My Job is Fun

What She Wore: denim pencil skirt; white short-sleeve tee; red, cropped crocheted sweater; red and white strappy sandals.

It has been an extremely busy week.  We’ve had parent-teacher confrences in the afternoon and yesterday I went to a ninth-grade football game to see some of my old students play on the field and in the band.  But, I’ve survived and had one heck of a week.  Here are a few little snippets:
 
We were playing a test review game and the kids were arguing over whether its worse to guess on a test question or leave it blank.  We’ve only had the kids a couple of weeks, so we haven’t had the time to brain wash them into NEVER leaving a question blank.  One of the student passionately argued her point, "if you guess, you might get a point or two just for trying, but if you leave it blank, you ain’t gettin’ jack!"
 
We’re thinking of making that our new motto.
 

 
Yesterday we were playing a game with a beach ball to help the kids practice working with exponents.  The ball has numbers on it.  They bounce it around the room to each other and the places their fingers touch become a problem to solve.  The rules are simple: if you get out of your desk, you lose a point.  The ball was headed right towards one of our tiny girls who gets very excited ab out things. She leaned with all her might to get the ball–and fell straight out of her desk!   After we discerned that she was OK, we laughed our butts off.
 
We didn’t take a point off, though.
 
Hope your weekend is wonderful!
 
KM
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Job is Fun

  1. Antonella says:

    If you have any questions about that kind of stuff, you can always ask me. I\’ll give you my email if you want. I was actually "trying" for a while, so I know, or have heard of all those strange things people do to get preg. Just make sure you\’re taking a vitamin with 400mcg of folic acid!Antonella

  2. CJ says:

    Sounds like the accidental fall ended in good fun.  Thankfully she was alright!  Now I\’m going to back track and read the other entry that didn\’t get entered when it was supposed to be entered!  😉

  3. Cheryl says:

    You are a good teacher and i hope your weekend is great also….

  4. Sue says:

    That sounds like a PERFECT motto!  The kids will love it if you put a bit of a tune to it.  Wait, these are jr high.  LOL! I\’m so glad she was all right, but how hilarious!  What a great game to play.  You are a great teacher and will become a fav for sure!Hope you have a great weekend.Sue

  5. Unknown says:

    I love days like that – when you love doing what you\’re getting paid to do!  Sounds like you have a cute bunch of kids this year.  And by the way, love the new motto. 
     
    God bless : )

  6. Josh says:

    Hey…rules are rules…if you start letting them get away with stuff, you\’re gonna have chaos.
    Haha…just kidding…could you imagine?
     
    That\’s cool that you have discussions like that in class…I always liked a good purposeful debate when I was in school, it helped everyone realize some things they\’d never know on their own.

  7. Becca says:

    You are such a good teacher and I bet twenty years from now those students will remember you as someone who influenced them.
    Becca

  8. Nora says:

    It\’s those good days that make up for the bad ones right?  Sounded like loads of fun!

  9. Sheryl-Ann says:

    It\’s cool that you have so much fun with the kids.  It really helps the kids when the teacher is all into the lesson – it encourages them. Take care and have a fun weekend.

  10. stacey says:

    What a great idea!!  We are all learning about "timesing numbers" right now.  You gave me a great idea!  I could do that for numbers to be multiplied together!  My youngest is 4 1/2 and she is adding right now, but she\’d still have fun.  🙂  I love your blog!!
    BTW: I got your message on life @ twenty somthing, I am so glad someone else understand.  Somtimes we live in that ocean called life.  🙂 
    Sorta

  11. Elizabeth says:

    We should have done that for my physiology test.  That would have made things a lot less stressful!

  12. Vonnie says:

    How nice of you to visit some of your old students… I\’m sure that meant a great deal to them! Clearly, you just love your students, I imagine you are one of those teachers who bring the students joy, and make their day just a little less "stressful". My son comments on the "nice" teachers all the time… trust me, they notice. 😉 The ball idea is great… so glad the little girl didn\’t lose a point!! lol  Hope you\’re having a fabulous weekend, and doing well. 🙂

  13. Sarah says:

    Sounds like you had a good couple days. It\’s nice that you have fun with your students as well as teach them, that means a lot!

  14. ncjenn2nd says:

    I love that you love your job!  I teach second grade and love my job too!  This year is tougher than last due to a change in administration, however, the kids are as wonderful as always and getting up in the morning is never too bad when I think about all of the wonderful smiles and hugs I will get once I am at school!
    Thanks for giving inspiration and joy to some of the young ones:).

Leave a Reply

