Headaches, Magic, and Lots of Fun

What She Wore: Flared denim skirt; white, long-sleeve tee; pink, cable-knit sweater; pink Ugg boots.

For whatever reason, all I can think to blog about these days is my job–so bear with me. 

Headaches: I work in my school’s afternoon program, and I swear those kids are trying to kill me.  Ever tried to spend an hour getting non-readers to read?  It’s a recipe for disaster, I knew it, and yet, I took the job.  Today, I busted one kid writing a note to his girlfriend, and guess what?  He’d had someone else write the note for him, and he was copying it in his own handwriting!  Seriously, if he won’t write a note to his girlfriend, how will I ever get him to write a paragraph?

Magic: Just when you think it can’t get any worse, you get a visitor!  One of my old students came to visit me.  That’s the kind of thing that just makes you feel good.  But here’s the most amazing part–she brought another girl with her.  And the visitor was the best part.  It was one of the girls I worked with during Vacation Bible School!  Talk about surprise.  And Yay! you work with a girl for a couple of hours and somehow, you make an impression.  Doesn’t get any better than that.

Lots of Fun: Our kids had to give their very first power point presentations in class.  The title of the presentation was All About Me and the kids had to do slides on their likes and dislikes, their family, etc.  One of the kids said in his presentation: I like to go to the movies with girls and try to hook up with them.  I couldn’t get my face right for almost five minutes.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Headaches, Magic, and Lots of Fun

  1. Jaysey says:

    Man…they start younger and younger…

  2. g says:

    In reading group today, a boy was reading only to discover that he was missing pg. 39.  I said not to worry that I would get him another book and to his surprise, he says, "And I don\’t have page 40 either!"  I busted out laughing!   I told him that since 39 was 40 woud be too since they are back to back pages and he laughed as well as many others! 

  3. Becca says:

    Oh my goodness, kids these days! Your life is never, ever boring, is it? 🙂 I hope that you are doing well? Email me sometime and fill me in! I am leaving in the a.m. and will be soaking up the rays of sunny Hawaii, but you know that I will be blogging away while we are gone, how could I not!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  4. Tracy says:

    Hahaha, that is hilarious!!!  I don\’t know how you dont\’ bust out laughing with some of the things your students do/say!!
     
     

  5. Aimee says:

    lol…copying a note to make it look like his own…that is just too funny..
    :o) smiles are contagious…and free…as well as a great start to the new year…pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  6. Gina says:

    Ok, I can\’t stop laughing at the whole note thing.  I wonder what his girlfriend would say if she knew what you know.  Anyways…I\’m very glad you got a little taste of magic the other day!

  7. Tiffany says:

    Just stopping by to say hello real quick!  I hope all is well!  Any baby updates?
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  8. Elizabeth says:

    "He\’d had someone else write the note for him, and he was copying it in his own handwriting!"A literary Cyrano de Bergerac!!!

  9. CJ says:

    Ditto to what Elizabeth said!  LOL.  Hope you enjoy your weekend.  BTW…I wrote this myself 😉 .

  10. Unknown says:

    Hey thanks for stopping by.  And thanks for the tip.  We actually contacted the news instead LOL  I updated about it just this morning.  This whole thing has been wild.  Have a great weekend!God bless 🙂

  11. Sheryl-Ann says:

    At least he was honest (hahahahaha)!  Enjoy the weekend.

  12. Antonella says:

    Sorry you\’re having a hard time with the non-readers.
    One time my kids did power point presentations called All About Me. Most of them were funny, except one that was sad, but that\’s a long story.
    Hope you are feeling well, take care of yourself,
    Antonella

  13. Wahzat says:

    Oh if I had all these interesting tidbits about my job I\’ll probably blog it all the time too… hey that is what I do all the time 🙂
     
    I have said this before, but I will say it again- I think it is fabulous that you get such entertainment, inspiration and joy from your choosen career. Keep up the good work.
     
    So how are you and baby going?
     
    Have a great week?!
    Wahzat!!

  14. Sarah says:

    Hey, at least he\’s honest. And now the girls will know what he\’s up to!

  15. K says:

    Smooth Operator in motion… wow… that\’s funny in a very scary way… ditto to what Elizabeth said!
    What a blessing to know that you made an impression on your students… so much so they actually WANT to come back to visit you and say hello… and then bring along someone else!! You are doing a GREAT job… it is such a difficult profession and its aweinspiring to read about it.
     
    Thanks btw for the update on the wee one in progress.  Sorry I never responded but things have been rather hectic… and I totally meant too.  But totally adorable Katie… !!!  Again.. congrats!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

Leave a Reply

