Looking Good

What She Wore: Chocolate brown, twill gauchos; off-white tee with cap sleeves and a scoop neck; olive green cropped jacket in a sweatshirt material.  The jacket is from Target and I wish I had a 100 of them–looks good and oh-so comfortable.  Brown strappy wedges with a wooden heel.


Wow.  NOW would be the time to ask me about teaching.  I Love my job, and think it’s challenging, and interesting, and fun, but it’s also very stressful at times.  This is not one of those times.  I leave work without a headache or stress.  It’s bizarre.  Last year we had a very rough bunch.  They’d spent their first year without a disciplinarian on their floor and it showed.  The did what they wanted, when they wanted, and many of them were apathetic.  It took nerves of steel to enforce the dress code and other school-wide rules. 
 
This year’s bunch is calmer overall.  We’ve had some kids suspended, but most of the bad behavior isn’t happening in the classroom.  Today we had our first semi-fight.  Two girls started screaming at each other in the hall between classes.  Last year, this would have resulted in kids running into the hall from every which way trying to egg the girls on.  Not this year.  The kids stood, waiting to get to class, and one girl stepped forward to try to get her friend to return to the line.  I think both girls got suspended.
 
The kids are also really motivated.  Today, two boys were talking when they shouldn’t, and my co-teacher went over to see what they were talking about.  They were arguing over which part of the experiment was the independent variable and which part was the dependent variable.  I think they got these kids on Mars or something.  They’re not all rocket-scientists, but they all give it a shot. 
 
This could be a great year (but I’m still holding my breath).
 
KM
PS: Eight days off the booze and counting!
 
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Looking Good

  1. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Sounds like you have a great bunch this year!  It took me a little while to get the independent and dependent variables down too, but now I think I have it (smile).  You are really an inspiration to those kids and they will do well if they give it their all.  Enjoy the booze-free weekend!

  2. Becca says:

    You really are a patient teacher! And it sounds like you have a great bunch this year! Keep up the good work on the alcohol free time. You will be a great mom one day!
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  3. Karla says:

    HAHAHA. Oh dear god, that is pretty funny. But you are right; it\’s just a different kind of sexiness (although dear god, well dressed men do get me hot under MY collar). 2 words: Ty Pennington. Did I tell you that I saw him in Nashville at Tootsies and we went over to get a picture and he posed with us and the camera freaked out???? And then management snuck him out the back door. But I promise, it really did happen.

  4. Carol says:

    It sounds like those arguing kids could be rocket scientists some day.  They\’re pretty passionate about their science.  Congrats on staying on the wagon.  Have a great, if dry, weekend.

  5. Nooner™ says:

    This is great! I\’m holding my breath with ya that this will be a great year. I should give up alcohol for a good while like you have. You\’re going to get skinnier, you know! I drink mostly wine and also vodka. I use to like Rum and Cokes too. I enjoyed the Myers Dark Rum and the C2 coke (the half calorie one that is sometimes hard to find in the supermarket). Keep it up, I\’m sure you\’re feeling better overall now that it has been over a week. Those red, white and navy blue strapped sandals you wore the other day look great. Wonderful colors and the criss-cross of the white looked pretty damn kewl.
    ~Nooner~

  6. Nora says:

    It\’s great that things are going well and that you are positive.  It\’s easy to focus on the problems insted of the good things that happen too. (I know one often outnumbers the other.)  Kudos to you for not doing that.  

  7. Nadine says:

     Keep an optimistic attitude about it!! You\’re a tough cookie and if it gets rowdy you can handle it!!
     
     Even if the pilot is an ass……which the ass was great by the way……he smiled such a beautiful smile….I get female wood thinkin\’ about it!!
     
     

  8. Dawn says:

    EIGHT DAYS!!! You\’re doing great.
     
    Glad to hear that school is going well….I\’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

  9. CJ says:

    Giving up the booze….school\’s off to a good start…hmmm.  Sounds like you might be on a roll here!  I agree with the others…you really are gonna make a great mom one day! 

  10. Unknown says:

    Hooray!!!  So glad things are going well for you this year.  Enjoy every minute! 
     
    God bless : )

  11. K says:

    Sounds like the start of the year is starting to lay grounds for a good school year ahead.  Excellent!
     
    Maybe this just might be the best year yet for you!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  12. Wahzat says:

    Wow… I know I couldn\’t do your job. Once again I\’ll say to you RESPECT!! And it great that you enjoy your job so much!! It is people like you that are making a difference in our children\’s future. God Bless!
     
    Yeah for you 8 day and counting 🙂
    Enjoy the rest of the weekend
    Wahzat!1

  13. Vonnie says:

    Sounds like a promising year ahead for you, friend. Clearly your heart is in the right place, so I\’m sure that no matter the challenges, you will find a way to get through it. Give yourself a big pat on the back KM… next thing you know 8 days will be 12, 12 days will be 30… and so on. Hang in there. I\’ll be rooting for you. =D (hugs!).

  14. Sue says:

    So glad for you!  Sounds like you guys are making a real difference.  I hope it sticks!  You sound so happy, even though you haven\’t had a drink!  : ) Sue

  15. Jaysey says:

    Well, I hope te year conitnues to go well.  You deserve a good bunch for every rough one! 😉  Good luck!

Leave a Reply

