You Know Those Kinds of Days

What She Wore: brown herringbone pants with a light blue and light orange stripe; white, long-sleeve tee; orange, button-down cardigan; brown, round-toe heels.

Part of the deal I made with myself is that I will update here a little more often.  Getting the occasional comment makes me smile and helps me forget the things that are making me crazy.
 
Today, I had a crazy day.  I was teaching a lot–normally, I monitor and assist more that lecture, but today I was going over a test that the kids had taken.  I worked steadily through first period, and when second period started, one of my students raised her hand and said to me, Mrs., there’s a hole in your pants and I can see your leg.  Honestly, you could practically see my underpants!  The pants were brand-new, I put them on this morning, and didn’t notice a thing, but apparently the area around the pocket had not sewn together properly. 
 
So, what’s a girl to do?   
 
Can’t run out of class.   Can’t act embarassed, or the kids will react.  Soooooo, I grabbed a clip off the overhead, clipped my pants shut, and kept right on teaching.  When the period was over, I went to the principal’s office and borrowed a safety pin to get me through the rest of the day.  
 
Sometimes these things happen.  You just have to deal.
 
KM 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to You Know Those Kinds of Days

  1. THOMAS says:

    She didn\’t say,"Mrs. Barnyard, there is a hole in your brown herringbone pants with a light blue and light orange stripe?"

  2. tassietoo says:

    You dealt wonderfully!  Acted with grace and composure and gave your kids a good example!  I haven\’t been around much either, I think this "mood thing" is going around.  Take care! 🙂

  3. CJ says:

    On occasion I\’ve resorted to stapling a hem up, or using packing tape on the inside of a blouse to seal it where the button was missing.  Creative minds prevail, eh?  Thanks for your kind words.  Hope you have a terrific day today. 

  4. Betsy says:

    Smooth move teach!  I don\’t know if I would have been that calm about it.  I still remember the day in 8th or 9th grade when my math teach had a hole in the crotch of his pants and sat in front of the class with his legs crossed man style for the entire period.  The contrast of the whitie tighties against the brown polyester made it hard to NOT notice.
     
    I think it says something if they were comfortable enough to tell you and not sit in the back of the class laughing at you and making fun of you the entire hour.  That\’s probably what I would have done 🙂

  5. WINDOW LIVE says:

    You are a trooper.  

  6. Sarah says:

    Way to keep it cool under pressure! I\’m sure I wouldn\’t have.
     
    My eye doctor did tell me that sometimes in certain people looking at things up close all day every day can cause problems with distance sight. Apparently I\’m one of the (un)lucky ones!

  7. Unknown says:

    OK…chocolate…silly 80\’s music…flannel pj\’s….fuzzy slippers…and watching Dodge Ball the movie. Dr\’s orders. Cheer up.
     
    I\’m having trouble keeping up w/ blogging to. BUT I miss YOU!
     
    lol,
    Mercy

  8. Nadine says:

     Grace under pressure!!!
     I can remember teachers stapling their hems…..do they teach that in college???
     
    Happy Halloween!!!

  9. Becca says:

    I am not sure that I would have been as composed as you! Quick thinking!
    Becca

  10. KEL says:

    Sorry to hear things have been a little rough lately…hopefully though the holiday season will bright your mood.  Have a wonderful halloween!~K

  11. Nora says:

    That Malathion Man is too funny!  I\’d say you dealt well.
    Regarding your comment on my post.  Ewww is right.  However I am a bit hurt that you didn\’t compliment my shoes. Why is that?  I really took that picture just for you! ; )  Do you think it is coincendental that I do this kind of work just so I don\’t have to wear high heels?

  12. Wahzat says:

    I\’ll have to say that you did a hell of a job dealing! And I second what Mercy O said chocolate and a funny movie definitely mood lifter!
     
    Have a great week!

  13. Gina says:

    Your "Don\’t Cry Over Spilled Milk" mentality was a very cool, calm, and collected type of move!  Perfect for the situation you were in.

  14. Dawn says:

    quick on your feet…

  15. Stacy says:

    Way to think on the go.  I would have died of embarrassment.  Keep on smiling and take one day at a time.
     
    -S.

  16. Cheryl says:

    Hope you feel better real fast but in between then and now we are all here listening.  Take care my friend…

  17. Sandy says:

    Happy Halloween!!!!
     
    Raven

  18. Jaysey says:

    Well…on the upside, I didn\’t miss much while I was at the convent! 😉  Good call on the clip.  At least you weren\’t all gassy and needing to go to the bathroom if you know what I mean…that\’s the worst…

  19. Jaysey says:

    It\’s the commute back and forth–25 miles out in the opposite direction of my school, 25 miles back, and then the regular drive to work–4 days a week…it takes up a lot of time, and it\’s a hassle.  The students are really good because they\’re (obviously) the high-achievers.

  20. Sheryl-Ann says:

    You know your students very well, KM.  They would have had a field day if you had lost your cool.  You handled it beautifully!  Hope you are feeling much better now……And this too shall pass.  Take care and enjoy the rest of the week.

  21. Tracy says:

    Haha, that is so funny that the student raised her hand and told you in the middle of your class!  Nice job using the clip and then the safety pin! 

  22. Alicia says:

    And you always deal so well, my friend!!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!

  23. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    KM,
     
    You were right to just find a temporary solution and go on.  Students your age are tougher on teachers than my elementary were…but they are still brutally honest…lol.  I\’ve had to do the same, except it involved a hem on a new dress.  I used masking tape on it.  I had the students work on a project and just carefully sat in my desk, out of their view and fixed it.  At that age, you just say, "Thanks for spotting that. I will fix it while you…"  After that, I bought one of those dollar store sewing kits and kept it in my desk.

  24. Christine says:

    I had a pair of scrub pants catch on the teacher mailboxes one day.  I not only tore my pants and had to hold them together with masking tape, I also cut my leg on them.  My principal (the reason I quit that job after 7 years) couldn\’t understand when I asked to leave after all my work was done (only about 45 minutes early).  There is only so long one can work in masking taped pants (I had been working that almost all day, bit I had several students with serious medical needs and couldn\’t leave til they were taken care of).
    I hope you are feeling better and the "funk" is lifting.  There is an expression "Nothing good happens in October."  It has been that sort of October for me, as well.  🙂
     
    Christine

  25. Cindy says:

    If you want something fun to do…..leave an answer to the question I posted on my site!
    Cindy

  26. K says:

    LOL… Grace under Pressure…
     
     

  27. CJ says:

    With these cooler temps, a cardigan tied around the waist (fashionably) can come in quite handy!

Leave a Reply

