide for how to handle these situations–do you smile and act like everything’s fine, or is that insensitive?  Do you frown and act concerned, or does that just make things worse? 
 
Not knowing what to do since we’d already paid for our buffets, Mr.K and Mrs.K left with baby.  I stayed behind with their four-year-old.  After mom and dad left she quickly became grumpy.  "Where’s daddy?"  Then I noticed that the ceiling was dripping on my head.  Every time a drip hit me I would jerk my head.  After a while I looked like I had a twitch or something.  About a million years later, Mr. K finally came back.  Then he ate his pizza, then we left.
 
Next time I may just skip the pizza.
 
KM
 
NO time to blog walk tonight–must finish paper for grad school.  I’ll come round tomorrow.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Best Laid Plans

  1. CJ says:

    Please say that the drip from the ceiling was a leak from a rain storm?  I\’m hoping it\’s that and not something from the baby….you don\’t have the weather forecast on your space, so um…….Oh, whew!  I scrolled back up to the very top and you mention RAIN!  Love the cat pics, especially the one title "moo"….he has such mesmerizing eyes!

  2. Karla says:

    Sometimes my life sucks. I just got home from the ER. Seriously?!??! Why me?!?!? Again?!?!? I must have some good karma coming my way.

  3. Nadine says:

     Best just to smile but stay out of the splash zone!!
     The smell of vomit makes me want to hurl!
     
     

  4. Jo says:

    I really don\’t think there\’s a set etiquette for that. I guess it\’s whatever you feel like doing. At least it wasn\’t a strained situation by not knowing them well.  
    Was the pizza everything you thought it would be?
     
    Hope you finished your paper! Have a great weekend!

  5. Dawn says:

    Nadine is right…just smile and stear clear of the bathroom and the baby…

  6. Betsy says:

    Your cat rules.
     
    Just think- in a short time you may be the mommy getting barfed on!

  7. WINDOW LIVE says:

    See what you have to look forward to.  Every mom can tell a story about being out and having a child throw up, etc.  All in a day\’s work.

  8. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Sounds like quite an uncomfortable experience. I would offer my help with the baby, and if they have it under control, I would just sit at the table and wait. Did you enjoy the pizza (smile)?
     
    Hope you finished your paper for grad school last night.  Are you officially in?

  9. Toni says:

    yes, the same thing has happened to me at a cracker barrell, a taste of china, a macdonald\’s, a western sizzlin\’, and a walmart…and probably a few others that i just can\’t remember right now. consider it an honest glimpse into the wonderful world of having children…it happens. did mr. k plan this on purpose knowing that you two are "trying"? 🙂
    and okay, i have a fashion question–give a pitiful mommy some advice–is it okay to wear navy blue shirts with blue jeans? I just bought an open back (sort of) navy blue w/white polka dots cap sleeve shirt yesterday with some gray dressy shorts–can\’t wear the shorts because hubby doesn\’t know about them. so i\’m stuck with the jeans. i turn to you–is it allowed? and w/ what shoes would you wear something like that anyway? thought you might enjoy the challenge. okay, hope all is well with you. ~toni

  10. Wahzat says:

    That is a good question what do you do in a case like that. I would probably have sat and smiled like an idiot feeling uncomfortable.
    Next time do DiGiornio— those ads look rather convincing 🙂
    Have a great weekend.

  11. Jaysey says:

    I don\’t know what you should do in a case like that.  It\’s very uncomfortable.  That\’s why I don\’t like kids! 🙂

  12. Sue says:

    Just roll with it!  Hope you have a good weekend!  We will be moving Blondie to another apt the next few days in the 105 degree heat.  I\’m excited.  Keep Cool.
     
    : ) Sue

  13. Robbie says:

    That better have been some darn good pizza.  I\’m thinking next time Mr. K suggest "family" night, you might opt for carry out.

  14. Laura says:

    I knew there was a reason I hated Cici\’s pizza…

  15. Alicia says:

    Did you read the entry I wrote about Laine puking in Wal-mart a while ago?  If not, I\’ll have to find a link for you….sounds like this was NOTHING compared to what my boy did!!  LMFAO!!
     
    HUGS!!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

