I am HOT!

What She Wore: blue jeans; blue tee with old paint stains, trusty tennis shoes. 

I am hot under the collar today.
 
This morning (a Saturday) I awoke at seven o’clock, so that I could go to a local elementary school and volunteer my services.  It’s Sharefest–a day that many local churches participate in–a day where we go to area schools and do various things at the school’s request.
 
I volunteered for the mural commitee–I like painting, and I’ve done murals before, so I figured perfect.  The school wanted four different murals done, but we didn’t have enough people, so we had to decide not to do one.  I worked in a special ed room (gotta represent)–we had a design that the school’s art teacher had sketched with bears and alphabet blocks.  In the other two rooms, there was no set design–the teachers had requested that there be elephants and books above the alphabet. 
 
We worked for three and a half hours to get the murals painted. 
 
After the murals were completed, some of the teachers came by to examine the work that had been done in their classroom.  They decided that they did not like the murals and asked us if we could paint over them.  CAN YOU BELEIVE THE NERVE OF THESE PEOPLE?  Apparently, there had been a miscommunication–they already had an alphabet on the top of the blackboard, and they wanted just books and elephants painted above that.  Our team had painted the alphabet as well.  They thought that was too babyish for a third grade and a fifth grade classroom.  They said our kids already know the alphabet.
 
Here’s where my rant begins:
First, the alphabet is NEVER babyish–it is used by many high-functioning adults on a regular basis.  Plus, they already have the alphabet in the classroom–they didn’t think it was babyish then.
 
Second, the kids don’t know the alphabet that well–I’ve got kids that enter MY classroom (seventh and eighth grade) who don’t have a good grasp on letter sounds.  Perhaps they are in need of a refresher.
 
Third, have they never heard of the term graciousness?  Is it a foreign concept?  I was raised to NEVER comment on a gift I was given.  NEVER.  Basic, run-of-the-mill manners.  These people waltz in, insult the work that was done and then ASK US TO DO MORE WORK BY PAINTING OVER IT. 
 
The worst part was that we didn’t even get to do all the murals we were asked to do–we didn’t have enough people. 
 
Everyone on the mural teams got disgusted and left.  I have no idea if they got anyone to paint over them or not–frankly, I doubt anyone would. 
 
Did we do the right thing?  I think probably not, but I resisted telling some people off!  Argh.
 
KM
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I am HOT!

  1. CJ says:

    I bow to your graciousness!  You did much better than I could have, I would have been the one telling them off.  You took a stand.  To my mind, you did do the right thing.  If they felt they could do better, then the more power to them.  You just cleared the floor so they could take over and do it their way.  If they chose not to, then it\’s out of your hands.  Now, didn\’t I tell you I was mouthy?  LOL.  Go cool down and enjoy the rest of your weekend. 

  2. Karla says:

    HAHA… when I read the title I thought the theme was going to be more along the lines of the "I am hot…. (you fill in the rest of the line)" theme from the wedding, don\’t ask why. Have you checked out the shoes yet? (every time I see them, I swoon again). I have myself set up on the couch with my computer and papers, SUPPOSEDLY working on my thesis, with football on the in the background. Perfect. Also, as of like 10 minutes ago, Ark was tied with Mississippi State. I am seriously hoping they lose, which would mean that if we won next week that would mean a 3-way tie in the West and LSU would likely end up in the Championship game, redemption against Fl and the Sugar Bowl. Hey, a girl can dream.

  3. ncjenn2nd says:

    Goodness gracious.  I cannot believe the nerve of those teachers.  They ought not to be teachers if that is the kind of attitude they have.  Teachers should be kind people who want to help (the way you did) and want to teach others how to help.  Yeah, the book stuff is important too, but in society kids come in contact more with their teachers than other adults.  Sometimes even more than their parents.  Therefore, teachers should teach common niceness, but how can they do that when they possess none?!!!  If I had been one of those teachers and hated what was painted, then I would have told the painters thank you, I appreciated their time and hard work.  Then when they were gone, I would have painted over it or added my own touches to make it something I liked, and I would have crossed my fingers that the people who painted it never found out, cause if someone is nice enough to take a Saturday off and work, then they deserve some respect!  You totally did the right thing!

  4. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Like you, I think that was plain rude.  These people should have come in and thanked you guys.  Even though they thought the alphabet was babyish (which it isn\’t cause we use it everyday), they should have just commended you guys for your hard work and effort.  Don\’t let it bother you, KM – some people just don\’t know any better.

  5. Nooner™ says:

    Good for you that you volunteered to do the murals. Perhaps the teacher group has had second thoughts, and your work still stands. Let\’s hope so.
    ~Nooner~

  6. Karla says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY you SM!!!!

  7. Karla says:

    Happy Birthday you SM!!!!

  8. Stacy says:

    Apparently their parents never taught them manners.  My kids have been told since they were itty that even if they don\’t like the present they receive (Christmas, Birthday, Whatever) they are to say thank-you and appreciate what they got because they could have gotten nothing.  There of course have been things they didn\’t like, but I never knew it until after we got home and they asked if they could exchange it. 
     
    I think that I would probably wirte a note (annonomously (sp?)) to the school and let them know what happened and that your committee will not be returning next year.  Then you should do your community service somewhere that appreciates it.
     
    -S.

  9. Sarah says:

    They must be crazy! If they had an exact idea of what they wanted, they should have done up a sketch so it was done as they wanted it to look. Even if if wasn\’t exactly as they had imagined, why would you ever tell someone who had just worked on something for hours to paint over it?!?! Crazy I tell you!

  10. Jaysey says:

    That\’s ridiculous.  Good for you for resisting the urge.  I would\’ve thrown a paint brush at somebody.  When my friend Hedge got swicthed from third to 4th grade at the last minute and had to get a new classroom that was dirty and gross, I went in to help her clean, paint, and decorate.  She was the most grateful person ever…even bought us pizza!  Those teachers should be ashamed of themselves.

  11. Becca says:

    After all your work, they wanted you to paint over it? I would have walked away, too. How rude, and tactless. Not of you, but of them, to make that comment.
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  12. Aimee says:

    lol…hope things get better for you…
    :o) smiles are contagious…pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t… :o)

  13. Dawn says:

    yep….you\’re a better women then I …..I wouldn\’t have been able to keep my mouth shut…..some people have more nerve then a bum tooth…

  14. Nadine says:

     That is pretty nervy!! If they wanted something or not….they should have voiced it before it was done. What the phrase…do not look a gift horse in the mouth??? Not sure but it seems to fit!!!
     
    I would have walked out and left it too!

  15. Nadine says:

     That is pretty nervy!! If they wanted something or not….they should have voiced it before it was done. What the phrase…do not look a gift horse in the mouth??? Not sure but it seems to fit!!!
     
    I would have walked out and left it too!
     You want me to come down and kick some ass??

  16. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I am sorry to hear about your good work being treated indifferently.  But arrogant americans seem to no longer employ manners.  I say this because I had 2 sets of customers leave the restaurant Saturday night because they were unable to sit in a section that was closed.  Not only did they leave but they were VERY upset with me.  People seem to think they have rights they really do not have.  Our society continues to become more boorish.  We are moving backwards instead of ahead!

  17. Wahzat says:

    It is a pity that you went there out of the generousity of your heart and walked away pissed!! That is just sucky!!
    Sorry that it turned out that way!
     
    Hey was your birthday yesterday?! Well Happy Birthday too You !! (Picture me singing and doing a dance)
     
    Hope you have a great week all the same!

  18. Tiffany says:

    Sounds to me like they were being a little ungrateful.  You guys put a lot of work in to that!  I think you did the right thing…. at least that\’s what I would\’ve done!  Hope you are having a great week and enjoy your Thanksgiving!
     
    Tiffany

  19. Cheryl says:

    OMG…how ungrateful….I also would have walked out and sent a letter to the principal.  Notthat it would have done any good but at least it would have been a way to let someone know how ungrateful they were.  We also need murals and surely would not complain….  Come on over.  LOL

  20. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    KM,
     
    I can appreciate your response and don\’t think you did anything wrong.  If they can\’t be clear on what they want ahead of time, or there to let you know before you start, it isn\’t your fault.  Expecting you to change things, after donating YOUR free time, is so INCONSIDERATE, and so is not appreciating your being there in the first place!  I would write the school principle about it.  I would also have told that woman that she was being inconsiderate and unappreciative before I left.  Maybe others already experienced their lack of consideration and that is why there weren\’t more volunteers.

  21. David says:

    I completely agree with you guys…I would have laid my paint brush down and walked out.  And then written a letter, telling them why it\’ll be a few years before you come back.
     
    !%&!#$#%!$%$&@#$@!@#$ bastards.
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  22. CJ says:

    Just stopping in to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving.  Like most everybody I expect I\’ll be doing some last minute scrambling to get everything in order before family comes in.  Best wishes to you and yours.

  23. KENT says:

    I would have been indignant, probably downright mad.  I\’m glad you handled it the way you did,  that you didn\’t stoop to their level.  It would be good to wirte a letter explaining the situation.  I\’m sorry they weren\’t greatful for someone who is so willing to volunteer.  The world is in need of people who are willing to give acts of service.  You have my respect!  🙂  Kent

Leave a Reply

