Famous Last Words

What She Wore: Pink, long sleeve tee; denim pencil skirt; pink uggs.  I know people think those shoes are ugly, but they are damn comfortable.

You should NEVER mention how things seem to be rather run-of-the-mill.  That is inevitable when the sheet will hit the fan.  Case in point, today. 
 
Mr. K was out getting some desegregation training ( I have no idea what was involved), so I was running classes alone.  Usually, I do cute intro activities, go over tests, and a lot of individual work.  Rarely, do I run an entire class by myself.  I’ve done this in the past, but my current job description doesn’t include as much of this.  The kids arrived, discerned that Mr. K was missing, and started to get a little crazy.  No big deal, I put the breaks on that PRONTO.  Then, a stranger with a visitor pass walks into class.  I come over to say "hi," and she introduces herself as one of the student’s parents.  She’d come to observe.  Now, I have no problem with this–I, in fact, welcome parents in the classroom, but this was definitely a strange day. It was also the first time this has ever happened to me.  The class she decided to visit had a total of FIVE announcements during class.  This never happens–NEVER.  Also, each announcement required that I send particular things to the office in a particular way.  So, I’m distracted, confused, and feeling a little self-conscious with another adult in the room.  There were some fits, some general confusion, but I made it through the lesson, and the parent left saying that she’d learned something.  Whew.
 
I was grateful that my calmer class was coming up next.  We got started, things were moving along nicely, and suddenly a WASP appeared in the room.  Now, usually wasps stay high and avoid people.  Not this wasp.  He crawled along the back wall sending my students running in the opposite direction.  Then, a genius child decided to take his binder and go after it.  He swung, knocked a Pi poster to the ground, and succeeded in really pissing off the wasp.  It began buzzing all over the room and the kids were running and squealing at this point.  I call the office for some one to bring some spray, and then I open the door to look for the person that should be coming.  At that point, more than half the class ran into the hall.  Pandemonium, I tell you.  After our friendly custodian killed the wasp, we spent the next ten minutes cleaning poison off of desks, books, and the floor. 
 
It was a crazy day I tell you.  Here’s hoping tomorrow is a bit calmer. 
 
KM 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Famous Last Words

  1. Dena Marie says:

    Ugh! That reminds me of when I had an unexpected visit from the dean during a class period when one of my older students decided to (to use a southern phrase) \’pitch a fit.\’ In the moment, I was really embarassed; but thankfully, the episode just showed off how well I handle situations of that nature. I\’m sure your parent-visitor thought the same of you.  🙂
    –DM

  2. CJ says:

    Well here\’s to throwing a little wasp in the ointment to liven things up a little!  If nothing else, it makes a great story in the retelling!  Have a peaceful evening, tomorrow should be better. 😉

  3. Hollie says:

    I really hope that tomorrow is a better day….I actually just walked in from school a wee bit ago(9pm)…there was a meeting for us introducing the Second Step program that the school is implementing…have you heard of it? Well it is about social skills and problem solving –supposed to help our kids learn those skill, we will see how it goes. You have the best stories…
     
     

  4. tassietoo says:

    Sounds like you "jinxed" yourself, LOL!  Come on by, I could use your opinion on my latest post…Thanks!

  5. Tracy says:

    That is funny.  I guess it takes the crazy days for us to appreciate the uneventful days!!!

  6. Stacy says:

    The parent in the room thing, you did a great job.  I could handle that as well, though I am not sure I would have been as calm.  However, the wasp thing – Forget it.  I would have been the one out in the hall waiting for the janitor.
     
    -S.

  7. Jaysey says:

    At least you made it through!  Today\’s another day–hope it goes better, calmer!

  8. Nadine says:

     There are certain people that are so terrified of wasps that they run with their arms flailing about…..my ex hubby…..which just mad the wasp madder….though I think the wasp and all other wasp that crossed pathes with him liked to tease him….and chase him…."HEHEHE watch that fat guy run" in their own waspy way.
     I tried to tell him to just leave it be and they will not bother you…..but they are drawn to him….I think in the WaspWomb they are programed to go for the fat guy that runs…….I have never seen a man more deathly afraid of such a small thing!!! They may just teach a class in WaspFlightSchool to target those type people!!
     What do you think???

  9. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Good Lord.  What a day.  I would however welcome a wasp over most parents, myself included.:)

  10. Becca says:

    Oy! What a day! I hope that today is better for you!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  11. Gina says:

    These kinda days make run of the mill days seem like heaven. 

  12. Dawn says:

    I own the Sex in the City entire serise…I love it…
     
    Loved this entry….I know how my kids react to a wasp I can\’t even imagine a whole class reacting that way….

  13. Tiffany says:

    That\’s a great story… I\’m glad that no one got stung and you seemed to keep everything under control!  :0)
    Hope you are having a great week!
     
    Tiffany

  14. Carol says:

    That sounds like a Three Stooges movie with things falling and the wasp buzzing.  I can just see Curly going crazy with the wasp flying under his shirt.

  15. Cheryl says:

    It sounds exhausting but hillarious.  To bad nobody was video taping the whole thing.  LOL

  16. Elizabeth says:

    Your day was definitely more exciting than mine was.  I can\’t imagine all those kids going nuts like that.  You must have nerves of steel. 😉

  17. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I would have been the first out in the hall if a wasp was in the classroom!  I once bugged an entire nest of wasps (encouraged by my brothers) and paid the price with a few stings.  I haven\’t messed with these things since!  Take care and hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  18. Karla says:

    Seriously… your life is like a a mini sitcom. Maybe you should think about keeping it all down in a journal and one day make it into a screenplay or short novel.By the way, these days I am a crappy crappy blogger.

  19. Sarah says:

    When things start to go differently, it is almost a sure bet that more and more things will happen to throw you off! Sounds like you made it through the day, and now it\’s the weekend!

  20. siobhan says:

    OMG!!!  A wasp in the room?!?!?  I am terrified of them.  I would not have been setting a good example for the kids because I would have been FREAKIN\’!!!!!  Sounds like you had one of those days! 
    Siobhan

  21. Alicia says:

    I would\’ve run around screaming like a girl!!  Oh wait…I AM a girl!!  LOL
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  22. Sandy says:

    I got stung by one of those little sob\’s, right on the thumb.  I had a slight allergic reaction to it.  My tumb swelled up so much that I could not type.  It really hurt!  I would not have screamed, I would have just ran out the door.
     
    Raven

  23. Toni says:

    Okay. Took me a minute to catch up from where I left off. First, I love "Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs". It\’s one of my favorites. Second, I hate when a brand new pair of pants rip. Nothing ticks me off more. Okay, that\’s a lie. And third, I hope you are feeling a little better–I think you wrote a couple weeks back you were battling demons–and that\’s no fun. Just wanted to say that it was so wonderful to read all your friendly comments and advice when I was going through my little…whatever they\’re called.
    Lately I\’m a little down about still NOT being pregnant! Honestly, it happened so EASILY when it was the last thing in the world I wanted. Now, here I am, ready and willing and trying my darndest! Are you guys still "trying"?
    Hope things are well with you and your family. Take care~Toni

  24. Unknown says:

    I saw WASP and thought "Hmmmm now what was a White Anglo-Saxon Protestant doing in her class.?" Perhaps bible thumping? Then ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh the bug…see the duh mindset I\’m in?
     
    Oh boy I need coffee,
    hugs,
    Mercy

  25. Julie says:

    Hehehe, aahhh, teaching.  Gotta love it!

Leave a Reply

