Randomness

What She Wore: Black capri/gaucho style pants; black, short-sleeve tee; gold button-down, hooded jacket with three-quarter-length sleeves; black leather boots.


I usually talk about my own teaching experiences, but that’s not really the whole picture.  I have been lucky to work with some amazing people at my current job–people who are really dedicated not only to the the profession, but to the kids themselves.  I could name very few teachers at my school who don’t seem seem to be driven by their caring attitude. 

The other day one of my students arrived to school late, and as him mom dropped him off she told me, We went to get a physical, so he could try out for basketball, but things just didn’t work out–we’ll have to do it next year.  I was extremely disappointed to hear this, and felt certain that money was part of the problem–so often, that’s the ruling problem in my kid’s lives.  After his mom left, I asked the student what had happened.  Apparently, the doctor’s office had tried to charge them forty dollars for the physical!!!   Mom couldn’t afford it, so they had to leave.  It was the last day for physicals to be turned in, so the student would not get to try out for the basketball team.  He was crushed and so was I. 

I had no idea what I could do–athletics is very stringent and I knew that getting around the rules wouldn’t be possible, but I told Mr. K what had happened.  Mr. K was as upset as I was, but he’s friends with the basketball coach, so he went and took care of things.  Coach listened to the story, recommended a place for the physical, and agreed to let our student try out with the football players who were trying out a week later due to their practice schedule.  At lunch, Mr. K confirmed a price of ten dollars at the recommended clinic, and gave the student the good news. 

It took a lot of people to make that kid’s day. 

I don’t think one of us regrets it.

I’m proud to be a teacher sometimes.

KM


I AM: a woman, a wife, a teacher, a friend.
I WANT:  a new pair of boots
I HATE:  that I have become so rigid.
I MISS: Being young enough to trick or treat

I FEAR: That I am too cautious.
I HEAR:  My husband listening to NPR

I WONDER: Weather I should buy that big red purse I saw today
I REGRET: not getting my Master’s degree three years ago
I AM NOT: perfect
I DANCE:  When I should be doing housework

I SING: all the cheesy songs that come on the Disney channel
I CRY: At everything–I’m not that kind of girl
I AM NOT ALWAYS: on top of things
I WRITE: On the internet–it’s strangely satisfying
I NEED:  To stop being scared and go for the gusto
I SHOULD: Find a graduate-level class to take next semester.
I START: Lots of little projects
I FINISH: Less than half (but that’s OK with me)

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Randomness

  1. Cheryl says:

    I liked it…that was a great list…

  2. Becca says:

    I am glad that you were able to help that kid out. You are a good soul. And I love your list! You should tag someone with that!
    Becca

  3. David says:

    You SHOULD be proud…that\’s a GREAT story, and it\’s so nice to hear that some teachers really do care.  I was moved.  🙂
     
    What the HECK is blue bread???
     
    -David  //Bootjockey

  4. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    Very interestesting list!  How did I know there would be something about shoes or boots?  I had a nice chuckle at that.  It blessed my heart to see your shared care for that student.  There are many caring teachers in public and private schools.

  5. Nooner™ says:

    Geeze, my eyes watered up on the Forty Bucks story. I\’d slip the Doc that amount in a sec to give that kid a crack at a whole-season worth of sports-fun. I\’m so glad Mr. K worked some magic (and you for starting the ball rolling by mentioning the incident to him).
    ~Nooner~

  6. Nadine says:

     Good for you and Mr K!!! That was a very good thing!!
     I have a freind that went back for her master\’s…..while pregnant with her 3rd one…..I will tell you what I told her!
     You are a modern woman and can do anything you set your mind to….you have a great support system around you…not counting us out here in Blogland….. go for the Master\’s!!!!
     
     And stop what you are doing right now and RUN go get that RED purse!!!! and you know the boots you want….get them!!!! You know you will so stunning in them!!!
     It\’s a small world after all!! It\’s a small, small world!!!
     
     

  7. Unknown says:

    So awesome that you guys did that for that kid – you made more than his day – you probably made his whole year!  And, great list – I may have to do that one on my next blog.
     
    Hope you\’re having a great weekend!  God bless 🙂

  8. Courtney says:

    that was such a GOOD blog!!  it is so incredible that you got the ball rolling and helped out that student!!  there need to be more surprise acts of kindness like that!! 
    i am going to have to borrow your list… that is great!!

  9. Sheryl-Ann says:

    When I read this entry, I thought of something – we are blessed to bless.  This just means that we must pass on whatever blessings we enjoy to others.  I am so happy that you, Mr. K, etc. were able to bless that little boy.  I am sure he will never forget it, and maybe one day he will be able to pass on a blessing to someone else.
    I want a pair of cowboy boots myself (sigh)…………..buy the boots and the purse as early Christmas presents to yourself (smile).  That excuse always makes me feel better.  Have a fun weekend.

  10. David says:

    Hey, I liked this post…very cool.  🙂
     
    Thanks, I wondered what blue bread was!
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  11. KEL says:

    You did a wonderful thing helping that student.  The world would be a better place if more place if there were more people out there willing to do what they can for others when times are tough….~K

  12. CJ says:

    Wonderful post, beautiful act of kindness!

  13. Carol says:

    I\’m so happy for that boy.  Sometimes sports is the only thing that keeps a child interested in school.  A forty dollar barrier is just obscene.  
    Gaucho pants and boots… I love that look!

  14. Becca says:

    Habits from my single days. I get up with M when he starts his day. And during the week that is early since his company is on a follow the sun routine, meaning that it literally never closes for him, and when he is on call he gets calls from as far away as India, so our routines get thrown for a loop quite often. It is a habit I need to change, but I am switching in a lot more water, especially since my surgery in July. For every soda I have I have as much water. 
     
    I am a work in progress, even firmly in middle age..lol!
    Becca

  15. Antonella says:

    I assume your student didn\’t have health insurance?? It\’s so sad what some kids have to go through. If a lot of the kids at your school are poor, they should have some kind of Medicaid/Health Plus recruitment there. They do it at my school all the time. Child Health Plus I think covers most kids whose parents don\’t have health insurance for them.
     
    You should definately take a grad class, it\’ll be annoying, but you\’ll be gald you did.
     
    Hope you had a great weekend,
    Antonella

  16. Antonella says:

    Me and Lauren had this whole plan to trip her when she got off the bus, and then say, "You should watch your feet." But someone got in the way. 😦
    I\’m 25 wks, according to a book I have that\’s 7months.
    Antonella

  17. Elizabeth says:

    What a fabulous end to a story!  I hope he makes the team! *cheers*

  18. CJ says:

    I loved your comment…..it\’s the simple things in life that really make us smile isn\’t it?  I hope you have a wonderful week.  If it gets to feeling stressful, take a moment to step outside and feel the sun on your face, the wind tugging at your hair, and it\’ll remind you of all that\’s good in this world.  Have a great week!

  19. Sarah says:

    Great story! It is so awesome when teachers care that much about their students. There should be more teachers like that!

  20. Jaysey says:

    Sometimes it takes a village…good for y\’all.

  21. Tiffany says:

    That breaks my heart hearing that story.  I think if I had your position I would be broke right now trying to help out.  I\’m such a giver that sometimes I don\’t think about it and just do it.  That\’s great that you guys worked out a way for the child to play basketball!  Makes me smile!
    Tiff

  22. Nora says:

    It\’s great that you stepped in.  It\’s easy to get jaded, my husband is sometimes upset when the students aren\’t participating, I suggested he find out why.  He doesn\’t have a parent group at the middle school like the high school.  Those parents always let him know what the obstacles were, money is often a big part of that.

  23. Gina says:

    That is a wonderful story!  I bet  you all are heros in that kids eyes right now.  And who knows, maybe he will pay it forward one day. 
     
    I remember in h.s. they would have a doctor come in to the the nurses office and do physicals there.  I don\’t remember if it cost anything to the student or not. 

  24. Tracy says:

    What a cool story, that\’s awesome, the chain of people helping that kid! I can\’t believe a kid wasn\’t gonna get to play sports just because his mom couldn\’t afford a $40 physical.  That is sad! So awesome that y\’all chipped in to make his day!!
    Hope you are having a good Monday!

  25. Nooner™ says:

    Popping by to say "Hi". The "I Am, I Want, I Hate" etc. series is pretty kewl. Nice way to get-to-know-you more. I may copy and paste the categories to publish my answers one day soon. Hey, no shoe pics anymore? 😉 I mean .. the "New Car" is nice and all .. but, really. lol.
    ~Nooner~

  26. Toni says:

    All the cheesy songs on the Disney channel? Then you must share my love for the songs on "High School Musical". Wow. I thought I was the only one.
    The entry about the student who wanted to play basketball but couldn\’t because of the physical…that was just so heartwarming! I\’m glad you\’re a teacher too. We need a bunch of KM clones to work at all the schools…
    Sorry it\’s been so long since I checked in! Hope you\’re doing well. Have a great week! ~Toni

  27. Unknown says:

    Keep up the good work.
     
    Keep "adding style to the equation" it suits you…rigid? Tell me more…LOL!
     
    love,
    Mercy

  28. Mrsbrown2k1 says:

    You & Mr. K are amazing teachers!  I applaud you both for help out this little boy.  I am sure this will be something that he\’ll remember for the rest of his life and share with his own kids some day.
    Tam in Texas
     

  29. Unknown says:

    I love when I post a meme and then open a page and find that it has traveled around! And you are never to old to trick or treat..you just need to tag along with some kids like you belong there, we have people that do that in our neighborhood all the time. And we all need a new pair of boots!!!

  30. Sandy says:

    I may have asked you this before but; Can we clone you?  And the hubby too?  Trying to pay for your kids to be able to partisapate in sports or other school activities can be expensive.  It is nice that you guys helped this kid out.   I bet you\’ll become his favorite teacher. 
     
    Raven

  31. Wahzat says:

    A shining example how one person made a change happen for good in someone elses life! Phenomenal!
     
    I also sing all the cheesy songs on Disney! I love them all! Yes and I cry for EVERYTHING as well sad events happy events you name it I tear up. I even cry when I am mad and that makes me even madder!
     
    I loved this entry!
     

  32. Alicia says:

    But THIS entry warmed my heart.  🙂

  33. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Another reason why I wish I lived in your school district

  34. K says:

    How amazing is that… I am certain that kid and his mother will never forget what you guys did for him and it could be a turning point for him.  I hope he makes the cut and onto the team.
     
    Kudos to you and Mr. K… more people in this world need to be like you… they need to care!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

Leave a Reply

