A wonderful weekend

What She Wore: my favorite, perfectly worn pair of Levis; a black t-shirt with a silver, swirly cross design, and little rhinestones (sounds tacky, but it’s more rocker); grey, slip-on tennis shoes.  Shoes are not glamorous, but I had assistant chef duty, and you don’t want to screw that up!


Like addicts after a fix, the Hub and I are sprawled around the house basking in a weekend of entertaining.  We love having people over, and even more than that, we love to feed people.  I wouldn’t really call these events dinner parties—we’re not that fancy.  We cook piles of food, and generally serve it family-style to anyone who’s willing to take the risk.  When we first started cooking, we could usually depend on one person to show up: a single male friend of ours who was choosing between dinner at our house and Lean Pockets.  The Hub is actually an excellent cook, though,  and word began to spread.  Soon we could count on two or three visitors.  Then we invited a friend, who brought a friend, who told a friend, and before we knew it, there were many more people at our house then there were chairs.  By the time we left Texas, we could usually count on about sixteen people showing up if we invited people over to eat.

 

Of course, the military won’t let you rest on your laurels too long, so moving to Arkansas meant starting over.  The first time we invited people over?  A single guy who was choosing between our house and Lean Pockets.  The Hub is getting  little reputation over at the squadron, but there’s nothing like cooking for an eager audience.  This weekend, some of our Texas friends came to visit, so we knew we’d have a good time.  We grilled steaks, and made Penne alla Vodka. We also served grilled zucchini in a lemon balsamic vinaigrette, and roasted asparagus.  For dessert, the Hub made Bananas Foster Cheesecake (my absolute favorite and he only makes it once or twice a year).  A little while after our houseguests left, the K’s came over for a Sunday lunch.  We made chicken, tortilla, and lime soup, grilled up some more steak, and finished off the cheesecake. 

 

It’s been one of those perfect, summer weekends. 

 

And tomorrow?  Well, I start work tomorrow, so we won’t think about that right now.

 

KM 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A wonderful weekend

  1. Cindy says:

    My mouth is watering! Can I come for dinner? LOL

  2. THOMAS says:

    Cheesecake is only good for 48 hours, tops! Good thing you finished it off the next day. 🙂

  3. tassietoo says:

    Sounds positively perfect!  I just dread the clean-up afterward…

  4. Sue says:

    Forget St. Louis!  I\’m coming to Arkansas to eat!  Sounds scrumptious!Sue

  5. CJ says:

    Sighhh….seems like I\’m always late for dinner!  What an awesome menu!  And I love having friends over when I cook so I can totally relate to that.  I would love to see the shoe organizer.  Are you going to take a pic with one of your feet in it?  BTW…did you see the pic of EZ\’s "belly bling"?  I laughed so hard I snorted!  OMG!  The man is absolutely a riot!  I should give him an award for his creativity….

  6. Alicia says:

    You may be starting work again…but you can\’t tell us you haven\’t missed it!  I KNOW you\’ve missed your kiddies!!
     
    HUGS!!   🙂

  7. Sandy says:

    I am drooling!  Grilled zucchini and roasted asparagus!  OMG!!! Do you share your recipies?  And the cheescake, I need a bib to catch the drool now. 
    Raven
     
     

  8. Sarah says:

    Sounds great! I love cooking for people and having people over, too. I don\’t get to do it that often, but I did have people over for a barbeque once this summer, anyway and I got rave reviews. I hate doing the dishes, but the dishwasher helps me out in that department!

  9. Stacy says:

    Hubby and I always wanted to do things like that, but we find it hard to meet people around here.  You and your hubby must be very outgoing, as I can say, we both are a little shy.  I am going to work on it and just invite someone random from either work or the apartment complex or church over for dinner and see what happens.  Hope I have the guts to do it.  I am already getting butterfly\’s just thinking about it.  I always feel that my place isn\’t clean enough, or people won\’t like what we make, or we won\’t have anything to talk about (just hate dead silence).  But I really am going to try.
    -S.

  10. K says:

    OK.. so it sounds like I can make the treck in about 30 hrs… LOL… Sounds wonderful and what great hosts are both are!  Entertaining is great fun… but it wears me out because I fuss far too much and worry if there\’s enough for everyone etc… LOL… now I just bring everything over to other people\’s place and \’host\’ there… LOL….
     
    I will have to check out your \’other place\’ soon… I know how you feel about Spaces… I truly do…
     
    Take care… hope you are in better health….
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  11. Gracia says:

    Now I am ridiculously hungry. Thanks KM. 
    🙂

  12. Unknown says:

    Can I just say YUM!  I would totally come eat at your house anytime based on that kind of menu!  Hope your first day back at school went well!

  13. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Just stopping by quickly while I take a break from just chillin\’ in Cali:)  This food sounds quite yummy especially that vodka dish – I may have to ask for that recipe.  Have a great week!

  14. Unknown says:

    Sorry I have not been by in a while..its been crazy around here.
     
    That is the kind of dinner party I throw, tuns of food and friends nothing fancy. Our food is usually all cooked on the grill and done outside, but its been so hot lately that we have moved indoors.
    I hope you first day of school starts with a bang.
     
    Have a great rest of the day and a great firs day of school.
    Mrs. K
     

  15. ...And The Little Minion says:

    Sounds like fun! My husband I like to cook. Wellll, mainly he likes to barbeque. He figures that if he cooks the meat, then the sides and clean up are up to me. I think that I drew the short stick with that arrangement!

  16. CJ says:

    I just popped over and sprawled across the top of your page is a banner for back to school supplies!  How appropos!  At first I thought you were promoting…but then I took a sip of coffee and all was back to normal again.  Just doing my daily reads and you top my page….hope you have an awesome day!

  17. Alicia says:

    I mentioned you in my blog today…hope that\’s OK!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  18. Laura says:

    I love doing the same thing. I love having people over and cooking and drinking and talking… so much fun. It does sound like a great weekend. I am sorry school is starting again… Jeez the summer flew by!

  19. Laura says:

    Oh yeah, I went to your other place, but was too lazy to type everything out to leave a comment there. I have been having trouble with MSN, too… but I don\’t think I would go get another blog site, I would probably give it up and start doing more productive things in life… like reading… work out… cook…. hmm there is a whole world out there!! ha ha.. Good for you with the other site, though. It is really cute with the banner 🙂

  20. Cindy says:

    So now that you\’ve found a recipe for poutine (I didn\’t know a real recipe even existed!) are you going to try it? If you do, let me know what you think, ok?
     
    Take care
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

