Beeotch Radar and an Unexpected Sighting

What She Wore: White t-shirt, white pajama pants with red hearts, white socks.


On Friday I was attending a convention at one of the hotels in downtown Little Rock.  I was heading for the front desk because I needed some change for the parking meter when I noticed three teenage girls walking through the lobby.  They were laughing and giggling loudly, so they easily drew attention.  Also, I work with teenagers, so teenagers tend to catch my attention anyway. 

And here’s the part where I have to explain what beeotch radar is.  This is the uncanny ability to dissect a person’s outfit in under thirty seconds.   My retail bosses used to love me for this because I could  always identify the woman who would drop a lot money.  Usually, it’s an understated, but expensive handbag that tips you off. 

Back to the lobby.  I’m starting to wonder why three teenage girls aren’t in school when my beeotch radar starts going off.  Wait a second–these girls are wearing some expensive clothes.  Is that a Louis Vuitton handbag she’s carrying?  Are those leopard print Uggs?  Holy crap. 

Then I notice that the girls are being followed by a burly black man carrying a Louis Vuitton duffle bag.  I realize that I am, in fact, looking at none other than the Cheetah Girls!  If you have no idea who they are then you’re probably over the age of eighteen and don’t have any kids.  The Cheetah Girls have several songs out on Radio Disney and have had two movies on the Disney Channel. 

I didn’t say a word to the Cheetah Girls–I was completely dumbfounded because I have NEVER seen a famous person before–NEVER!  Having lived in New Orleans, everyone I know has accidentally run into Lenny Kravitz or something, but not me!  So, I had my first-ever celebrity spotting.  Woo hoo!

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beeotch Radar and an Unexpected Sighting

  1. Elizabeth says:

    You should have meowed at them or something. Or hissed.  😉

  2. Q says:

    You could use this for a long time to come… your "cool" factor just went up 2,000 points with the under 14 crowd.
    I think I would melt if I ran into Lenny Kravitz… I just love him even though he did Lisa Bonet so wrong.
    Congrats, btw.
    🙂
    Natalie

  3. Holy says:

    I took my daughter to the concert in mid-September and blogged about it and my hits for Hannah Montana and the Cheetah Girls have been through the roof.
    Yours will too, now, just for mentioned The Cheetah Girls on your blog.
     
    My 7 yr old daughter would have swooned if she were in your shoes!
     
    Cheers!

  4. ncjenn2nd says:

    That is pretty cool.  I have never spotted a celebrity either, but then again, I have never lived in an area where celebs would normally choose to hang out:).

  5. Aubrey says:

    Wow, a celebrity sighting, that\’s great!  I\’m not too sure who the Cheetah Girls are but I\’m sure they\’re cool.  I think they\’re cool because they carry Louis Vuitton handbags and have people to carry their luggage.  Awww, the life they lead. 

  6. Ami says:

    The Cheetah Girls! Too cool! I think celebrity sightings are the weirdest thing, because I\’m never expecting to see someone famous so the one time I did (Jerry Seinfeld in Central Park) I actually said to my friend, "Hey, that guy looks like Jerry Seinfeld," to which she responded, "Uh, hello! That IS Jerry Seinfeld." I\’m clearly not the coolest person around… 🙂

  7. KEL says:

    beeotch radar…I love that–I\’m pretty sure I\’ve got one of those, but not from the clothes..hehe~K

Leave a Reply

