Our Future Glory

Long navy blue shorts with a white pin stripe and cuff at the knee; white tee with a scoop neck; navy blue slides with a little white bow and a kitten heel.

Today at church the pator talked about "glimpses of our future glory." He said that these are those moment in life where, just for a second, you are filled with joy, and wonderment, and awe.  I am not a traditional church girl, but in this case I know exactly what he’s talking about.  It’s those wonderful moments where you feel like you could write a song, or conquer the universe, or something even better.  Steven Chbosky describes it perfectly in his novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower when the main character says, "in that moment, we were infinite."  Today I’m recording a few of the times that I felt these "glimpses."
 
  • Walking across LSU’s campus on a fall day on my way to a football game.
  • Lying on my back, looking at the stars, in the middle of the country.
  • Lying in bed with my husband, my cat, and my dog on a Saturday morning.
  • Reading the Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis.
  • Driving the winding road to my house with the perfect song blaring on the radio.
  • Singing my brains out to a wonderful song.
  • Hearing the verses read at a friend’s wedding and knowing exactly what they’re talking about.
  • Listening to "Satellite" by Dave Matthews, "Yellow Led Better" by Pearl Jam, or "Time of Year" by Better Than Ezra.
  • Watching a child take the concept you’ve taught them and use it on their own.
  • Pulling into the driveway of you very-own home (not a rental).
  • Sitting by the ocean with Bob Marley on the stereo, a cool drink close by, and a book in your lap.
 
 
 
Here’s hoping there’s many more in my future.
 
KM
 
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Our Future Glory

  1. Elizabeth says:

    –Holding your newborn daughter for the first time…
    :")  Great entry!!!

  2. Cheryl says:

    I have had many of those….Hope for meany more just like you…

  3. Dennis says:

    Hearing your daughter laugh with gusto as she plays with her mom.
     
    Hey you!  I don\’t know about you but I am feeling a tad disconnected.  Can we fix this?

  4. Becca says:

    ~~Sitting on the lanai with the one you love, watching the sun rise in the morning, and setting in the evening, in paradise.
     
    Becca

  5. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I could certainly identify with the last one (smile).  I could also add, "Walking into a classroom and knowing that I had finally found my life\’s calling"

  6. Hilary says:

    Hey!  I found you through Carrie\’s Space and I love your blog already.Here\’s why:I have a major weakness for shoes, and you have some super cute ones.You recommended Go Fug Yourself, which is one of my favorite websites (as terrible as that sounds).The Magician\’s Nephew was one of my favorite books out of the series.I\’ll keep coming back!  Have a happy Monday!

  7. Sue says:

    Laying in my big red chair with my husband watching a movieBlondie and DQ doing a random tap dance for me on our wood floorsJaden (grandson) infectious laugh and saying "your crazy grandma" as he shakes his headSo many.  What wonderful thoughts now.  Thanks for that!Sue

  8. CJ says:

    What a wonderful entry and a great way to start my Monday morning.  My day is filled with dreaded doctors appointments today, so I\’m going to hug my own favorite memories close to me while I\’m being doctored on 😉 .  Hope you have a great day!

  9. David says:

    Hi Katy,
     
    Oh, yes, I do…and to continue that line of thought, you said…
     
    "Glad you like the comment I left you on higher ed.  It\’s one of my personal soap boxes.  I\’ve watched too many kids who will be awesome mechanics or hairdressers get down on themselves because they can\’t understand Shakespeare. "
     
    And it\’s not just if they "can\’t", but if they do, and it doesn\’t mean as much to them as it does an English major, or a Literature Major.  The world needs all kinds, and not every person, no matter HOW intelligent they are, might want to be a college professor, a history teacher, a statesman, inventor or researcher.  I think that many in the world, including many in "high society" might be suprised to find that there are everyday farmers, mechanics, CNA\’s, sales clerks and receptionists who are just as bright, just as intelligent, just as capable of holding their end of a discussion on a universe of topics as they are…
     
    …Life is about Passion, and each person should follow that passion, regardless of where it takes them.  🙂
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  10. Stacy says:

    I love your list and posting today.  I can think of many times also where I just knew everything was right in the world and beyond.  I also love the times that He touches your life when it is unexpected.  The perfect song on the radio when you really needed those certain words of comfort.
    -S.

  11. David says:

     Please take time today to remember Sept 11,2001.

  12. Jaysey says:

    Great list!

  13. Karla says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BLOG. Thinking about you guys today.

  14. Nadine says:

     Amen SistaGirl!! To the Future Glories!!

  15. Alicia says:

    I hope there\’s many more in my future as well.  GREAT post, Katy!!
     
    HUGS!!   🙂

  16. K says:

    Interesting that these moments were not big production moments but simple, pure and innocent moments that bring you the most pleasure and happiness….  I love that.  Beautiful post.  Inspiring Katie…
     
    Thank you.
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  17. Tracy says:

    Those moments are the best and I think a lot of the time we take them for granted, so it\’s cool to list them out like that! 

  18. Nora says:

    — seeing your child for the first time
    — listening in the car as the big one sings little bunny foo foo and hearing the echo of the little one clap his hands mimicking big brother.
    — giggles as we wrestle,
    — a cool breeze, the sound of mariachi music and the Organ Mountains in view.
     
    I could go on but I\’ll stop. Great entry!!!

  19. Wahzat says:

    The last one is one of my own personal favorites/glimpses.
    This is a lovely list. It is a great feeling pulling into your own driveway.
    I know you would have many more to add soon
    Have a great week
    Wahzat!!

  20. Christi says:

    What an awesome entry!  I try to be good about counting my blessings, but I never thought about savoring my good moments!  And I definately agree with holding your baby for the first time.  That is a moment unrivaled by any other!

  21. Unknown says:

    Well what a great list!  I just love moments like that – you may have inspired me to write my own list very soon….
     
    Did you start that Bible study yet?  I forgot when you said it began.  How\’s it going?
    God bless : )

  22. Gina says:

    I loved this post.  I\’m going to keep an eye out for some of my very own glimpses.  I predict there will be plenty more in your furture! Good for you for recognizing them.

  23. Unknown says:

    All I can say is,
     
    I know, I know.
     
    hugs KM,
    Mercy
     
    p.s. I noted the "cool drink" was not a rum and coke…*wink*

Leave a Reply

