Scene Two

What She Wore: Grey LSU t-shirt; jean capris; slip-on tennis shoes.  Oh, so glamorous. 

I started the movie about my life a while back, and Karla reminded me that it is practically a sit-com, so here’s scene two.  If you need to go back click here.
 

Screenplay, Part Two

 

At this point, our main character has graduated.  She is now sitting at a round table—probably at a Mexican food restaurant with an older man (dad), younger man (brother), and older woman (mom).  Both men are wearing ties.  The woman is dressed conservatively.  There is general activity while people dip chips, put marinated carrots on plates, and sip their drinks.  

 

Mom: So, Katy, what are your friends doing after graduation? 

 

Katy: Well, Cat and Jackie are going to law school, Emma’s gotten a job with that company in New Orleans, Jennifer’s going to grad school, and Alexa getting her PhD at Vanderbilt. 

 

Dad: And what about you, Katy?  Are you going to start studying for your LSATs anytime soon?

 

Brother: Yeah, sis, when are you going join the family business?  He straightens his tie.

 

Katy: Actually, I thought I’d try teaching for a while. 

 

There is a general silence at the table.  After great pause, Dad clears his throat.

 

Dad: You know, Katy, I don’t think you’re going to make a lot of money doing that.

 

Katy: I know that, but I just don’t feel ready to go to law school.

 

Mom: Do you have a job already?

 

Katy: I’ve accepted a position at Central.

 

More silence.

 

Mom (concerned look on her face): Central?  Are you sure you don’t want to try to get a job at a private school?

 

Katy: It’s very hard to get a job at a private school, and the pay is so low I’d probably have to keep living at home.  I know that working at Central will be difficult, but I really think I can do it.

 

Dad: Well, Katy, we’re behind you whatever you decide. 

 

Mom (concerned look still there): And if it’s horrible, don’t think you have to keep doing it.  We’re here for you, sweetie. 

 

Katy: I’m sure it’ll be just fine.

 

KM

 

PS: I think it’s important to note that this is NOT a true story.  It’s like my life, but it’s very condensed.  My parents really are great–they just thought I was going to be lawyer.

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Scene Two

  1. Sheryl-Ann says:

    This is good KM…….nice movie:)   We cannot blame parents for having dreams for their kids.  However, the important thing is that they support us in whatever we decide to do.  Hope you are enjoying the weekend.  The temps have taken a downward turn so I am chilling indoors.

  2. Nadine says:

     I thinkyou would be great at what ever you did or do…..you are good with the kids. I wonder what sort of attorney you would be….defense…..family law….oil and gas…..PA???
     I know you would be a snappy dresser!!

  3. Nadine says:

     I thinkyou would be great at what ever you did or do…..you are good with the kids. I wonder what sort of attorney you would be….defense…..family law….oil and gas…..PA???
     I know you would be a snappy dresser!!

  4. Nadine says:

     I thinkyou would be great at what ever you did or do…..you are good with the kids. I wonder what sort of attorney you would be….defense…..family law….oil and gas…..PA???
     I know you would be a snappy dresser!!

  5. Nadine says:

     I thinkyou would be great at what ever you did or do…..you are good with the kids. I wonder what sort of attorney you would be….defense…..family law….oil and gas…..PA???
     I know you would be a snappy dresser!!

  6. Nadine says:

     Funny story…..let\’s just say…..the add button wouldn\’t work and when it did…………..LOVE YA!!

  7. Karla says:

    HAHAHAHA….. had your brother gotten to the tie-wearing part of his life when we were seniors? For some reason I still think of him as wearing dreads. When we started college, who would have thought that of the two of you, your brother would be the one who would follow in the family business. Seriously… ironic.

  8. Karla says:

    What do you think is the closest show out there that describes us/our "show"? I almost want to say SATC because of the whole smart, intelligent, go-after-what-you-want women (all in different stages of life/career) with this great, support, bitchy, say what\’s on your mind, close friendships, minus all that messed up relationships and sluttiness freakiness of course.Also, what is the title of your sitcom? Every show needs a title.

  9. CJ says:

    Sounds like you have wonderful parents.  Amazing how our visions for our lives can be so different from theirs, and yet in the end, somehow it all works out!

  10. Hollie says:

    My parents were just excited that I was going to university. I was the first person in my family to go on to higher learning…so there were no real expectations and I think you make a great teacher.
     
    Hollie

  11. Carol says:

    It sounds like your choice was tough for your parents to take.  Especially teaching at a public school.  I wwas glad to see the happy ending though.

  12. Becca says:

    It is nice but it is their dream, and this at this moment is yours, and you are darn good at it!
     
    Live your dream!
    Becca

  13. Stacy says:

    You sound like a wonderful teacher.  Great choice of career.  BTW, what did they think you were doing in school for 4 years?
     
    -S.

  14. Cheryl says:

    I thought your parents handled your choice well.  Some day you might want to switch careers but you have a lifetime to decide…

  15. Nooner™ says:

    Judge: "You are entitled to Legal Defense, Mr. Nooner. Do you have a lawyer who will be representing you?".
    Nooner: "Yes, your honor, she\’s the one just entering the Courtroom now. She\’s scurrying down the aisle, as you can see.  The one over there wearing the LSU t-shirt, jean capris, and slip-on tennis shoes".
    Judge: "Counselor? How do plead for you defendent, Mr. Nooner?"
    KM: "Your Honor .. I\’ve pleaded with him too many times. He just won\’t change his outfit! He\’s been wearing those out-of-fashion boat shoes for decades now!"

  16. Tracy says:

    Well good for you for doing what YOU wanted! I think it\’s worked out well for ya!  🙂  I have that problem in my family too, some of them thought I should continue school, and get my CPA.  In fact when my sister found about about my divorce, she was like oh you should go back to school.  Huh? Why would I do that? LOL, family!!!  Hope you have a good weekend!!

  17. Aimee says:

    lol…sometimes what they think and what you want are two different things…
    :o) smiles are contagious…pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t… :o)

  18. Christine says:

    There was a song in the late 60\’s or early 70\’s about feeding your children on your dreams but accepting the choices they make.  It seems to fit in a lot with what happens with most parents and children.  The most important thing we can do for our children is accept the choices they make and continue to love them and support them EVEN IF we DISAGREE witht those choices.  That is SO hard to do!  I am glad you survived your day with the parent in the class and the wasp, and keep us posted on the "screenplay of your life".  I hope Hubs is well.  BTW…what happened with Teacher in Heels?  Nothing new there.
     
    Christine

  19. Unknown says:

    Ahhhhh….my families business was selling insurance. How droll….lol. I\’m glad you picked teacher, it suits you.
     
    I\’m in a blog funk….
    hugs,
    Mercy

  20. Nora says:

    Could be worse, they could have expected nothing from you. ; )  I am sure they are proud, you are fabu!  I mean look at what you did the day before. 

  21. Jaysey says:

    Law\’s loss…you\’re a great teacher.

  22. Unknown says:

    Hello. I just wanted to comment on your nice website. It is very interesting and thank you so much for sharing it. I like the photos and content very much.
    Best wishes,
    Charlie

Leave a Reply

