The Jobby Job

What She Wore: Dark, turquoise tee with a scoop neck; white fish-tale skirt with turquoise embroidery all over it; turquoise slides with a kitten heel.  The girls liked my skirt.


It’s been a while since I talked about my job, and it occurs to me that I’ve never really fully explained it.  I am what is called an inclusion teacher.  I spent three years teaching disabled readers before this job, and had no idea what to expect when I first accepted. 

 

I realize that most people don’t know what an inclusion teacher is, so here’s the best explanation I can muster. A large portion of the children served by Special Education aren’t totally disabled.  Some have normal I.Q.’s and learning disabilities, some have ADHD, some have low I.Q.’s, but are fairly capable, and some have emotional disturbances.  These are the kids that have largely been failed by the special education system.  They languish in resource classes learning little or nothing, and never being challenged. 

 

At some point, it became apparent that students in these situations weren’t learning anything.  The solution was clear—the children should be left in regular classes as much as possible. 

 

You can’t imagine the controversy that this has caused. 

 

Everybody has a passionate opinion on inclusion–but, so far, the data has supported the move.  I think the real issue is two people have to compromise on how to work with kids–teachers are not good with compromise, but we figure out a way to work it out. 

 

Now, rather than pulling kids out of the regular classes, the special education comes to them.  I work in math two periods and science two periods.  I have lists of kids who need special services and I keep an eye on them.  There are also kids in the class who are no special ed.  It’s a mix.  I’m not in charge of lessons plans or very much instruction.  My job involves adapting the curriculum so my kids can be successful, modifying tests, sometimes reading selections out loud, and re-teaching when necessary. 

 

Whew, so that’s what the inclusion teacher does.  Some days it’s really rewarding, and sometimes it’s boring.  My greatest responsibility is to be an advocate for these kids.  I take it very seriously. 

 

Right now my big challenge is getting to know the kids and figuring out what kind of help they need.  Luckily, the classes are pretty small, and I think its’ going to be a good year.  These kids are SO smart!  And did I mention cute?  Jeez.  You’d think I’d given birth to them myself. 

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The Jobby Job

  1. Jaysey says:

    Good description–I\’d say you did a pretty good job of explaining it.  Good luck and have fun getting to know your students.  I love that part!

  2. Sue says:

    That is one tough teaching job.  Nice to know you are one of the inclusion teachers.  Makes me feel better!  Sure seems like you are going to have a great class this year!  I mean, the girls liked your skirt the first week!  : ) Sue

  3. Sue says:

    Oh yeah, nice pics of the car!  Inside really looks comfy!Sue

  4. siobhan says:

    That sounds very interesting.  Have a good year!! 🙂
    Siobhan

  5. Sheryl-Ann says:

    You are doing a very important job.  Sometimes all kids need is a little special attention.  Maybe they have been told lots of negative things in the past and you can serve as an encourager and someone who believes in their abilities.  This is admirable and I hope you have a wonderful and rewarding year.

  6. Toni says:

    i sort of had a feeling your job would be tougher than most teachers, but now that you have thoroughly explained exactly what it is you do, you made my hero list. it truly takes a special person. love the new car! ~toni

  7. CJ says:

    Wow!  I\’ve missed a few things!  Thanks for the description, it gives us a better understanding of what you\’re doing.  Sounds like you\’re off to an awesome start, and with a new car to boot!  I think what you\’re doing is amazing….kids need all the help they can get and so few are willing to offer the help freely.  Sounds like you\’re going to have alot of fun getting to know everybody.

  8. Becca says:

    You are an amazing person and I would love to have you teaching someone like my son. You have a motivation and charisma that will carry you through the year and motivate the children that you teach to do well!
     
    Becca

  9. Unknown says:

    I don\’t know of any schools around here that do that, sounds like something we should put into practice. Instead of singling these kids out and putting them in another class…actually get them the help that they need! You have just earned the rank of SUPER TEACHER!
    Congrats on the new car!
    K

  10. Laura says:

    Great deal on the car… don\’t you just love having something new to play with 🙂
    Also, glad to hear school is going good so far. If I remember… (maybe not) math was a new thing you were taking on this year? Either way, I hope the kids appreciate what a great teacher they have!

  11. Unknown says:

    Sounds like a VERY rewarding job to have.  Those are the best kind : )
     
    Good luck with the Bible study!  Are you leading it or participating in it?  Either way you\’ll get so much out of it.  I love Bible studies – it\’s always interesting to get other people\’s views on Scripture.  And different people bring different experiences to the table that make for great discussion!!  Have fun!
    God bless : )

  12. David says:

    You\’re going to be a great mom someday, that\’s for sure!  🙂
     
    Thanks for the info…I had never heard of an inclusion teacher.  🙂  Now I know!  And it makes sense to me…
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  13. K says:

    How can such a program be controversial?  How can helping kids become successful be controversial?  Wow… no child shall be left behind … right?  Yeah… sure.
     
    I admire you and once again, love the fact that you take your job so seriously.  That\’s what makes you amazing in my eyes.  You are indeed a force to be reckoned with.
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  14. Andrea says:

    I am sure you see a lot of kids just not doing their work.  I wish all schools would do this.  Taking them out of class and giving them easy work does not help them in life.  My cousin is a spec ed teacher.  She dropped out of school due to learning issues and dyslexia.  No one ever tried to help her so she has done this for 25 yrs.  Teachers are special and I am behind you all…. 
    Have a great day and if you get a chance say hi…..

  15. Cheryl says:

    My son in law is a middle school inclusion teacher.  He loves it…

  16. Andrea says:

    In Ref to your comment.  Why so long for FDA approval on some and not others.  It is all about the $$$$  If you have enough of them that you are willing to part with it is fast….. 

  17. Tracy says:

    I think it\’s great that they keep the kids in the classroom as much as possible – I for one think that is important, to keep them with the other kids.  You should be like teacher of the year, you care so much!!!! Almost done with your first week!

  18. KEL says:

    Wow…I\’ve never heard of an "inclusion" teacher, sounds like a good thing for the school system.  I\’m glad to hear that this year is starting out so promising with your students. I think its great that you are so involved with them, we should be so lucky to have more teachers like you.~K

  19. Elizabeth says:

    My girls won\’t start school until right after Labor Day.  That\’s the way it was in CA when I grew up so it seems to me that everyone around here starts early. 
    I think I\’m going to hijack you and Kelly to come teach my girls. 🙂
    And check out those wheels! You go girl! Car looks awesome for having so many miles on it. So what\’s in your CD player now?
     

  20. Nooner™ says:

    Good explanation. I think I understand what you do now. It is so nice how you love the kids you work with.
    I google\’d \’fish-tale\’ skirt and came up with "fishtail skirts" .. skirts that are full length to the shoes (in your case, to the Slides .. lol) with the flair out of the fishtail look starting around the knees. Is that what you wore to school? A full-length skirt? Curious minds want to know .. lol.
    ~Nooner~

  21. Stacy says:

    They call them Learning Support at our school and we just went from the kids going to them to them being in the classrom.  I am interested in how it is going to work out.  One of the tenants here in the complex is an LS teacher so I\’ll have to ask her how it goes.  Also a friend of mine is an LS teacher at another school and they still go to her.  I tell you I am around teacher everywhere.  I should have finished college, oh well, after the kids are grown.
    -S.

  22. Gina says:

    very good explanation…since the special education comes to them…in the "regular" classes, I\’m assuming…do the kids not in the inclusion program tease the kids that are in the program?
     
    I hope you have more "rewarding days" than boring days this year.

  23. Karla says:

    ARE YOU SO FREAKIN\’ EXCITED ABOUT THIS WEEKEND?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    I feel SOOOO special that you are breaking your interstate traveling rule for me. That\’s the BEST birthday gift a girl could ask for. I picked up some diet coke for you, but not sure it\’s enough. I may go grab some extra this afternoon. Also getting a special key made just for you.

  24. Karla says:

    We have to remember to take all sorts of cute pics this weekend. Also, M.E. is coming down from Ft. Campbell on Saturday. She even got a dog-sitter so she can party it up with us. (Her husband is on his 2nd deployment)

  25. Unknown says:

    Glad things are going well as you are back at school.  I haven\’t been by in a while..life is nuts…so I will have to catch myself up on your site!

  26. Jaysey says:

    Luckily, I don\’t have to worry about order.  Because I teach college, it\’s optional.  If they don\’t act right, I throw them out.   Even though these particular kids are in hs, they\’re taking a college class.  It\’s not mandatory.  And they\’re told they\’re expected to act like adults from day one.  In fact there\’s a whole lecture and discussion I do on college student behavior.  I ask them what they think the difference between a high school student and a college students is, and we discuss what it means to be an adult.  And if they can\’t behave like adults, then they don\’t get to be in the class.  And this is why I teach college–I couldn\’t hack it in the public school system. 🙂

  27. Unknown says:

    Hey you!!  Love the car!!  Even better that it was a great deal!  Have a great weekend!
     
    ~Ashlie

  28. Unknown says:

    Congrats on the new car, she\’s a beauty : )
    Sounds like you do a much needed job, Hope the school year brings lots of learning and joy to you and the students, hugs, Kat

  29. THOMAS says:

    My son could use that kind of help. Most of the children that need help in his school  have an english/spanish problem, and I think his problems with reading are over looked. I wouldn\’t have the patience to do what you do.

  30. Jaysey says:

    Oh, I know, and I appreciate your POV!  I can definitely see it as a means of keeping order and as a signal to begin the day–especially with younger children or unruly children!

  31. Betty says:

    Hi KM
     
    I have not taught for many years, but when I was teaching we called it "mainstreaming."  It was controversial then!  My take on it  was that good teachers were for it and lazy teachers were against it.  Don\’t stop teaching, the profession needs teachers like you.  Some day the system will learn how to teach today\’s kids, in the meantime teachers like you keep them afloat.
     
    Thanks,
     
    Betty

  32. Antonella says:

    Before the whole inclusion thing was done here, I saw how the special Ed. kids were, it wasn\’t pretty. There was regular kids, with the problems you mentioned mixed with children who were just violent and "crazy." So, if a kid was just a little slow, or couldn\’t concentrate as well as other kids, they were put with these really crazy kids. It was terrible. I think inclusion is wonderful!
     
    Have a great weekend,
    Antonella

  33. Kelly says:

    I was an Inclusion teacher for a year near Fort Smith…it was a strange job. I was so used to having my own classroom and my own way of teaching (I\’ve taught resource classes for years). It was good for the kids though…they functioned on a much higher level than kids stuck in a resource room. I wish all schools would do it.

  34. Karen says:

    Sounds like a challenging job!  I love that you\’re so passionate about it & your students.
     
    Have a great school year; I\’m still working on getting Jr. into a program (having school-district conflicts because her daycare is in a different district than the one in which we live).  If she doesn\’t get into a program I guess I get to do some teaching too (which I do with her as much as possible anyway, but she\’s not much interested in listening to "MOMMY").
     
    Take care & God bless you & "your kids".

  35. Sandy says:

    I wish that they did more of this in other schools. My stepson has learning disabilities and ADHD.  He is a very clever boy. He would greatly beifit from this type of program. 
    Raven

  36. Sandy says:

    I am glad that you posted this.  I for one am not tiered of hearing about Katrina because people need to remember it. I hate it when people say that they are so tired of hearing about Katrina, and I hate it when people say that those people should have left New Orleans when they were told to get out.  They were all of the poor people.  They had nowhere to go. They did not have a way to get out.  So, they were told to go to the supper dome and look what happened to them.   The ones that did have a vehicle and some gas were stranded on the freeways and overpasses.  The government did not respond because the only types of people that our country cares about had the means to leave.   It clearly paint a vivid picture of what this country thinks of is poor. 
    Raven

Leave a Reply

