First Day Jitters

What She Wore: Jean capris with a faded wash; forest green tee; brown, strappy heels. 


 

The time has come!  Tomorrow is the first day of school.  I don’t think there’s a person on the planet that doesn’t have some sort of emotion tied to that phrase.  Whether you aced school or flunked it, teach it or loathe it, everyone has their fair share of school memories. 

 

Mr. K and I have been diligently planning, and hopefully tomorrow will run smoothly.  Our classes seem smaller this year than last, but I’m sure we’ll have some last-minute enrollments.   We’re a lot better prepared for this year than we were for last, but I’ve still got those butterflies.  I’ve got my outfit picked out and ready to go.  Tomorrow we’ll arrive extra-early, and hopefully have a great day.  One thing I know for sure—it’s going to be interesting and exhausting. 

 

KM 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to First Day Jitters

  1. Unknown says:

    We will anxiously await 1st day stories.
     
    Hugs……MT

  2. Laura says:

    I used to love the first day of school. What to wear, who will be in my class, will there be any cute guys, will I still be a loser this year… you know… the usual 🙂
    Hope you have a great day!

  3. Unknown says:

    Enjoy you first day of school!!!!

  4. Dennis says:

    I have been waiting all summer for YOUR return to school.  No one has ever impressed me, the way that you do, when it comes to what teaching personally means.  I am sure your students will be running into your classroom.  You are one of the best this country has and you will always have my deepest appreciation and support.  I admire you KM.

  5. K says:

    Is the day over yet… I want to know how your first day back to school went!  Like EZ and a few others, I have been anxiously waiting for your return to the classroom chaulk board … not that your summer adventures and anecdotes haven\’t been a pleasure to read!!  I\’ll send you good wishes and vibes and I bet you\’ll look like the hawt teacher you are in whatever outfit you have chosen!
     
    Good luck… don\’t but do break a leg!
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  6. Tracy says:

    Hope you have a great first day – it must be so exciting to meet all the new faces!  I was always nervous on the first day of school.  I\’m glad I don\’t have to go thru that anymore 🙂

  7. Stacy says:

    Have Fun and Good Luck!  I still get butterfly\’s and it is my kids that are going not me.  I am so not ready for school to start yet.  I love the freedom that the kids have in the summer, but once we get into a routine, I get used to it again.  Wish I was going back also.
    -S.
     

  8. Alicia says:

    Can\’t WAIT to hear all about it, Katy!!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  9. Gracia says:

    First day of school! How exciting!  And I cannot wait to hear what happened…. and the outfit you wore!
     
    Grace~~~xo

  10. Sarah says:

    Good luck and I hope everything goes great! I have never thought about it that the teachers plan their outfits ahead of time, too! I always did when I was in school.

  11. Becca says:

    Good luck! I hope that you have a great first day with some good stories to share with us!
     
    Becca

  12. Nadine says:

    Noooo…no butterflies!!
    You are professional!!
    Get your game face on and get inthe classroom and teach those children…Ready Break!!!

  13. Unknown says:

    Good luck today!
    Girlie Monkey
    http://girliemonkey.blogspot.com/

  14. CJ says:

    I\’m simply going to echo everyone else\’s sentiments since I\’m popping in late (that wouldn\’t go over great in school, would it?)  Can\’t wait to hear how it all went!

  15. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hope your day went well!  Tell us all about it later, and have a wonderful week.

  16. Sue says:

    Who doesn\’t love the first day of school?  Even Blondie still looks forward to the first day of classes.  I\’m sure it went fantastically and cannot wait to hear about your new class and if there were any comments on your choice of attire for the day!: ) Sue

  17. Jaysey says:

    I get those damn jitters no matter what.  And the firt day is basically the same every year…<sigh>.  I have to drug myself just so I can sleep the night before the first day.  And we get two first days since we\’re college!

  18. Vonnie says:

    I could just hug you!! I wish, wish, wish that all teachers had your enthusiasm and heart for teaching! You set the bar, my friend. ((hug)). There\’s no doubt in my mind that your students will thrive in your classroom… your enthusiasm is contagious!!  Yay for YOU!!  xoxo

  19. THOMAS says:

    OK, I came back real soon to get you off the hook. (No uti, plenty of tp, no poop) Have a great first day back. Wear something nice. Like in that Van Halen video!

  20. Nooner™ says:

    So? How was the First Day? C\’mon now .. you know darn well we are (I am) waiting anxiously to find out What She Wore back to school!!
    ~Nooner~

  21. Stacy says:

    Anxiously awaiting how the first day went!  Do tell!!
     
    -S.

  22. Unknown says:

    I hope you\’re first day was great! All our neighbor kids are outside every morning waiting for the bus.  They were so cute on the first day – all the little girls had dresses on. 
     
    I\’ve been resisting the urge for weeks to buy school supplies.  Don\’t need \’em, just love \’em!  LOL  There\’s nothing better than a fresh box of Crayolas!  Maybe I should go back to school too.
     
    God bless : )

  23. . says:

    I HATED the first day of school EVERY year. My mother insisted. INSISTED that she take a picture of me and my sis. I HATED having my picture taken at that stage. It was the WORST thing EVER!! Plus, we were in our dorkey school uniforms. ICK!
     
    aak

  24. siobhan says:

    Wow, you guys start early in the year.  I thought we started early in Vegas.  So how did it go??  sound like you  and Mr. K had everything planned so I am sure it was fine.
    Can\’t wait to hear the details!
    Siobhan

  25. David says:

    Hi KM!!!
     
    I hope you had a great first day back at school, and that it went smoothly for you!!!  🙂  I\’m looking forward to hearing all about it when you post again!!!
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  26. Toni says:

    WHAT did you wear–oh, and how did it go? ~toni

  27. Dawn says:

    good luck….hope all went well.

Leave a Reply

