This and That

What She Wore: White, long-sleeve tee; flared, denim skirt; pink, cable-knit cashmere sweater, pink Ugg boots.  I think some people hate boots with skirts, but I think they make my legs look nice, so screw it.

Well, I sure hope that his does’t turn into a baby-only blog, but I do have some thoughts to share about this whole experience. 
 
  1. Getting pregnant has meant ditching all my medication–ALL of it.  This has been a real adjustment for me.  I’ve been taking certain medications for ages, namely my antidepressants (I HATE to discuss this, but I’m trying to be real here).  The withdrawal was agony–chills, body aches, head aches, and, of course, my mood came crashing down.  I really should have weaned myself off, but I figured if it’s not good for the baby then it’s not good for the baby. So–I did it cold turkey which sucks.  I’m still dealing with my non-medicated moods combined with the raging preggo hormones.  Some days I don’t like myself very much–I feel like a beotch on wheels.  But, this is short-term and I WILL get over it.  Some of my co-workers just might have to duck every once and a while.
  2. Seeing that baby on the ultrasound is the most amazing thing I have ever seen in my entrie life.  At least 25% of me thought that the doctor would put that thing on my belly and tell me that there was no baby in there–it just didn’t seem possible.  But there it was –moving and bouncing like it had a life of it’s own–and it does!  I was speechless and couldn’t take my eyes off that screen.  There is absolutely no describing it, and yet I wish that I could. 
  3. The Hub is probably happier than I am.  He came to the appointment, and I wish I could have bottled his excitement.  I feel so very lucky to have married him.  It really feels like we’re in this together.  Ask me how i feel about that when we  get to eight months. 
  4. And FINALLY–I’m really going to have to do some thinking with this whole clothes thing.  Right now I’m just sticking to my "fat" clothes, but sooner or later I’m ging to have to buy actual maternity duds.  And the shoes?  What do I do about the shoes?  I guess only time will tell.

KM 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to This and That

  1. Hilary says:

    But the maternity clothes are so awesome!  They have so many cute maternity clothes now.  When my sister-in-law was pregnant, she got the cutest things!  I think Target has fantastic clothes…Ooh, clothes…I just got shivers.  I take medication for my bipolar and I will have to stop them when I try to get pregnant, its pretty scary!  I\’m thinking of you and hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  2. Hilary says:

    But the maternity clothes are so awesome!  They have so many cute
    maternity clothes now.  When my sister-in-law was pregnant, she got the
    cutest things!  I think Target has fantastic clothes…

    Ooh, clothes…I just got shivers.  I take medication for my bipolar
    and I will have to stop them when I try to get pregnant, its pretty
    scary!  I\’m thinking of you and hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  3. KEL says:

    Congratulations Katy…I am so happy for you.  I only wish you the best with your pregnancy!~K

  4. Stacy says:

    Did they give you a picture?  I have pictures of the sonogram from all three of mine.  They are really neat to look at.  The last pregnancy, the baby was so close the way they took the picture we could actually see his facial features and he so looked like our 2nd one.
     
    -S.

  5. Jaysey says:

    You might have to buy some comfy shoes…although…I\’d think those Uggs would be nice pregnancy shoes…so long as they\’re not too tight.  You\’re feet are probably going to swell up! 
    Did you talk to your doctor before quitting cold turkey?  I\’ve hear it\’s actually better for you and the baby to go with the wean.  But I don\’t know because I\’ve never been pregnant!  Sure sounds crappy, though–so many adjustments for your body!  But you\’re right–you\’re a strong woman, and you\’ll pull through this.  I\’m sure at 8 months, this part will feel like a walk in the park! 😉  Good luck!

  6. Dahlia says:

     
    Congrats again Katy!!!
     
    Your happiness is overflowing and contagious… I believe we can all feel it :)!!
     
    Hugsss
     
    Dahlia // Sunshine @}-
     

  7. Sarah says:

    When my friend, D, was pregnant she quit smoking. Yeah, that was scary for awhile…she was NOT a happy camper. I can only imagine the feeling you had when you saw that baby on the ultrasound machine. There is a person growing inside of you! That is a crazy thought. Funny you should mention the shoes, because that\’s the first thing I thought of when I read that you were pregnant. What is she going to wear on her feet??? You\’ll figure out something, and go with what you want for as long as possible. You will definintely find cute maternity clothes. And, like I said before, you\’re going to be the cutest pregnant woman ever!
     
    By the way, that is soooo cute that hubs is so excited and happy! I love it when guys get excited about babies.

  8. Unknown says:

    Eeeek!  Sorry you had to go cold turkey, that stinks!  But seeing that little baby on the screen…..wow that must have been awesome!  God bless 🙂

  9. Nadine says:

     Sorry Sweety but you will have to put the heels aside for now….it\’s only temporary.
     But you will thank me later!
     Your back will thank me!
     And please, oh please, for the love of all that is good and wholly do not be one of those women that let that baby belly hang out. Every time I see one of those poor misguided women I want to slap her some sense in her head!! Glory in your pregnancy but have some humility….and cover that baby up!!!
     You may want to forgo the belly ring too…..When your belly button goes from an inny to an outy you will thank me.
     I don\’t feel happy for a woman that does that I pity her and want to take her shopping for better fitting clothes.
     Lots of lotion to save the stretch marks…some thing NO ONE TOLD ME!!!!
     I am enivous of the fact that you have a hubby that is loving every moment of this. The father of my childern did not. And as I rock along happily on the USSVasectomy, I can not share that experience with Roy……Though he swears he is trying to get me pregnant!! Yeah right!! Which one of us is blonde????
     Enjoy every moment! And I don\’t care if you turn this into a baby blog…..if it helps to get it….then do it!
    And one more thing….are you going to find out what sex or wait and be surprised???

  10. Karla says:

    Hello my all time favorite Beoyotch! Hope you\’re in a better place than me right now (can I reiterate than I am F-ing losing my mind). Two more weeks and this whole entire hellacious grad school experience is mostly over- at least that\’s what I keep telling myself (and that\’s assuming they don\’t want too many modifications on the thesis). Please tell me that you are going to let me rub your baby bump and talk to cletus when I see you (or will that annoy you)?!?!? Kelly has already given me permission to be as obnoxious as I want at the party (although she may regret it, considering I am planning on comsuming much alcohol in celebration or sorrow). Love ya, miss ya, and you girls have no idea how much looking forward to this party and seeing all you fabulous gals is getting me through this hell. Let me know if you figured out what party drink you will be drinking.

  11. Betsy says:

    You will seriously rock the maternity wear!  You need to add pictures of the bump to go along with the footwear!  Here\’s to the most stylish, cutest preggers girl ever 🙂

  12. Wahzat says:

    OH!!!! I AM SOOOOOOOOOO EXCITED FOR YOU!! Congratualtions! ( Can you tell that I am excited… I do believe I screeched.)
     
    Do you know I almost asked you last week ( just got a feeling) but didn\’t want to in case it was a sore spot with you! So now I am doing a dance!!
     
    Oh those pregnancy mood swings! When I was pregnant with my son there were just certain people that I had to stay away from for the entire pregnancy, because just to look at them would piss me off and they never did that before. ( Sorry about the meds withdrawal though) 
     
    You may not have to do Maternity clothing  for awhile. You could probably go a size or two bigger especially with the recent trend that fashion is going through right now dresses and pants. BUT the maternity clothing is really quite nice now.
     
    And as to the shoes you should just wait and see what happens. I know lots of women who never gave up their heels whilst pregnant, because those were the shoes that made them comfortable. I gave them up my back started to hurt the instance I saw the positive on the test 🙂
     
    Oh I am so excited for you. Sorry for rambling on your space. I will keep you in my prayers to keep you strong!
     
    Have a great, great restful weekend! Congrats again

  13. Hollie says:

    for the shoes trust me do flats that you can slip on after month number 6…..just think an excuse to shoe shop!

  14. tressie says:

    i love your space hon – and PREGNANT!! wow – so cool – i had my first at 30 and was teaching 3rd grade at the time.  I had to run to the closet where i had put a trash can for convenience in chucking.  so very fun.  when i read your first two blogs i knew you were my long lost sista – actually probably daughter as i am anciently older than you.  if you EVER get any time, i would love to chat or talk – i used to teach in Las Vegas and we are now in S Cal.  i\’ve done the have a kid and teach thing twice and it\’s an adventure in itself..  your outfits?  omg – you are a hoot.  ps – i was on AD\’s when i was pregnant and had been on the long term – too bad you weren\’t allowed to go off slower = it is like HELL that way.  but guess what?  my body was fine throughout the whole pregnancy and nursing months (which were ummm pretty lengthy -) and once done i went back on and never missed more than 2 beats.  we sound a lot alike – cracks me up.  You are going to have the most amazing and wonderful life altering change – babies change everything and how you view the entire world.  so happy for you.  your life will never be the same (and guess what?  i was nicer to the rotten kids after having my own – i could actually see them differently)  come by my place and say hi if you have a minute.  tressie

  15. tressie says:

    ok ok – you know the old "teachers are the worst students" addage?  i didn\’t read the entire blog – so now i have and i am back to ask for forgiveness in not reading the whole thing before taking the comprehension test (commenting)  ie – the pills etc.  1. i will read better 2. i will read better  3. i will read better……..can i stop now?  tressie 🙂
     
    uh – about the boobs – just wait till your milk comes in – oh my hell – they are rocks and i had to buy a DD instead of a B for the first time.  and………..they really never went down.  even after nursing.  15 years later they are still knockers – much to my sadness – but hey! it makes the man happy!!  🙂

  16. CJ says:

    You\’re embarking on quite the adventure with this pregnancy and it sounds like an adventure for two.  How awesome!  I never did switch to maternity clothes when I was pregnant, I simply went with flowing dresses that could expand as I expanded and be neatly drawn up with a killer belt after the baby was born.  From Fam to Glam all in one dress.  I wore my heels clean up to my 9th month and then had to cave due to a little water retention.  However, it was over before I knew it and I was back in my comfy shoes in no time at all.  I walk through the malls now and see the most stylish maternity clothes imaginable.  In fact, some of those clothes I would wear NOW…but, like I said….accessorized with a really killer belt. With your flair,  I have a feeling you\’re going to turn your pregnancy into a rather fashionable affair.  Hope you\’re having a truly enjoyable weekend.

  17. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    KM,
     
    First, and foremost, CONGRATS! on being pregnant!  I haven\’t been by in a while and catching up with your blogs and all the excitement is just lovely!  We all have different pregnancy experiences, but I have no doubt that you will be stylish, regardless.  They have much better selections than they ever did when I had my boys.  What things are you finding that you crave the most?  I craved two things…comfortable clothes and certain foods.  With my first son it was steak, potatoes and vegetables. (Smiling smuggly) With the second it was vinegar potato chips and coca-cola (hanging my head in shame).  Will be looking forward to your adventures.
     
    Hugs,
    Beth

  18. Christi says:

    I didn\’t have to cave on the shoes until I was about 7 months along.  But be glad we are in a "style era" where they make cute flats!!  Oh, and ps, everyone told me that me feet would grow and I would no longer be able to wear my beautiful shoes ~ not true!!  The only growing they did was getting fat toward the end!!

  19. siobhan says:

    Congratulations, I am so happy for you.  The same thing happened to me.  I was whining about not being pregnant, and it turned out that I was and didn\’t know it.
    Well, you could get lucky on the shoe thing and not have to worry about it for a long while.  I jsut hope for your sake that you stay the same size after the baby is born.  Mine got bigger!  All my old shoes are a wee bit too small now, I can still wear one or two of them,  Sorry………I shouldn\’t freak you out.  Two of my friends went back to all their old clothes and shoes after their babies were born, I was just unlucky.  I\’m glad hubby is so excited.  Mine went to almost every single dr appointment with me.  He went to all of them during the first trimester.  Once we got past that we were able to relax.  
    I\’m so happy for you!!
    Siobhan 

  20. Sandy says:

    You quit taking your meds cold turkey! Are you crazy?  I was off my meds for a few days waiting for the money to get my perscription filled.  I felt horriable!  If I moved my eyes in any direction but right in front of me, I felt like I was going to pass out.  Did you talk to a doctor about quiting? I really hope so.
     
    Raven

Leave a Reply

