Frustration

What She Wore:  Uhhhh. . a white tee and grey running pants.  And white socks.  I’m on to day two of the waiting for the repairman adventure.

It’s been announced at the Hub’s work that they are eliminating 4500 positions from the year that he entered the service.  This means that he, and all other officers in his "class" will be considered for dismissal.  This will be based solely on their last yearly review.  The Hub’s review is very unimpressive since he spent most of last year as a glorified secretary for his boss.  Luckily, he was deployed (never thought I’d type that), so he does have some accomplishments. 
 
It’s all very frustrating.
 
The army has started borrowing officers from his office, which is spreading the work very thin–several people his office are doing two jobs right now.  Also, the next round of deployments in is January which means that two or three other officers will be heading off to various assignments.  This just piles the work up even higher.  The last thing they need to to get rid of people.  
 
The Hub’s degree is in Civil Engineering and he’s very smart, so I hope that he would be able to get another job if he were to lose his current job.  But he’s never had to job hunt before.  It would also change our monetary situation, and force us to make some decisions about where we want to live. 
 
Maybe it’s time for a change?  Who knows.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Frustration

  1. Jen says:

    Wow, that\’s quite the deal to be frustrated and stressed about!  You guys will figure it out, but I hope that whatever happens you are happy with where you are at!

  2. Jen says:

    My name is Jen, by the way.  I don\’t know why this new system won\’t let me put my name in there.  I\’m not very impressed with the changes that have happened with the website\’s set-up.  I know that this is NOTHING of you, but of something that the Spaces site did.  I can\’t imagine having a site here and then coming in one morning finding out that my work had been undone and that MY site didn\’t even look like my own anymore!  Anyway, enough for now.  🙂

  3. Alicia says:

    Change isn\’t always bad though, right?  I think it\’s just scary at first, until you fogiure out what you\’re gonna do.  I can understand the frustration though…I hope it works out for him, Katy!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  4. Betsy says:

    I thought the armed forces needed people?  I don\’t know much about being a career miltary person…so this is new to me.  Anyway- I\’m sure all things will work out for the best!  But it is a scary thought.
     
    Have a good weekend!

  5. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi KM, with a degree in Civil Engineering, I don\’t think your husband will have anything to worry about.  If he is indeed let go, it will just signify another phase in the adventure that is your life.  When one door closes, another swings wide open so don\’t dwell on what might be right now.  There may be better things in store for you two beyond the military, and like you said, maybe it is time for a change.
    Hope you are having a great day!

  6. Tracy says:

    I hope everything works out – just remember no matter what happens, that everything happens for a reason!  (ha, listen to me, acting like I actually believe that! lol!)  Sounds like a sucky, frustrating situation but your hub sounds to be awesome so surely they won\’t dismiss him!!  And I"m with Besty – I don\’t understand, I thought they were asking more people to sign up, not getting rid of people!!

  7. Gina says:

    If you set it straight in your head that change is ok, then no matter what happens with The Hub you will be prepared.

  8. Sandy says:

    You can Thank out latest President for this intellegent move.  The man just does not make any sence.
    Why is there a star like symbol next to my pic in  your friends box?  I have not seen that before.  Yea, I know that all of this is new, this is just the first space I have seen that on.
    Raven

  9. Andrea says:

    Maybe this is truely a blessing??  I know changes like this are very scary but wait until you are aware of something.  Hang in there and it will all work out.  I have a blog you may wish to see.  And A pic is posted that is today only.  I am wishing you the very best please take care….

  10. Unknown says:

    Prayers for it all to work out in a favorable manner.Josh "The Ender"

  11. Becca says:

    Hang in there KM. We are facing that right now too. After almost 23 years with his company, the hubster might be looking at early retirement and starting over again. We are just looking at it as no matter where we end up it is home. No he won\’t make what he makes now, but we do the best that we can, and we try to anticipate the fall. We are getting rid of all the things that we really don\’t need and sock away the extra cash, just in case. I hope that it doesn\’t happen, but if it does, we justhave to keep plugging forward.
     
    Becca

  12. Gracia says:

    KM,
    Change is good. And your hub will find work again. The money situation will only be temporary, but even at that, you guys will work it out.
     
    I used to say, how the heck am I going to take care of two small babies, with only the hubs income…yada yada yada…but my friend looked at me straight in the eyes and said "You have no choice – just do it"
     
    And I did.
     
    Change is good.
    Take care and have a great weekend!
     
     

  13. Antonella says:

    Maybe it will work out for the better??? And with that kind of job, I\’m sure he\’ll find another! My cousin was an engineer and he never had trouble with jobs, the only problem was the locations.
     
    Hope you have a great weekend,
    Antonella

  14. Christi says:

    I am a little confused on how they want to eliminate 4500 people in wartime?????  Holy cow.  It seems to me that a civil engineer would be very important.  But, I know that that is a good background.  We have a lot of need in Colorado for that.  The building industry is strong here.  🙂  Hang in there.  That is really frustrating ~ and not fun to just wait and see who goes or stays.  I\’ll keep you in my thoughts!

  15. Chelsea says:

    KM,
    I have been reading your blog for a few months now, and I just want to say that I think you\’re an inspiration. You\’re very funny and quirky, but also down-to-earth and understanding. I\’m a teenager, quite the opposite of the ones you teach, coming from a richer family and having a 4.0 GPA in AP classes. What you write has given me a greater sense of the world around me, and it\’s amazing to know that there are people like you to help others find that, too. I\’ve always wanted to be a teacher when I grow up, and because of you, I not only want to teach kids about English or history or whatever, but about life. 🙂
    Thank you!

  16. Unknown says:

    Okay, that show I went to is part of a circuit called Drum Corps International. These are independent groups that compete during the summer for a world championship in August. All of these groups are made up of only brass players, percussionists, and an auxilary flag/dance group. These people are what all of us band geeks look up to.Now, there is a circuit for high school bands called Bands of America, and they have a Grand National Championship among other things in November. Of course, I\’ve never been in a band nearly good enough to compete in any of these two.

  17. CJ says:

    This could be the beginning of a whole new adventure in this thing caled life.  Gosh, change scares the pee out of me most of the time, but it usually turns out to be something really good.  No matter what comes your way, I\’m confident you will be able to meet it head on. 

  18. Unknown says:

    Change, although hard to deal with, is usually for the good!  You never know what God has in store for you just around the corner.  Hang in there, and enjoy the ride!
     
    Have a great weekend!
    God bless : )

  19. Nadine says:

    Oh Wow!! That is just awful!! But what if he gets a better job?? What if you get to stay right there?? Or move home to Louisana??? The "What ifs" are scary!! Just take it one thing at a time…..It will all work out.

  20. Karen says:

    Prayerfully, all will work out well for you & your husband.  God bless!

  21. CJ says:

    I need your summer shoes this weekend.  Would you send them over please?  It\’s so good to see everybody back to blogging, spaces was really dead for a while.

  22. Unknown says:

    I think your hubby will do just fine!
     
    PS: Like that teacher quote from Mean Girls on top of your page 🙂 Just watched the movie the other day

  23. siobhan says:

    Is he still in the Army?  Or is he in the private sector now?  With all that is going on you would think that someone with a degree in civil engineering would be valuable!  I hope that it all works out.  Who knows, it could be the start of a whole new adventure.  🙂
    Siobhan

  24. KEL says:

    I really think that somewhere out there, there is a master plan for each of us.  I can say that I don\’t understand much of what the military does anymore, there are many things that just confuse me to no end, but I believe things happen for a reason and if perhaps it is time for a change, opportunities will present themselves as need be.~K

  25. K says:

    Hi hun… every time the DND (or to the US DoD) make changes to their military – the company I work for increase our work force with ex military officiers.  Your hub can and will have a future for any company that would deal with any form of military services.  Also – being a civil engineer – my goodness are there many many cities out there that NEED civil engineers….
     
    Have faith… change isn\’t always bad… it\’s how you accept the transition to getting through the change that is challenging.  Will keep my fingers crossed for you…
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

Leave a Reply

