An Interesting Day

What She Wore: blue jeans; white, waffle-weave henley; red sweat shirt; red snow boots.  Next week I’ll try to get back to putting up photos of my shoes.  Right now, I’m struggling with the best way to photograph boots. 

Today, we had an interesting speaker.  I wouldn’t say he was AWESOME–but he did make me think.  He kept saying, "you went into teaching to touch people’s lives."  I think he made a faulty assumption.  I really like my job, and I like the people I work with, but I never thought I’d be "touching people’s lives."  I don’t mean that in a negative way–I just think it’s a prett bold statement for a day’s work.  I just try to teach, to respect, and to lead by example.  Anything else is just gravy. 


 
Recently, Mr. K and I showed our class an episode of NUMB3RS, and in order to get them ready, I had to explain a little bit about the Holocaust.  Only two kids in my first period had even heard of the Holocaust.  The thing that surprises the kids the most?  That people other than African Americans can be discriminated against.  I think we’re doing them a real injustice by not making this clear sooner.  But that’s just my opinion.


 Today, during the speaker, Mr. K started writing in a little journal.  Of course, being the nosy-rosy that I am, I had to know what he was up to.  Apparently, when he gets a little time, he writes memories and messages to each of his daughters.  That way, they’ll always have a piece of "daddy."  His wife’s father passed away a few years ago, and that’s when he got the idea.  I think that’s one of the coolest things I’ve heard in a while.  Just think, you could even put it in a blog if you wanted!!!!
 
Hope your day is good–tomorrow, I have the day off.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to An Interesting Day

  1. Hollie says:

    I found it a bit shocking that in the US more isnt taught about WW2 earlier, here in Canada Roo who is in grade  already knows about not only WW2 but then again she is the great granddaughter of a POW. She leaned first hand from family the value of every life and what some can do if we arent nice to each other–I think knowing has and is helping her to develop compassion at an early age. If yr kids need a lesson in oppression they only need to get a more global view..something I have found is a challenge for kids from lower income enviroments, they always seem to have more pressing things to worry about or learn like survival.

  2. Stacy says:

    I am so impressed with that.  I tried to journal, but it never really caught on with me.  I\’m not sure why blogging is so much more appealing to me, but it is.  I just wish that I could save it somewhere so that it doesn\’t get lost or deleted and my kids never get to read it.
     
    -S.

  3. Becca says:

    What a great blog today, KM. I can\’t believe that there are kids that don\’t know about the holocaust. How sad is that. I am glad that you are teaching them. They need to know. And the blogging for his children is such a good idea. I think that he is going to leave such great memories for his daughters that way.
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  4. Sheryl-Ann says:

    That is a really neat idea!  Mr. K\’s kids will really appreciate his thoughtfulness later on in life.  I wrote in a journal during an especially tough time in my life.  It made me feel better, gave me hope, and just put things into perpsective for me.  Eventually, I started feeling better and then knew exactly what direction I want to take my life.  I was so scared that someone would find that journal, that I destroyed it a couple years ago.

  5. Cindy says:

    The journal is a wonderful idea! How thoughtful of Mr. K to do such a small, yet significant thing for his daughters. We should all be so lucky!
    Cin

  6. Aimee says:

    i wish i had the day off…
    :o) smiles are contagious…pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t… :o)

  7. Sarah says:

    That is unreal that the kids didn\’t know about the hollocaust. That reminds me…when I was in middle school I read this book called Zlata\’s Diary and it was about a girl around my age at the time living in Sarajavo when all the unrest was (and still is I guess) happening there. It was very very good and I remember it to this day.
     
    That is so nice that Mr. K is writing things to his daughters. Take it from someone who lost her dad, I treasure even little scraps of paper with his handwriting on them. I used to listen to recordings of this voice talking to doctors over and over just to hear him (he had tumors in his brain so he couldn\’t remember what drs told him so he took a tape recorder in with him). Things that Mr. K is actually saying directly to his daughters will be treasured by them! Give him a pat on the back!

  8. Jaysey says:

    G.\’s mom is working on recording her memoirs for her children.  I think it\’s a really cool idea.  One day her grandchildren and great-grandchildren will be able to read those stories and know what life was like for their ancestors.  It\’s family history, and I think it\’s such a shame we don\’t record it more often.

  9. Alicia says:

    How awesome to have a day off!  I like what Mr. K is doing…perhaps I will start doing that for Laine…
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  10. Nadine says:

     Maybe "touching" the child\’s life wasn\’t your primary goal, but you do. Think about some of the kids that come back to see you becuz they want to say "Hi". You left an impression on them. Think of all the people that come here to read what you are up to and what you wore for the day….You left an impression on us!!
     
     Don\’t sell yourself short!!
     
     Put one boot sideways for a side view and the other turned backwards so we can see the heel.

  11. Cheryl says:

    Good blog….I don\’t think 9 knows about the Holocaust yet.  I guess we all touch peoples lives.  There are teacherfs and then there are speakers….On a different wave length.

  12. Hilary says:

    Wow!  Someone mentioned Zlata\’s Diary, I had read that book a long time ago, and I had almost forgotten about it!Anyways…my mom teaches writing to college students and she was amazed to learn that the bulk of them had almost no idea of what happened during the Holocaust.  One guy said his history book devoted one chapter to it and that\’s it.  So sad, I am not a fan of harping on things over and over, but to not know at all?  How sad.  I went to the Holocaust Museum in Washington DC a few years ago, and it was so depressing…I can\’t believe students wouldn\’t know about that.  Oh well…Lastly, even if you aren\’t trying to touch lives consciously, I am sure you are.  Just having a teacher that respects you and looks for the best in you can make such a huge difference in those formative years.

  13. Hilary says:

    Oops, I realized that I wrote one chapter, he said his book only devoted one paragraph to it.  Ooops! 🙂

  14. Antonella says:

    Well, that\’s definately not what most teachers go into teaching for, but that\’s what the good ones end up doing. You never forget the really good teachers you had, you always remember! I\’m sure your students will remember you!
    Hope all is well and have a great weekend,
    Antonella

  15. siobhan says:

    That is shocking that they don\’t know anything about the Holocaust.  It\’s a good thing that they have you.  I like that idea of Mr. K\’s.  That is kind of what my blog is I guess, since I tell a lot of stories about my tornado!!  🙂
    Siobhan

  16. Dawn says:

    great entry..
     
    I might just have to copy Mr.K\’s idea…I keep a journal but maybe I should personalize it a bit more to each of my kids.

  17. Nora says:

    That is very interesting.  Learning about the holocaust  was life shaping for me.  I think that is sweet about Mr. K.  I think mothers are more likely to do that sort of thing, his girls will really treasure something like that from daddy.  Have a great weekend!

  18. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    KM,
     
    That was a wonderful idea about the journal! 
     
     

  19. CJ says:

    I have started memory albums for my sons.  Each page is dedicated to a particular memory and at the bottom of each page is a small envelope.  Inside the envelope is a handwritten note of my personal memory of that day and time.  At the back of the book is a video tape where I\’ve taken clips from videos over all the years, done some editing and put it all together in one tape.  I try (I really suck at it though!) to keep it up to date.  It\’s a shame young people don\’t know as much history as they should.  How are we supposed to avoid making the same historical mistakes if we have no knowledge of what\’s passed before?  You may not be setting out to intentionally touch others lives, but through your actions you do just that.  In a very positive way.  I think it\’s awesome!

  20. Sue says:

    It doesn\’t surprise me regarding the kids in your class.  I have met so many like that who are now in their 20\’s and STILL don\’t know.  They just look at me in amazement when I try to explain to them that they are not the only ones. 
     
    The journal idea is FABULOUS!  What a great dad!  I spreading that idea around. 
     
    : ) Sue

  21. Wahzat says:

    That is such a cool idea of Mr. K. keeping a journal for his daughters! Neat!!
     
    I agree that more of the histories the the peoples that make the US what it is should be mandatory study for it\’s children. I was always shocked while at college how I knew more of the US history than the American students.
     
    I hope you had a great day-off and that you had a nice relaxing weekend!!
    Wahzat!!

  22. Wahzat says:

    Oh I thought of you this weekend… when I got my daughter to stop crying, by telling her that she could wear a pair of shoes that up until that point I thought were too big. She was peaches and creme from that point on with her new shoes on, no tears at all.
    Have a great week!

  23. Nooner™ says:

    I should do something like that too (the memories and the messages in writing). Mr. K is wonderful to be doing that. My grandmother had a small leather-bound journal that she used to jot down motivational quotes she would come across. It is especially nice to now have "a little book" in her penmanship of these."
    Reading the words "waffle weave henley" instantly took me back in time to my teens. I enjoyed the sport of Crew and was a regular rower on the Schukyll River down in Philadelphia (the Schukyll River flows by center city Philadelphia and into the Delaware River). Henley is the name of a town in England on the Thames and is the site of a famous annual regatta named the Henley Royal Regatta. I never went; I just know about it. The regatta I enjoyed going to every year is the largest collegiate regatta in the USA and is called the Dad Vail Regatta. Ten very picturesque boat houses line up below the magestic Philadelphia Art Museum (you may remember the museum steps from the Rocky movies) and is known as Boathouse Row. I\’m guessing that a "waffle weave henley" means it is fancier than a tee and has a crew collar.
    ~Nooner~

  24. Karla says:

    If I was our "friend" who hated "He\’s just not that into you", I might be reading something into the fact that "the guy" asked me if he was going to see me at the Bama game. Good thing I am not our friend.

    Please call me. I want to catch up.

  25. Tracy says:

    Aw that is so cute about Mr K and the notes.  You could do it in a blog.  I am not big on journaling so that is why I like my blog, it\’s like a journal, and one day I need to go thru and print out everything so that I can read if it I want.  Of course I might want to burn it and forget about some of those days, lol!! 
     
    Interesting that the kids were surprised others could be discriminated against.  I love your school stories!

  26. Carol says:

    Two big thumbs up on the journal idea!  There are so many thoughts that pass in and out of the mind every day.  It wouldn\’t be any trouble at all to throw a small notebook in my purse.
    As for the Holocaust, how important it is to know that you are not alone.  It must have meant a lot to some of those kids to hear that others experience discrimination. 

  27. ...And The Little Minion says:

    One of my main reason for blogging is to record events and stories about my kids to share with them when they are older. There is so much that I want to remember and share with them when they are older that I think having a blog that they can read about when they are little will be something to treasure.

  28. Jennifer says:

    Does he give these notes to his daughters as he writes them, or does he just keep the journal for them to have years later?

Leave a Reply

