Job Ennui

What She Wore: Khaki pants; white, long-sleeve henley; red, cable-knit, zip-up sweater; red snow boots.  They said it was going to snow today, but it’s mainly just rained.  Maybe later. 

Today I went to a convention downtown for the teachers of students who are learning English as a second language.   i don’t teach students like this right now, but they are often placed in my classes and require much of the same types of help as the special education students do.  There were really interesting presentations and lots of good information.  I scribbled copious notes, and really learned a lot.  But in the sessions I realized something–I have job ennui.  I need a new challenge.  For a long time, the challenge of the job was survival.  Last year, it was discipline.  This year—eh.  I just don’t have that passion for any one thing.  Being an inclusion teacher, I don’t make lesson plans–I follow my kids around and help them.  Last year, I spent a lot of time figuring out the best way to help them.  This year, the core teachers are better at modifying, and I have even less to do.  I have never liked doing something when I didn’t feel needed.  I need a new challenge.  The question now is–what will my new challenge be?

To keep my current job, I need to take special education classes.  Do I want to do this, or do I want to pursue something else?  I really have no idea.  I’ve thought about working with future teachers, I’ve thought about going back and teaching a regular English class, I’ve thought about branching out and doing something else in the education world.  Yikes–so many choices.  Might have to marinate on this one for a while.

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Job Ennui

  1. Christine says:

    Hey Katy,
    Just checking in and catching up.  Sounds like you have had a pretty good week.  Life is a challenge, and the kids at school can pose a new challenge every day.  This is not necessarily your challenge, of course.  Have you thought about working toward being an ETL?  (ETL means educational team leader in this neck of the woods)  You could then coordinate the special ed meetings and write the ed plans….that would be a new challenge, wouldn\’t it?
     
    🙂
     
    Christine

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I\’m all about new challenges these days. Keeps the mind fresh.Keep marinating.  But you know what I thought it said when I first read it?  Keep on margariting.  Yes, it\’s late.

  3. Nooner™ says:

    lol @ Elizabeth and "keep on margariting".  Mine kind of woman.
    We all get itchy after awhile and think of new challenges ahead. Whatever you choose, you\’ll do very well. You are a dedicated person.
    ~Nooner~
     

  4. Tracy says:

    Ya, it sounds like you need to do some thinking!!   A challenge is good, work can get so boring year after year after year that it\’s good to have something to keep you motivated!
     
    Congrats on the one year blog anniversary!!!  Mine is coming up in about a month.  I\’m glad I found yours, although I can\’t even remember how I found it, lol! 
     
    Have a good weekend!

  5. Stacy says:

    Thanks for the new word of the day.  I have never heard that word before so I looked it up.  I often go through times when I feel that same way.  But in my profession (Accounting / Reception / Secretary) there isn\’t a lot that I can change up.  I have thought about taking some evening classes for EMT and such, but it never seems to work out with my kids schedules.  I was just thinking last evening about looking into the community college for something.  Just to do anything.  I feel like I am wasting time.
     
    -S.

  6. Unknown says:

    Hope you find what you are looking for!  But be careful what you wish for!God bless 🙂

  7. CJ says:

    The itch is indicative of an intelligent mind and intelligent minds require growth…which means new challenges.  I kinda like the thought of marinating…makes a body sound kind of enticing somehow!  LOL.  Good thing is this is something you can sleep on (but do you require refrigeration while marinating?)  Have a great weekend!

  8. siobhan says:

    I\’ve always wanted to teach history.  I\’m hoping that when Conor goes back to school that I will to and finish (Finally!)  Hope you sort it out.  I would think that classroom teaching would always be interesting.  The kids are different every year and they all present new challenges. 
    Congrats on your one year blog birthday!  🙂
    Siobhan

  9. Unknown says:

    hi. long time no see. Hope you\’re doing well.  Go for the challenge.  There\’s no life like it
     

  10. Betsy says:

    I\’m at the exact same point with my job.  Want to do something else, need to do something else, no idea what that is.
     
    Is this the part where the fam brings up law school again?

  11. Aimee says:

    sounds like a busy day..
    :o) smiles are contagious…pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t… :o)

  12. Michelle says:

    I found your blog on msn.com this morning while I was bored at work. (approximatly 8:30 am) It is now 3:15 pm and I realized I\’ve spent every spare minute of my day reading all the back entries. This site is now bookmarked as a favorite. Hope you don\’t mind that a complete stranger is reading all about your life.

  13. Ami says:

    I\’m coming to learn that you have to make your own challenges in life much of the time. The grass may seem greener somewhere else, but usually a different perspective on where you\’re at is all you really need. Take a step back and take a look around, you might find exactly what you\’re looking for.
     
    I used to work with children with autism and other developmental disabilities who also had behavior disorders. Though I\’m happy with my change in career path, I definitely miss that group of kids. Despite the challenges I faced working with them, just thinking about them brings a smile to my face. 🙂

  14. Melissa says:

    Hi Katy,
     
    I found your site through "What\’s Your Story?"  I was drawn to your site because, like you, I am also an educator.  I am in my second year at a rural public school in Missouri.  I am, what the state calls, a Speech Implementer.  With the shortage of Speech/Language Pathologists in the state, well even country, Missouri has adopted this module where certified teachers can teach speech and language classes but are supervised by certified Speech Pathologists.  This means less paperwork and someone who can guide you.  My supervisor is fantastic and she is truly an inspiration.  I plan to go back to school, when time permits, and hopefully get my Master\’s Degree in Speech/Language Pathology. So….since you were thinking about a challenge or change, maybe this could be an option for you.  I love it and love the flexibility I have as a teacher.  I make my own schedule, small groups, etc., etc., etc.
     
    If you like, come visit my site.  I don\’t talk about work much for fear that I could get sued!!! I have lots going on now…with my husband deployed to Iraq and trying to raise our two kids by myself.

  15. Nooner™ says:

    What She Wore: Khaki pants on the two days she wrote her last two blogs.
    I wear khakis almost every day .. lol.
    ~Nooner~

  16. Miss says:

    Hello!
     I saw the link to your blog on MSN\’s homepage and was happy to find out that you\’re also a Special Ed teacher! I\’m in my first year of teaching a Special Day Class, and love to network and chat with fellow teachers. 🙂
    I\’ll be sure to be back to read your blog and perhaps you could offer me a bit of advice about teaching as well. 🙂
    Until next time, caio! 🙂

  17. Unknown says:

    As a fellow teacher, I completely understand your restlessness with your job. Everyday I think about moving on to a new career that is bigger and better. Dealing with parents and educational politics gets to sometimes. I feel like no matter how great of a job that I do it is never good enough. But then I get to school in the morning, I talk to my students, I see them have that lightbulb momment, and I remember why I became a teacher. I do it for the students. I love them to death. I enjoy being able to guide them to that ah-ha momment. I love seeing their smiles. And as sick as it sounds, I love the challenge they create for me everyday. Then I get my paycheck and I repeat the whole pattern again!

Leave a Reply

