Earning My Badge

What She Wore:  I’m stuck in the house today waiting for the microwave repairman, so I’m wearing a white t-shirt, grey yoga pants, and my feet are bare.

Before I explain my camping trip, I should describe the two other times I’ve been camping.  The first time I went camping it was part of the dreaded sleep-away camp experience.  I seriously believed that I could die camping—the counselors put the fear of God in us, and I was listening.  I slept with my clothes on next to a wood pile.  I wiped myself with a leaf.  I rationed my water for fear that I would need it.  Twenty-four hours later I was surprised to find that I had not passed away.

 

In college I attempted a one night camping trip.  Someone made one of those toxic punches and I can barely remember most of the night.  I do know that I woke to a torrential down pour with over fifty ant bites.  We high-tailed it to my mother-in-law’s house for a hot shower and some breakfast. 

 

So, I hadn’t exactly earned my nature girl badge, but I was determined to give camping a shot since the Hub loves it so much.  After a little snafu with the boarders, we headed to the Heber Springs camp grounds.  The K’s were already there, so we pitched our tent (Walmart special), and got to work making a fire.  It was hot and there were bugs, but I was doing OK.  I collected little twigs and blew on the fire when needed.  When the fire finally took, I jumped up and down with joy—I was a real nature girl then!  We made foil dinners, put the kids to bed, and told stories around the fire.  Everyone went to the showers and I stayed put in case the girls woke up.  I heard a rustling by the picnic table, so I turned on my flashlight and there–a yard away from me–was a HUGE raccoon.  There was a momentary stand off, and then it ran away–I didn’t scream, I didn’t ask to be taken home.  I was earning my nature badge for sure. 

 

Sleeping on the ground was a little difficult, but I got the hang of it, and had a very nice night’s sleep.  The morning was a little different than the evening.  The K’s daughter woke up throwing up.  Something about my presence makes their girls upchuck.  By noon, it was clear that we would be going home early.  My thought?  I wasn’t the first to fold!  Yeeeessss.  I have earned my nature girl badge.   And camping?  Not too bad either.

 

KM 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Earning My Badge

  1. Unknown says:

    Well I am waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay impressed.  CAMP is truly a 4 letter word for me.  <shudder>  Had I gone, and seen that friggin\’ raccon, I would have let loose a scream that would have awaken the dead.  Seriously.
     
    Glad you had a good time, despite the heat!! 
    God bless : )

  2. Nadine says:

     I camp at the Best Western!! I have done my time on the ground and I need a mattress!!!
     
    Try the tilapia… it is so good! a bit milder than catfish.

  3. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I haven\’t been camping in years, and like Nadine, I prefer a nice hotel with a nice bed.  However, I do intend to try it at some point again.  You did well, though (smile)!

  4. Andrea says:

    Yeah!!  You made it.  Now go camping like we do.  Camper!!  My sis goes really wild Noe electric or water.  Just them and what they pack in.  Me I will do it all I just want clean water and a comfy bed in the end.  I hope the next time goes even better.  I think for a tent the best time to camp is Sept.  Oct.  or May.  Other than that it is too hot or cold.  Hope the repair guy gets there soon.  Have a good day. 

  5. Tracy says:

    LOL yay for you surviving!!  Did you get an air mattress at walmart too? They are awesome.  And way to go not totally freaking out at the raccoon!!

  6. Big Dog Mom says:

    I\’m very impressed.  You should be proud of your nature girl badge.  My idea of camping is no pool at the Holiday Inn Express. 

  7. Becca says:

    We are camping at the Best Western on this trip! That is my idea of a good time, but you did earn your nature girl badge, I never will! 🙂
     
    Becca

  8. Alicia says:

    Hi Katy!
     
    I\’m glad the camping went better than you expected…and I\’m starting to think that the K\’s kids don\’t like you.  Either that or they\’ve both had a viral thing going on in the last weeek.  Poor girlies…
     
    Oh, and may I say how PROUD I am of you for not freaking about the racoon?  You are WELL on your way to earning that badge!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  9. Alicia says:

    P. S. I was conceived in a tent when my parents were camping and it poured….just a little tid bit due to the fact that you have been thinking about "trying"……

  10. tassietoo says:

    Ha! I love camping!  But I have a serious problem.  I need your advice on good shoes to wear with jeans!

  11. Dawn says:

    you do seem to have an effect on those girls don\’t you…
    …anyway good for you for earning  your badge…

  12. CJ says:

    You need to start dosing those kids on ginger ale.  It calms the stomach.  Don\’t know what you do to them, the poor things!  Glad you survived your camping trip…..I don\’t understand since I\’m a complete nature baby, why it\’s a challenge for some people.  I mean, what\’s a little bug, a large raccoon????  LOL  I\’m still learning my way around my space too, which to me is much more of a challenge than camping.  LOL.  I\’m sure we\’ll both get things figured out. 

  13. Cheryl says:

    I have been camping many times…Once lived in the woods for almost a year.  Just wanted to get away.  Living on the reservation it was a lot like camping….I miss it…

  14. Toni says:

    yeah, i\’m starting to think maybe you\’re doing something to these girls to make them sick. on purpose….hmmm….camping. i guess it\’s alright. it sounds a lot funner than it actually ends up being to most people. i love being in the woods but peeing in the woods and sometimes sleeping in the woods…not so much. ~Toni

  15. K says:

    hmmm – puking kids and you seem to go hand in hand… I usually get them to have bowel movements and pass gas when I hold them… I\’ll take that over puking… since I am a sympathetic puker upper… LOL
     
    Camping… I love camping… and you did indeed earn your Nature Girl badge… kudos to you!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  16. Laura says:

    Can\’t remember if I ever told you my camping story…. my family and two others took our boats to a small island, set up tents after fishing all day, and went to bed. The middle of the night, there was a huge storm in which our tent collapsed, and we had to share a tent with another family. 8 people in a one family tent. We woke up in the am with thousands of sandflea bites. Our boat had drifted VEERY far down shore with the storm. Hell of a trip. Never been since.

  17. Cassie says:

    Good for you for giving it another try! After those first two experiences, I\’m not sure I would have been that brave!

  18. Laura says:

    I know you will be visiting my space soon, but I wanted to make sure you catch my list: "I\’m Loving It" located above my blog. Something you and your husband can do… and everyone on your e-mail list 🙂 Spread the word!

  19. Nooner™ says:

    bare feet? *perk*
    Kidding!!! lol
    In the military, we called those toxic punches "Sumps". Made them using a very large cooking pot or round cooler when we remembered to bring it. I became an expert at shopping for the ingredients .. and making them.
    Glad you earned your badge! Sounds fun. I notice and laugh at the littlest things, perhaps you know, so I laughed outloud as I came upon the words "a momentary standoff". 🙂 
    ~Nooner~

  20. Kathleen says:

    I like camping as long at my accomodations meet certain requirements: 1) Electricity so I can run a fan in my tent 2) a nice big air mattress to sleep on 3) a big swimming pool to cool off in 4) My husband does all the cooking and clean up. I told my hubby years ago that camping is too much work and my idea of a vacation does not include cooking and cleaning.  For a while, he was happy to do all the work, just so I would go.  His enthusiasm fizzled out and we haven\’t gone in years.  Congrats on surviving the bugs and critters!
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

