Friday Giggles

What She Wore: forest green, short-sleeve tee; black capris; black slides with heavy beading, and a kitten heel.  I know I haven’t been posting my shoe pic recently, but the camera is out of batteries and I haven’t had a chance to get some more.

My students have very interesting perspectives on life.  I don’t know if it’s because they come from a different socio-economic strata then I did, or if it’s a sign of the times.  Today, I got a little glimpse of how their lives are different then mine.
 
I hung a picture of Mr. K and his wife and me and hub on a bulletin board that we have in the classroom.  I was talking with one of my students about the picture and she told me that me and Mrs. K looked alike. 
 
You and Mrs.K look alike
You think so?
Yeah, are ya’ll sisters or somethin’?
No, we’re not sisters.
I don’t know–you might want to ask your daddy ’cause you might be sisters and just not know it.
 
You can imagine my surprise.
 
Their lives are just a lot different than mine.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Friday Giggles

  1. CJ says:

    That is too cute!  And the comment about "ask your daddy" made me flat laugh out loud.  Just wanted to stop over to wish you a wonderful weekend and to thank you for your comment.  You\’re right…the rest is just details and from where I\’m standing the details look pretty good!

  2. ncjenn2nd says:

    That is hilarious!  I can relate somewhat, so I think it is really the times are changing.  A couple of years ago, I subbed a whole school year, and almost any student who asked about my personal life asked me first if I had any kids, then if I had a boyfriend, and then if I had a husband.  Sometimes, they only asked if I had kids, not if I had a man in my life.  But a lot of them live in a single parent mother only home, and therefore, don\’t think much about anything except women have kids.  Very interesting trend, one that I will definitely try not to follow…hopefully I won\’t!

  3. Becca says:

    OMG that is too funny KM!

  4. Nora says:

    Thank God I wasn\’t drinking anything as I read that, it may have shot out my nose!  Yeah, I guess my perspective is a little different too.

  5. Sheryl-Ann says:

    This entry made me laugh out loud.  In fact, I am still laughing.  Yep, it definitely has something to do with the society your students grow up in.  That was too funny!  Enjoy the weekend.

  6. Unknown says:

    Ok that\’s just too freaking funny!!  Thanks for the laugh this morning, I needed it!
     
    Have a great weekend!  God bless : )

  7. Dawn says:

    yep I laughed out loud to….times they are a changin\’.

  8. Marcie says:

    I read it to the fiance…he is laughing too and inquired "how old are the students."  THAT is funny!!

  9. Nadine says:

     My mother\’s lesi lover was a one of those PE teachers…you know the ones….she taught in an area that was just like what you describe….several kids were related becuz the father was free and easy with his love and had many women, who in turn had many lovers but nothing exclusive. Sad situation. Give a whole new meaning of spreading the love!

  10. KEL says:

    Personally I believe it is the times that we live in now that have brought on this type of attitude in our children.  Today many of our children come from muliti-family homes where we don\’t have just a mother and a father anymore.  So many children are being born before marriage not to mention the divorce rate that has sky rocketed over the years and the blended families that have resulted from this.  I think on one hand it has made our children a bit more open to a broader idea of family but at the same time I also think that it has diminished our family value and taught our children that if we don\’t like what we have we can just move on to something else.~K

  11. Unknown says:

    Are you sure that kids wasn\’t sayng that tongue and cheek? What was their expression? LOL
     
    I bet you blushed…
    xo,
    Mercy

  12. Tracy says:

    Haha that is funny.  I was talking to somenoe last night with a 13 yr old, talking about how different kids were these days than when I was growing up.  Just doing different things for fun and it seems like I Had much less trouble to get into!

  13. Cheryl says:

    That was hillarious….great sign of the changing times for sure…Did you agree to ask your daddy?  LOL

  14. Aimee says:

    it is funny isn\’t it…kids just aren\’t sure of anything we once were..
     
    :o) smiles easy to give away they are free… :o) very contagious… :o) so pass one to anyone … :o) to people that you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o) in no time the whole world will be smiling :o)

  15. Carol says:

    That was great.  I\’m still laughing.  What a comment…innocent and worldly at the same time.

  16. Stacy says:

    Kids are so funny with the things they come up with.  It makes you wonder where they get some of those ideas in the first place.  LOL
     
    -S.

  17. Sarah says:

    That reminds me of a pretty inappropriate thing I said to a teacher once. I was a senior in high school and this lady was probably my favorite teacher, or at least one I was pretty comfortable with. She was saying something about how her mouth was so dry and I said something like "Oh, were ya out drinkin\’ last night?" As soon as it came out of my mouth I knew that I shouldn\’t have said it, and of course she said that was inappropriate for me to say and I appologized. Anyway, that just reminded me of that.

  18. Jaysey says:

    Times are certainly different…but it probably also has a lot to do with their socio-economic backgrounds.  But it sure is funny to me today! 😉

  19. Gina says:

    HAHA!  That is funny!  I can\’t believe how thought provoking that sentence truly is!

  20. Tiffany says:

    Oh my gosh… That is so cute!  It\’s funny what kids say sometimes.  I\’m learning that as Baylee talks more and more everyday and the different things that she does!
    Hope all is well!
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

