Co-workers can be strange

What She Wore: Skinny blue jeans; white tee; brown courderoy jacket; extremely awesome pair of leather cowboy boots with a two inch heel.  I felt like I’d found the holy grail when I discovered them at TJ Maxx the other day.

I work with a woman this year who is by-far the strangest person I’ve met in a professional setting.  I’ve met weirder people before–just usually not at work.
 
The other day she comes into the teachers’ lounge with some chicken fingers and some nachos.   I stared greedily at her nachos since that just happens to be one of my achilles heels–I LOVE tortilla chilps and cheese.  In a way that is not completely healthy.  But that’s probably a blog for another day.  ANYWAY–as I was drooling she offered me one, 
 I couldn’t (I totally could, but I was trying to look restrained).
 
She then took the nachos, placed them on the table between us and said, I have a confession to make–if you eat some of these it will make me feel less guilty.
 
I am now a little freaked out–I mean, what is she going to tell me?
 
I ate your dessert yesterday.
 
Now this is getting really weird.  What are you talking about?
 
Your fig newtons–I ate them.
 
Now I just begin to laugh.  The day before, I had FORGOTTEN to pack a dessert for myself.  Being the junk-food whore that I am, I spent at least five minutes whining about my lack of sugary goodness.  Let me just tell you–fig newtons do not count as dessert in my book–oh no.  I sometimes have low blood sugar issues, so I keep things like fig newtons stashed all over the place at school, so I can run off and eat a couple if I start feeling woozy.  Our school doesn’t have any vending machines, so this is kind of a neccesity.  I am also completely willing to share these snacks with anyone who needs a little pick-me up. 
 
Apparently, my co-worker had found the Newtons stuffed into the podium in the room that we share.  She was hungry, there’s no vending machine at school, and so she ate them.  When lunch rolled around, and I started complaining about my missing dessert she felt certain that she had eaten it.  She’d gone to bible study that night, discussed her dilemma, and it was decided that she would have to "confess."  I seriously admire for her for having the guts to do that–especially when I never even missed the ole Newtons. 
 
I wonder–would I have the guts to admit something like that?  Somehow, I doubt it.
 
Would you have told?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Co-workers can be strange

  1. Jaysey says:

    No…but before I ate the fig newtons, I probably would have walked around for a bit, going, "Whose fig newtons are these?"  So I wouldn\’t have needed to confess.

  2. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I must admit that I started laughing when I read this………it must have truly been a weird moment.  I think I would have told.  One time I was very hungry at school and there were some granola bars in an office that a few of us used to share.  I ate the granola bars but I wrote a note saying that I had eaten them. Then the next day, I stopped at the supermarket and bought some and replaced them.  Yeah, I would have eaten the fig newtons but I would have left a note saying that I had done so.  Take care and have an awesome week at work.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Normally I don\’t think I would have told.  At my job we all have worked together for like 10 years so if I was there i would have told but in your situation I don\’t think I would have…..Brave girl!

  4. ncjenn2nd says:

    Thanks for your comments on my site, it is good to know that some older kids really do look for love and approval, and also very sad that for some of them, they only get it at school.  At least when the kids are little like mine, they want to have hugs from people at school and it is not inappropriate, but when they get older, it is a touchy subject.  I\’m glad you can give some approval to them and let them know someone cares for them!
     
    And about the Newtons, I would have so eaten them and then replaced them when I got a chance, and hoped that no one was the wiser, but if I did not replace them on time, and someone said something, I bet I would fess up just so that there was not anyone getting bitter and snippy about some food…cause that would be really weird.
     
    Have a great week!

  5. Sue says:

    How hilarious.  I would have told.  I would have said, "sorry, that was me.  I\’ll bring you cheescake tomorrow!"If I would have had a little notice regarding the Arkansas trip, I would have contacted you because I\’m sure I was close to you.  I listened to her rant tonight regarding going to their church, but I know my daughter enough to know she was probably being a real pain today.  When I head back that way, I\’ll let you know.: ) Sue

  6. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Yeah, cause I would have too much guilt.  Therefore, I bring my own snacks.  I found a pair of awesome cowboy boots with a 2 inch heel last year at Dillard\’s end of winter sale for 19.99 they are so hot!

  7. Nadine says:

    OOOh No!! I would say "Thank you for the replacement Nachos." And eat away!
     
     Come on…Nachos are KING!!!
    Good Job on the boots!! My new pair…$25!! The original box was marked $190!! And I got them for $25!!!!

  8. Becca says:

    Yes I would have told. I have this thing about eating other peoples food. It was so cool of her to have admitted it. And nachos! Yum!
    Becca

  9. Tanilan says:

    Lord, no!  I couldn\’t have admitted that.  I would, however, replaced the fig newtons.

  10. Nora says:

    I think if I had done that and I knew whose they were I would have at least told them.  I can\’t imagine being so hungry to eat them without asking though, who knew where those could have been?  I am picky that way.  I thought you were going to say she was wierd because she was eating the chicken strips on the nachos or something.  Just because I am curious, did you eat those nachos without any kind of chile or jalapeno?  That is the most important part, right? ; )
     
    Oh and I love the new pic, too cute!

  11. KEL says:

    Personally I wouldn\’t have admitted something of that nature out loud, however I would have replaced the "borrowed" food (especially if it was something like a snack).  At least you know that while she may be "weird" she is fairly honest!
    ~K

  12. Christi says:

    How funny!  At least she confessed.  Some of my coworkers eat other people\’s lunches on a regular basis – I would appreciate an I\’m sorry.  I beg for food when hungry so that I don\’t have to get in this predicament – I have a very guilty conscience – it would eat me up if I stole some food. 

  13. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    LOL!  Your blog and the comments are all so interesting and individual…I just love it!  Anyway, this happened frequently at my school, when I was teaching.  We had a teacher\’s kitchenette and it was "free" to everyone, with different people contributing at different times.  No one felt bad about taking…the school provided some and we provided the rest.  It made me chuckle when you mentioned stashing food, though, because I did the same in my classroom and for the same reasons.  I wasn\’t in other places enough to leave anything elsewhere. 
     
    Before each classroom had its own half fridge, everyone came into my classroom because I had the big fridge.  They kept the milk there and teachers put their lunches in it, which meant I had traffic all day long…lol.  My students got quite good at brushing off interuptions and using "company manners"  when we had guests of whatever kind.  There have been times where I have taken and told, taken and replaced, and taken and left a note, in my work history.

  14. Wahzat says:

    Yeah, I probably would have bought you back a pack and hand it to you while confessing that I took them. Or when I saw you told you about it.
     
    But she is really funny!
    You are a cool chickie!
     
    Love me tortilla and cheese too!
     

  15. Unknown says:

    I would NOT have told….but I would have bought some Fig\’s to replace the ones I stole from you!

  16. Alicia says:

    Probably…so the guilt didn\’t overtake me!!  :)~

Leave a Reply

