The Yays and the Nays

What She Wore: Green, short-sleeve tee; flared denim skirt; gold leather thongs with big chunky stones on them in green and brown.

Ever had somebody do something that just got under your skin?  It’s not like it’s a really big deal, but for whatever reason, it makes you nuts.  That happened to me today. 
 
Today I went to a meeting with a parent, the district special ed director, the head of the special ed department at my school, and one of my co-workers.  With all these people there, you get self-conscious and try to put your best foot forward.  I arrived early, laptop in hand, ready to to efficiently handle my part of the meeting.
 
Five minutes before the meeting began, my co-worker borrow my pen because she didn’t have one.  Then, she didn’t give it back to me!  I had to scuttle around try to find something to write with when the all the big wigs had arrived!  I was so annoyed–I mean, bring your own damn pen and don’t steal mine.  You try so hard to look competent and then it all gets blown.  Sheesh. 
 
But I don’t just want to be negative because school has been simply amazing these days.  I have this small class and they are the joy of my day.  Despite the fact that it is an inclusion class (which means that there are special ed kids mixed in with regular kids), these kids work their tails off, and it shows.  Today, I realized that they had finished the assignment we’d created with fifteen mintues to spare.  I went up to the board and gave them a "challenge" problem.  A problem like one they’d never seen before.  More than 75% of the class figured out the answer! I was so proud.  My goal for this year is to push this class as far as they can go.  What’s that saying?  Shoot for the moon.  Even if you miss, you may still hit the stars?
 
Shootin’ for the moon, baby!
 
KM
 
PS: Forgot, forgot!  Madame Gemstone?  Diamond.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Yays and the Nays

  1. Hilary says:

    What\’s the gemstone child???  Now I\’m all into it! 🙂

  2. Becca says:

    Maybe you should come equipped with pens with your name on them so she will have to give it back to you or look really embarrassed! I hate that, too!
    Becca

  3. K says:

    Katie… thanks for your kind words… although I am still getting quite a bit of backlash for voicing what many felt.  And although I don;t necessarily disagree with how the ladies went about in their business… it created it such a ripple effect in blogsphere that I felt was not necessary.  Now people are taking sides or accusing other of stuff that isn\’t necessarily true.  People who never spent the time to get to know me and my blog… continue to voice their displeasure with what I said or the manner in which it was said.  It is sad that I deleted my blog posting on it… 1) it had the most comments ever in the history of my blog.. LOL… selfish I know 2) leaving it up made me feel like it was simply gossip with the original posters deleting their blog postings.  But now I can\’t go back to refer to comments I made to those who feel offended by what I said.  It\’s now turning into a whole lot of gossip and a great divide has been created.  Sad honestly.  Sad.  But then again, when have I ever shyed away from speaking my mind?? LOL… And it won\’t be the last time either… LOL…
     
    Things are indeed much better… it is wonderful to finally be in this space.  I will do everything in my power to remain here…!  BTW… pens are constantly being stolen at my work… so if you have a pen that you really like, hide it!!!  They are hot comodities these days!!
     
    It\’s always a pleasure coming here… always…
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  4. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    KM,
     
    Hurray!  I know that wonderful feeling, when your students are challenged and happy, wanting more…as you said, shooting for the moon.  For many year, I taught Kindergarten in a Christian School where phonics and reading from 4 year olds and up was a specialty of our school.  I was teaching the 4 year old class ,at that time, and had one student that was special ed.  Before starting a public school program, they had diagnosed that she would not ever be able to learn how to read.  Her mother did not accept this and brought her to our school for kindergarten.  She was actually 5 already.  Not only could she read right along with the other students, by the end of the year, but she was the best at memorizing Bible verses in the entire class!
     
    Have a blessed week, and I will be looking forward to hearing more about your classes.  And yes, it is terrible when people keep your pens.  Have a great week! 

  5. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Good for you!  Your students and parents are very very lucky to have you.

  6. Unknown says:

    See you\’re such a gem, your name should be Diamond, you are just so darn polite!!!!  I would\’ve said a little loudly…"Hellllloooooo SoandSo I need MY pen back now the meeting has started. Thanks." Then I would\’ve watched her struggle with a smirk. I need a little earing in your ear w/ a mic and you could page me when times like these come up…I\’ll help you to be a better bitch….OH!!!!! I mean erm…stronger female.
     
    I\’m SO glad the kids are showing some "hootsbah"…what about a daily challange waiting for them on the chalk board every day? With 1bonus point incentive? I had a teacher that used to do that…it was the highlight of his class. At times he had real tough ones with twists…and not always the same topic, I remember him even doing riddles. I think we all liked the riddles the best.
     
    Yes the BOY is testing me. Thank goodness I expect it. LOL!
     
    love,
    Mercy

  7. anna says:

    It was really long ago that I passed here…But I always enjoy this space…And…Your new car looks really nice!!!Big Kiss from Italy!

  8. Nadine says:

     That Cow!!!

  9. Jaysey says:

    I agree with Rebecca: get pens with your name on them.  I hate when my co-workers are unprepared–that\’s been happening to me a lot lately.
    I am the name queen! 😉 

  10. Cheryl says:

    That was a great uplifting entry.  When someone asks for my pen I look around in m purser and say it is the only one I have so I can\’t give it to them as I will need it.  I guess she could have gone to the office to report she was unprepared for the meeting and would they give her a pen….that wold irritate me real bad.

  11. Tanilan says:

    I hate that when people steal your pens! 
     
    You are a great teacher! And fashionista! 

  12. Dawn says:

    Oh I have a co-worker like that…only she\’s an idea stealer…..you mention something and all of the sudden she came up with it….rotten hags.

  13. Sarah says:

    I hate that when people steal your pens! My boss does it to me all the time. He must have a million pens stowed away in his office! I just want to clean it to see how many I find.
     
    It sounds like you are a really great teacher that takes pride in her job. Props to you! And your students!

  14. Unknown says:

    Woo hooo!  Keep on shootin\’! 
     
    Sorry I haven\’t visited in a while, haven\’t been online much.  I have some catching up to do.
     
    Have a great day! God bless : )

  15. Alicia says:

    That would tick me off too…my pet peeve of late is when people call me at work and ask for a phone #.  I begin giving it to them and then they ask me to HOLD ON WHILE THEY GET A PEN!!!!  Now WHY in the WORLD would you ask for a # and NOT have something to write it down with???  People just irritate me.
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  16. Tiffany says:

    You could always tie a HUGE fake flower to your pens.  Convenience stores do that sometimes to keep people from stealing their pens.  Great post!  Hope all is well… we will be in Cabot next weekend visiting the In-Laws.  I hope to get some shopping done while I\’m there.  I\’m in diar need of more winter clothes! 
    Tiff

  17. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Sometimes all kids need is someone to show that they truly care and to push them to achieve their goals.  You\’re doing a great job and I am sure the kids appreciate your care and concern.

  18. Nora says:

    I agree, kids don\’t need to help back what we think they can or cannot accomplish they need to just shoot for the moon.  My husband always gets really discouraged this time of every school year.  Anywho, have a great day. 

  19. Kerri says:

    At least the "professional" who stole your pen isn\’t a superior that blind sided you at an evaluation and salary negotiation over a comment that was missinturpreted 4 months ago and never addressed.  I started a new email folder today at work titled CMA or cover my assets.
     
    I used the fake flowers on my pens when I tought and they really detered kids and adults alike from running off with my pens.
     
     

  20. Tracy says:

    Ya that would annoy me too.  Sometimes I get irritated at the smallest things and then later laugh at myself!! The other day I was in the elevator and had to stop on a lower floor, well one lady come on and held the door while she waited for two others, I was so annoyed like hello I was here first, you don\’t sit and make me wait for your friends, you let me go and then get another elevator.  LOL the things that make us crazy!! 
     
    Glad to hear school is going so well, the kids are so lucky to have you, sounds like they are a good bunch!!

  21. Elizabeth says:

    That\’s great that your class figured out that problem.  They must have an awesome teacher. 😉
    Akeelah & the Bee is a fictional story…you should definitely see it. Hell…maybe it should be required viewing in schools these days!!

  22. CJ says:

    I\’m going to echo portions of what K.C. said in her post.  The original entry was deleted…I wasn\’t expecting it to be twisted and contorted until it no longer resembled a heads up for women to practice caution.  Sadly, just as in real life, people have a way of taking the context of a thing and making it suit their own vendettas.  It sounds like your class is one to be proud of!  And as for the pens…annoying how so many people are completely unprepared these days but continue to consider themselves professional.  I love those pens that read "this pen was stolen from……"  Not that too many people seem to mind taking them anyway.  Perhaps they would learn quickly if they were repeatedly told that you (or someone else) didn\’t have a pen to spare?

  23. Sandy says:

    I am not so nice, I would have told her to give my pen back.  Glad to hear that school is going so well this year.
     
    Raven

  24. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    Just wanted you to know that I so appreciated your stopping by.  Have a wonderful weekend!  Nice car, BTW.

  25. Wahzat says:

    Oooooh That would have got my goat!! I am so annoyed and it hasn\’t even happened to me! 🙂
     
    Good for you and your class!! I like that saying! Shot for the moon.. never actually heard it or saw it anywhere! neat!!
     
    Have a great weekend!

  26. Carol says:

    It sounds like you have a wonderful bunch of kids.  I imagine that\’s not something that happens every year.  Enjoy!

  27. Unknown says:

    we share a peeve, I am always equipped with pens, in my purse, my car, my briefcase, and am fastidius about returning pens, I hate it when people regularly come to meetings without them? Hello? I would fire them on the spot personally. Ok next subject? lol, hugs Kat

  28. KEL says:

    I think you\’re right, it is very difficult to gauge a person on the internet and somehow by the lack of personal interaction we think we might feel as if we have some degree of safety.  There are times in real life that we fail to trust our gut instinct and then look back and say wow, I should have listened…it\’s just that much harder when it is a screen and not a face that we are trying to base our instincts on.  ~K

  29. Robo says:

      I try to steal someones pen when I believe they deserve it, or if their business isn\’t being run up to par.   It\’s nice to hear you enjoy your work…

Leave a Reply

