Every Year

What She Wore: black, long-sleeve tee with a couple of decorative buttons; grey, knee-length skirt with a ruffle at the bottom; black, strappy wedges white stitching.  Got a little harassment from my co-worker about my skirt being too short, so I took out a ruler and measured–one inch above the knee.  Totally within the two-inch rule.  I can’t help it if people stare at my legs! (wink)

For some reason it’s all about the crazy kids these days.  I may have mentioned this before, but I doubt it, so I’ll share it today.  Every year, after school has gotten under way, one of my black (I’m mentioning their race for a reason) students will ask me if I’ve hurt my leg.  I’ll look down and see the red circle that appears on the back of my leg when I cross my legs.  Apparently, not all my kids are familiar with the techni-color aspects of skin as pale as mine.  Plus, I wear skirts a lot because I’m short and getting pants hemmed is a pain. 
 
So, a few days ago one of my kids asked me about the "bruise" on my leg, and asked if it hurt.  The girl next to her was white and she opened her mouth and said, "It’s not a bruise. . when we. . "  She trailed off–not exactly sure how to continue her sentence.   I stepped in and said, "When white people cross their legs, they get a mark where they were touching.  It’ll go away in a few minutes and it doesn’t hurt."  The girl looked down, her mouth dropped open, she covered it with her hand, and then she looked back at me and burst out laughing. 
 
You are crazy! she pronounced.
 
Every. Single. Year.
 
Can I help it if I get straight to the point?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Every Year

  1. Jaysey says:

    Straight to the point, indeed.  Can you help it?  NO.  Do you need to?  Nah…honesty and straight-forwardness are good attributes.

  2. Karla says:

    It\’s one of the things I love best about you.

  3. Unknown says:

    Sorry I have not dropped by in a while have been really busy!
     
    Straight to the point, that is the way to be. The more honest and straight forward you are the more the kids respect you…or so I have found at work.

  4. Hollie says:

    Hi
     
    Yes getting to the point is always best!
     
    Just to let you know I m back to blogging, yeah things are finally settling in!

  5. Becca says:

    Honesty is always the best policy! 🙂
     
    Becca

  6. Nooner™ says:

    Good for you that you say it like it is. Part of your popularity amongst your students is probably your integrity. I see it in your writing all the time, so I bet your students see it in you.
    ~Nooner~

  7. Josh says:

    Good for you indeed. I\’m sure your kids really benefit from you not treating them like little children. Making referrence to a race as a group is not in itself racist, and I think what you said helped them realize that by example.

  8. Hilary says:

    I respect you for going straight to the point!  Also, I  hate that big ugly red mark.  I know, I\’m probably crazily vain or something, but I think its not a good mark. 🙂

  9. Elizabeth says:

    I didn\’t know that "the mark" existed until Jr High.  A couple of girls I envied always had those marks and I didn\’t know what they were from and how both of them got it.  Of course they always wore skirts but I wanted to be like them and thusly wanted to have that mark.
    I had one helluva DUH! moment some years later when such things were unimportant.
    For the record I am white.  Yes, you can call me stupid now. 😉
    PS… there\’s a pair of heels on display in my latest entry.  Lemme know what you think of the shoes. 😉

  10. CJ says:

    I like the way you get right to the point.  It takes the awkwardness right out of  it.  If it were me, though, I\’d probably play it up by limping around and asking for her assistance.  Ooooh ,  ouch, ooooh.  Honesty is always best and it earns respect.  Kudos to you for handling it so directly.

  11. Stacy says:

    Still chuckling.  I never thought about that before.
     
    -S.

  12. Tracy says:

    Ha ha ha! That is hilarious.  Your kids crack me up!!

  13. Sarah says:

    Ha! That is really funny. I\’ve never thought about the fact that black people don\’t get "the mark". Probably has a lot to do with the fact that there isn\’t much diversity up here!

  14. Christi says:

    These last two posts have cracked me up!  Kids are so honest and straightforward sometimes!

  15. Tiffany says:

    Those kids are so funny!  But, I\’m glad you don\’t skirt around the truth and explain it to them straight forward.  It\’s what they need!  :0)  Hope you are having a great day!
    Tiffany

  16. Nadine says:

     A rather odd difference one does not think about….but I think you handled that well.
     
     The Co-Worker is just jealous!! Or is it male……what\’s he doing lookin\’ at your legs???
     
     and get the camera fixed!!

  17. Unknown says:

    I\’m not quite sure what door I came in through, but I\’ve been visiting spaces for half the day and my legs are tired.  Hope you don\’t mind if I sit and rest for a while as I take a look around.  You have a really exciting space.  I loved the way you told this story, I could almost picture everyone\’s faces in my mind.  I\’m rested now, so I guess I\’ll be going.  Thanks for letting me visit.

  18. Stacy says:

    Thanks for stopping by.  There is actually 10 questions and you favorite curse word was left out.  I was afraid of what kind of answers I might get.  LOL  I take it you like to watch ITAS also.
     
    -S.
     

  19. CJ says:

    Thank you!  I WON\’T stress the details…this all just feels so right, I\’m going to let it figure itself out.  No worries.  😉

  20. tassietoo says:

    LOL, I remember last when you talked about that.  It always reminds me when I first moved to a more diverse city, and the kids would always let me know in the hall that I had a mark…that was the first time I found out not everybody got those!

  21. Cheryl says:

    I am still laughing here…I needed a good laugh.

  22. Sheryl-Ann says:

    That was funny.  I am sure the kids love your straight-up honesty – it always seems to work best.  Hope your week is going well.

  23. Tiffany says:

    NEW MALL?????  Where is it at?  Or do you know the name of it?  My Mother-in-Law hasn\’t mentioned anything about that!  But, she\’s been busy lately with her dance studio that she probably didn\’t even know they were building one!  Any information would be great!
     
    Tiffany

  24. Alicia says:

    Getting right to the point is a GOOD character trait, Katy!!!  As for the middle name, it has been chosen…but ya gotta come see me.  I\’d like your opinion on my entry… (please??)
     
    HUGS!!!  🙂

  25. Unknown says:

    You can use it, just take the "ass" end off of it. *wink*
     
    Have you gotten to the plucking eyebrows discoloration yet? OMG I got my eyes threaded three days before the wedding and I was soooooooooooooo afraid they would stay red. I had some clinique stuff to dab on them if that was the case.
     
    Hey there\’s another lesson plan out of me, I should get paid for this. Let the kids pick a job…then have fake interviews for them. Like a career day.
     
    hugs,
    Mercy

  26. Unknown says:

    thanks for the kudos on the post.
     
    My bss cnstntly rmvs vwls from his typing when on his blackberry and he is the master of the email circle jerk. he makes me cringe (for him) because he copies so many(and senior senior) people on his emails i think he\’s downgrading himself corporately like a man on a mission.
     
    Oh well…call a spade a spade.  black white…whatever…we are what we are right.  Good on you for not dancing around it.

  27. Tiffany says:

    LOL… classic!

  28. Andrew says:

    haha, thats pretty funny!

  29. Nora says:

    Funny!  The little things that some of us never consider. Sometimes my whole face is that way in the morning, that would give them a fright.  (Well anyone really, my face first thing in the morning is never pretty! lol)

Leave a Reply

