A year older

What She Wore: black gauchos; black leather boots; white, long-sleeve henley with a deep v-neck; grey undershirt with a little sparkly star on it.  I seriously need to do some laundry.


Sometime over the weekend I aged another year.  I also had a pretty interesting church service on Sunday.  People were being baptized.  Being baptized is completely different in the church I currently attend than in the church I grew up in.  Growing up, newborns are sprinkled with water from a birdbath-looking thing.  At my current church, older people are baptized and their stories are told to the congregation. 
 
One of the things that interested me was a little drama the did to prepare us for the baptism.  In the drama, two parents kept talking about the changes that their little girl had undergone in the past year.  That got me thinking real hard. 
 
Did I have a banner year?  Was there a year of great personal achievement for me?  A year where I grew more than others?
 
I leaning distinctly towards no.  I think that instead of having one good year, or one magic moment, I’ve had a lifetime of mini-moments.  A decision here, an event there, a few different choices that put me on paths I didn’t know existed.  Have I changed this year?  I’m not aware of any major difference.  This was the year that I took myself back to the church, this was the year of my first bible study, the year I survived my husband’s deployment, and the year I started this blog.  Will any one of these things stand the test of time?  Who knows.  In reality, I may have missed some major thing that has shaped my life or my personality. 
 
We are all on a journey.  Where is takes us is anybody’s guess.  For me, the point is not to let a year go by without pushing myself to be better.  Like the Hub says, "not walkin’ on water yet."  I strive to be the best version of myself even if I’m not exactly sure how to get there.
 
I guess getting old makes you introspective.
 
KM 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A year older

  1. Stacy says:

    Sometimes you don\’t see the major thing that happened until years later.  You maybe walking through a lesson rightr now that you are unaware of, but will look back in the years to come and say \’Oh, yeah, I see it now!\’
     
    -S.

  2. Hollie says:

    Hey,
     
    You know we truely are all on a journey and some things come into our lives to stay and others to go but they all help us to grow and become who we are to be…great post…
     
    Hollie

  3. Tracy says:

    Good entry!  I don\’t think we have to have huge events to change, a series of small ones is ok!!  Of course I have had a big year – like it or not — I have changed/grown/learned.  Heck you survived the Hub\’s deployment, that is big!!! 
     
    Hope you have a great Turkey Day!

  4. Nadine says:

     Banner year???? Some times things are not landmark events but all added together make a good year…Not everything is life-altering. Banner year?? Your hubby came home safe and sound to share your life…..that is awesome in my book!! The baby question has been approved…..it is just a matter of time….that is another great thing in my book!
     You two are happy….that is great year!!

  5. Becca says:

    Your life is a major event.  You are the story. Make the most of every moment that you are here. Life is those little moments. Not the giant, lit up in lights times. They are the ones that whisper in your ear or your heart.
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  6. David says:

    hahaha…when you GET old, then you\’ll know for sure…but you aren\’t there yet!!!  🙂
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  7. Carol says:

    That sounds like a pretty momentous year to me.  Especially survining your husband\’s deployment.  Plus you started (and kept on) blogging.  Lots of people start.  Not many continue.  Seems like you had quite a year, Katy.  

  8. Jaysey says:

    Getting old definitely makes you get introspective.  Happy late birthday!

  9. THOMAS says:

    I totally agree with Mum. You just don\’t know sometimes for years. I do agree that you always be looking for ways to improve yourself. Just don\’t make yourself crazy doing it.
     
    Buying new clothes doesn\’t count for improvement. 🙂
     
    Tom

  10. Alicia says:

    Thoughtful post, my friend.  You had to have had a birthday??  Or were you meaning you figureateively (sp?) aged??
     
    Hope you have a GREAT Thanksgiving!!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!!

  11. Unknown says:

    Just stopped by to wish you and yours a very Happy Thanksgiving!
     
    Sounds like you did have a banner year afterall!  The question is, will you make sure to have another in the year (and years) to come?  We learn and grow and become better people because of the choices and mistakes we make along the way.  Remember, it\’s all in the way you look at things.
     
    R.

  12. K says:

    Happy late birthday hun… this is the same time of year that I get very introspective as well… as my birthday looms around the corner.  Doing an inventory of myself and my personal growth… well, that is a constant for me but it seems to be even more apparent this time of year, as I get closer to being older…
     
    Happy Thanksgiving hun… to you and yours… there is much to be thankful for these days!
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  13. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I\’ve had a series of events over the years that have changed the way I think and act.  I guess tough times really builds character as well as maturity.  Hoping that you and your family have a lovely and blessed Thanksgiving.

  14. Nooner™ says:

    A belated Happy Birthday, KM!!
    Your year, as I followed it the past 9 months that I have been visiting your space, has seemed pretty exciting to me. I\’ve enjoyed reading about you and what you feel and talk about. I\’m thankful for our visiting each other\’s spaces, and the tolerance of our differences (age, my extreme silliness, our respective views on different things, whatever, etc). May your Thanksgiving be great!
    ~Nooner~

  15. Wahzat says:

    I only have this blog to base on, but it seems to me that you did well this year!
     
    Once again Happy Belated KM!
    Oh by the by the meal looks and sounds scrumptious. Good for you and your husband! Happy Thanksgiving!

  16. PAULETTE says:

    I don\’t have a lot of memories of my mom because she died of cancer when I was four, and most of my "memories" of her are like little snapshots frozen in time, but I DO remember the day she "got dunked".
     
    I have a feeling that Momma came to religion rather late in her short life, but when she did, she did it good, and decided to get baptized.
     
    We got to the church early that day and Momma left me sitting next to my "Daddy Phil" when she went to get ready.  I don\’t remember much after that except the Preacher droned on and on, I got to hold the hymn book, and "writing" on a little pad of paper with one of Daddy Phil\’s pens when I got wiggely.
     
    So far, so good, right?  Then came the part I\’d been waiting for.  My Momma walked out from behind the curtains all dressed in a white robe, and I swear she looked like she was floating.  She sent up to the podium and the Preacher told us how good a woman my momma was, and how brave, and wasn\’t it wonderful that she\’d confessed her sins and decided to get Baptized to insure she went to heaven when she died.  The pianist began  playing "When the Roll is Called Up Yonder I\’ll be There", the Preacher pulled on a cord that opened up to the baptismal font with all his clothes on (I think), walked down into the clear glass or plastic container of water and my Momma walked down into the water to join him.  Everything was still going more or less okay.
     
    Until…he put one arm behind my Momma and with the other hand dunked her under the and THAT was when I came unglued!  Pad, Pen, and hymn book went flying and my new white "patent leather" shoes were climbing past Daddy Phil and everyone else and on up to the Preacher screaming at him to stop killing my Mommie! 
     
    I don\’t remember what happened after that except sobbing in Daddy Phil\’s arms and getting him all wet while Momma went back and changed into her clothes, and him telling me that Momma was fine.
     
    Whoooo-eeeeee, would have been easier if Momma had chosen a religion that believed in sprinkling lol!
     
    Anyway, enjoyed stopping by for a cuppa on my walk along the blog-walk.  I\’m sure I\’ll be back again soon. 

Leave a Reply

