Things I Learned This Holiday

What She Wore: Grey sweat pants, white t-shirt, purple sweat shirt, tennis shoes.

  1. There are people that read this blog that I don’t know about–they e-mail me occasionally to let me know, and every time they do, I smile
  2. Going to Target the day after Thanksgiving is about as wise as shooting yourself in the foot
  3. College football rankings are especially meaningless this year
  4. It is not wise to wait until the next day to wash your holiday dishes
  5. I will never know what to buy my inlaws for Christmas–and my Hubby will never have a good idea
  6. Grocery shopping the day after Thanksgiving is a breeze–much better than Target.
  7. Vacations are NEVER long enough.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Things I Learned This Holiday

  1. Tracy says:

    Ya, you didn\’t find me anywhere near Target or any other stores today!!!  I did go to Home Depot at about 6pm, it wasn\’t bad.  I hadn\’t thought of the grocery stores being empty today, darn I shoulda gone! 
     
    College football is a mess this year.  Ohio State better win the championship.  I am sad that college football is almost over (well, except for the bowl games).  
     
    Aha you gave me one thing to be thankful for — I no longer have to think of a gift for the mother in law, lol!!!  She was impossible to shop for, now it\’s his problem.
     
    No kidding about your comment about the bed thing, to me that\’s something we did in like college, now I am adult and ya friends my crash at my house from time to time.  I mean I guess he doesn\’t live there anymore but it\’s still his room and his stuff in there, until he moves everything out (the bed he uses here is borrowed from a friend).  Oh well,   i guess I just have a hard time trying to understand why A can\’t be an adult, most people have fun being young and crazy but then are glad to grow up. 
     
    And here I am, 9:30 on a Friday and I\’m online and watching 25 yr old episodes of my soap, lol ya I am a dork!!!

  2. Sherrie says:

    4, 5 and 7………..so so so TRUE!  Just thought I\’d drop a line, I do get by to read your space now and then but don\’t always get a chance to post a comment.  Hope you\’re having a great weekend 🙂

  3. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    KM,
     
    Your Thanksgiving table looks lovely and your menu sounded delicious.  You have reminded me why I never went shopping on the day after Thanksgiving…lol.  Have a great weekend!

  4. Sheryl-Ann says:

    That LSU/Arkansas game yesterday was great! What happens now?  They are bowl eligible, right? I think Ohio State will win it all this year, but then one can never say for sure. 
    I had a good laugh at #4 – that was not wise at all:)  I did brave Walmart and Best Buy yesterday but I guess it\’s not as bad as people think in a small town outside of Dallas.  Enjoy the weekend.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I went out to a couple of places yesterday…but not at the butt crack of dawn.  Those people are NUTS!!!!

  6. Hollie says:

    Your feast looked yummy, and well you are so right grocery shopping is a beeze right after turkey day..

  7. Nora says:

    Luckily I was no where near Target yesterday so I wasn\’t even tempted.  We were in a small artsy town and went shopping at little art and gift stores, it was fun.  Your feast looked yummy!

  8. Tracy says:

    Hey, first off you\’re not a maniac with the two trees — my sister-in-law has at least five of them!!! 
     
    "My" soap is General Hospital, been watching it on and off for probably 15 years now.  I had stopped watching, obviously work gets in the way, but thanks to Tivo I can now watch again.  🙂 This week was a special on Soap Net for the 25th anniversary of Luke and Laura\’s wedding.  Of course I was only 3 when it happened but it was still fun to watch the old episodes.

  9. Becca says:

    I would not have been caught dead at Target yesterday! We stayed home!
     
    Both our Oregon teams are bowl bound apparently! yay!
     
    Becca

  10. Stacy says:

    #7 is so true for me.  I can\’t believe that I have to go back to work tomorrow.  Where did my 4 days go?
     
    -S.

  11. tassietoo says:

    Happy late Thanksgiving!  I hope you and the hubs enjoyed your time alone together.

  12. Unknown says:

    Those are all very good lessons learned.  I learned to take lots of drugs with me while traveling 6 hours and 2 states away. I\’m glad to be blog walking again, and msn actually letting me post comments.  What a concept!Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!  God bless 🙂

  13. Big Dog Mom says:

    I went to the grocery the day after Thanksgiving and it was a joyful experience.  No crowds.  Shelves fully stocked.  It\’s one of my most favorite things to do in the world.  Didn\’t go to Target.  Went to a movie instead.  What a wonderful weekend I had.  And I agree about the present for MIL.  I never know what to get her.  Hubby is clueless.  But it doesn\’t matter because she\’s gonna complain about whatever I get her anyway.  So I buy her something I would like . . . and hope that she\’ll give it to me in a few months!  ha, ha, ha!

  14. Unknown says:

    In repsonse to #1 of your list, I stumbled onto your blog by accident and now I am addicted to it! I wish my blog was as lucky as yours!In response to #2 and #6, I am in total agreement! I have learned to do all of my holiday shopping online! Thank the Lord for the Internet!In repsonse to #3, it is sad but true! I am an alumni of Florida State and for the past few football seasons I have been hanging my head in shame.In response to #7, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

