Road Trip

What She Wore: denim shorts, white LSU t-shirt from the Peach Bowl, tennis shoes.  I went and did some work on my classroom today—no nice clothes since they haven’t turned on the air yet. 


Since I was sixteen, I have always wanted to go on a cross-country road trip–the kind where you stop at scenic overlooks and signs announcing, “Welcome to Arkansas.”  Eating at out of the way places and local hangouts.  I told myself I’d do it when I graduated high school.  I told myself that I’d do it this past summer.  Time and time again I’ve considered this trip and put it off. 

            

Today I had one of my little revelations.  I was watching the movie Elizabethtown and the main character takes a road trip across the country.  I don’t know every location on the trip, but he goes through Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas, and on to Oklahoma.  I felt a little tingle of joy as I watched the journey.    I’m a girl from Louisiana, but I’ve driven through all of those states.  I may not know every nook along the way, but I’ve seen that part of the country and all its many different facets.  I’ve also driven through most of Texas, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, parts of New Mexico, and Colorado.   Not too shabby for a girl who’s never gotten to go on that road trip she planned

 

Life has taken me places I never expected.  It’s funny how fate has mapped out things for us that can’t be foreseen.  My military husband took me away from my friends, family, and home, but when I think about it, that’s one of the best things that ever could have happened to me.  I’ve seen places that I would have never thought to see; I’ve lived a life that I never planned for myself.  The journey wasn’t one I envisioned, but it’s better than I could have imagined.  

 

I love that life still feels like an adventure.  I love that there are places to see and things to do.  I love that life is not finished, and that there is still more ahead of me. 

 

KM

 

I’ll write all about camping tomorrow–this entry just sort of wrote itself.

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Self Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Road Trip

  1. Becca says:

    I love not knowing what is around the next corner. Life is such an adventure and the person that you live your life with is a joy to share it with! Enjoy the ride, cherish the memories!
    Becca

  2. Unknown says:

    Yep, great blog – always enjoy every minute no matter where you are.  If you don\’t pay attention to those little moments you might miss something really great while dreaming about what might come next!! 
     
    God bless : )

  3. CJ says:

    This is like Dejavu!  I write about life journeys, you\’re writing about life journeys….lol.  The other day I was at Jaysey\’s space and she wrote about Soul Mates….after blog walking for about 20 minutes, I came across another space writing about Soul Mates.  Must be something in the air.  I think I like your post better than mine….lol.  Enjoy this journey called life!

  4. Dennis says:

    You write about life journeys.  Jeannie writes and comments about life journeys.  And I find myself right smack dab in the middle of a life changing journey.  Where does the similarity end? 
     
    I do love all the things to do.  But, Darling, when it comes to football time, especially college football, I know Y\’all think you got a handle on it but not exactly.  OHIO STATE is the college football capital of the universe!  Make no mistake about it!  I know Jaysee thinks it is happening in her state.  And I know the fanatics here think it happens down the road at Alabama.  But trust me …………it REALLY HAPPENS IN COLUMBUS!  Suffice it to say that I already know about college football fever….there is no better game played …..not even the pros compare to it.
     
    EZ
     
    P.S. Did I ever tell you that my first degree is in graphic communications?  And this light type on white background is killing my old eyesight.  Can\’t you help a brother out and darknen this…………………….PLEASE BABY, PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!

  5. Nooner™ says:

    If you ever pass the Welcome to New England sign, I sure hope you plan to stop up the road in Noonerville. Our local shoe shop owners will undoubtedly want to have banners placed in their windows that say "Welcome KM!".
    ~Nooner~

  6. Tracy says:

    I think that\’s great that you look at it as an adventure, I am the same way, I mean life is short and I don\’t want to spend all my years in one place!  I have already seen a lot and am glad for it, and while I love it here in TN, I doubt I will be here forever.   About the road trip – I would LOVE to take like 2 weeks, rent an RV, and do the cross-country thing — no schedules, just kind of go whichever way I feel like (of course making sure I am overall headed towards the other side of the country, lol!). 
     
    Thanks for your comment — the whole mess is just so frustrating to me!  Deep down I KNOW I did nothing wrong, I just have to keep reminding myself of that!  🙂
     
    p.s. can\’t wait till you come here in a few weeks!

  7. Karla says:

    I was kind of depressed yesterday, but I am ok now (although still have a little leftover bit of the funk). If I can manage to make it to the gym, it might take care of it. Worked on the paper all night, so I am incredibly tired today. Hopefully we will resubmit to a new journal this week, but until we get it out again I am under kind of a lot of pressure to get it done as quickly as possible. Grad school blows.

  8. Betsy says:

    Road trips are great…although I discovered this year that when you live smack dab in the middle of the country, the best way to take a road trip is to fly to your destination and then drive from there.  We spent a week driving up the California Coast from San Diego to San Francisco.  That is a MUST DO road trip.  But- I think I would have died if we had to drive out to California and back on top of it!
     
    I\’m off to North Carolina next week.  A state I\’ve never been to.  I was totally excited because I\’ve always wanted to go to that part of the country but then I met some of my husband\’s family from North Carolina last weekend and now I\’m terrified.  I just hope all of the people there aren\’t like that.  At least I\’ll be with my MN friend when I get there!

  9. Sarah says:

    You are so lucky to have had the opportunity to see all those states. Let\’s see…I\’ve driven through…Oh yeah, Minnesota and North Dakota. Wow. Not that exciting. I have barely been anywhere else either (Portland, OR; Vegas; St. Louis). Traveling is definitely on my list of things to do!

  10. Stacy says:

    Life is always better when you float through.  Sometimes I wonder why I worked a certain place, or lived a certain place and then I look back and see te great friend I made at that job, or the great neighbor I had and still keep in touch with.  Enjoy!
    -S.

  11. KEL says:

    Traveling has always been one of my favorite things to do…I didn\’t get to do much of it as a child so I have tried hard to make up for it the older I get.  Life really is amazing how it can bring new experiences to us that we never thought about before.
    ~K

  12. Laura says:

    I am sort of the same way. I have driven from Kansas to Florida (and all those states in between, from Kansas to Texas and everything in between, and from Florida to Texas…. so I have the South/MidWest pretty well covered. I really want to go North. I have only been so far "NorthEast" as North Carolina, and as far west as Kansas… I really want to get out there and explore.

  13. Unknown says:

    This makes me think about my own "life journey"….isn\’t it crazy how differently my life could have gone if just a few choices would have changed!?

  14. Nadine says:

    The rest of Blogland is reelin\’ from the changes but you are, skip-to-my-lou, out. I have no idea how to add you to my friends list. So I have to leave it up to you to figure it out. I will add my address so you can use it.
     
    I did the cross country trip last summer with the grandparents…total trip from Hell! Roy promised to take me back and see all the sites I miss along the way….the Pacific Ocean…..Carlsbad Caverns……the Columbia River…..Deadwood. It is just awful to go by those places and not stop and at least touch it!

  15. Darcy says:

    Totally off topic!
     
    I WANT TO STEAL YOUR CAT… is that wrong?
    D

  16. Nadine says:

    You have to scroll your mouse over (no Name)….what the heck is that all about???

  17. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi, I wrote a comment yesterday but msn was acting up big time (sigh).  Isn\’t it funny how life is always full of unexpected surprises?  It\’s great that you stepped out in faith because you have had so many wonderful experiences, and there is still so much more adventures for you out there.  Road trips are fun even though I haven\’t done too many.  I drove with my brother from NY to Alabama one time, and two summers agi, I drove from TX to Alabama and Tennessee.  It was fun, but planes are just so much faster (smile).
     
    Hope you are having a lovely day!

  18. Karla says:

    Thanks for the compliment; coming from an English teacher that means a lot. I have now been writing or editing figures non-stop for approximately 14 hours or so. Maybe I am just in the zone? (BTW: My boss is driving me CRAZY. Really the mangrad school is responsible for a lot of the stress/bitterness/anxiety in my life. I am choosing to blame him for the misery of the past week, excluding the weekend road trip of course. I really think he might have cursed me with that comment. I mean he tells me I am a walking series of unfortunate events and the next day I end up in the ER with a dislocated finger and a ruined experiment- that I had put hours into- and 5 days later we find out my paper is rejected. UGGHH! )

    I use to think I was a good writer. After all this hell, I am starting to doubt it. I guess everyone\’s style is just pretty different. I guess your audience also influences a lot. In your opinion, what makes a good writer (besides punctuation and grammar)?

    Also, I meant to tell you, I really liked this blog. I TOTALLY get it. I wrote a pretty similar blog about life\’s journey when I first started blogging.

  19. Sue says:

    Our life continues to be one adventure after another even after all these years.  It\’s great!  Are you sure it wasn\’t Orlando giving you the tingles girl?
     
    : ) Sue

  20. K says:

    Isn\’t it just amazing that when we stop to think and contemplate our lives and take inventory – we realise just how much we have accomplished and how far we\’ve come?  Places we\’ve seen, been too, experienced and yet to experience… all make up who we are… and you have made your cross country trip as you had planned… just not how you planned it.
     
    I am currently in the same state of mind.. having to take inventory in light of a supposedly good trip gone very bad.  I am now sitting here wondering what does this all mean and where am I going to next… I\’ve been to so many places – physically and emotionally – that I have no idea where I am heading to next or what even to expect.
     
    I loved Elizabethtown for the message that life is indeed very short and we should never put off what we desire… and never regret going after what we do desire… but at times before we can move forward… we must make the journey… and I have taken many a journey with a few of you now.  I look forward to many more!
     
    Hope you are well and getting ready for school…
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  21. Toni says:

    Well said!
    I think that may be why I just love travelling–part of the fun is getting there, meeting people…seeing sights. Eating at greasy diners and taking cheesy pictures. Ah, life.
    Hope camping goes well! Don\’t melt out there! ~Toni

  22. Cheryl says:

    When i was younger I loved to do the road trip deal.  Once went from Canada to Galveston.  Drove right across the country….Used to do a lot of that but I have no more interest in it…I have been to every state now…

  23. David says:

    I could tell this entry wrote itself…you were "in the zone!"  I could tell just reading it.  🙂  Isn\’t it great???  I love that feeling!  Ah, I loved your post…it sounded like something I would have written.  🙂  I\’ll have to write about my cross-country journey!  🙂  hehehehe…Thanks for your comment, and welcome back!  You were missed!!!
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  24. Unknown says:

    What\’s up with this new format?  It won\’t take my name.  ~sigh~
     
    I love this entry.  Your life will always be wonderful because you are so open to it.  To be open is a gift that not everyone has.  Have fun on the camping trip.  And do take that road trip.  It\’s the best way to see the country.

Leave a Reply

