Sheesh

What She Wore: a horrible pair of maternity jeans; long-sleeve, gray LSU t-shirt; black snow boots.  It’s raining like mad here.

Our school has been leaking water as long as I’ve worked there.  Every time it rains, we have to shut down the computer lab and cover all the computers with a plastic tarp.    Water drips into electric structure causing lights and air conditioning untis to blow out.  So, the district has granted us a new roof.  The tar stinks to high heaven, giving all of us headaches, but at least water won’t be landing on our heads any more.  

The other day, we realized the real peril of this situation.  The school is split level, so from our second floor windows we can see workers walking around on other sections of the roof.  The other day, during another teacher’s history class, one of the workers bent down to perform some tasks.  In doing so, he revealed that certain something that plumbers are known for.  That’s right–the man mooned an entire class of seventh graders.  You can only imagine the pandemonium that followed.

KM 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sheesh

  1. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Thank God for a new roof………and for seeing the worker\’s assets (hahahaha)!  The students must have been quite amused by that.
     
    I am rooting for the Saints against the Bears next week.  I cannot believe that the Bears struggled to beat the Seahawks so I think the Saints will give them a tougher time.  Could you imagine how exciting it would be if the Saints got into the Superbowl after the tragedy of Katrina?  That would be sweet.  However, I must confess that I picked the Colts to go all the way to the superbowl at the start of the season so I am going to stick with them.  At least Peyton Manning is from New Orleans, right?
     
    Take care and have a great week!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Brilliant!!!! I hope the construction worker was at least in good shape. If I have to look at an ass crack, at the very minimum it should be attached to a nice looking ass. 😉

  3. Unknown says:

    Just stopping in.  Found my way here by way of blog walking.  Love your site.

  4. Unknown says:

    Well hooray for a new roof!  I know what that feels like!  And by the way, why do contractors have to be such yahoos, anyway?  Happy Monday!God bless 🙂

  5. Stacy says:

    How did you get the kids to settle down after that?
     
    Hey daughter, what did you learn in school today?
    Well dad, that roofers have plumbers butt also.
     
    -LOL  🙂
     
    -S.

  6. g says:

    My gosh, I know exactly what you are going through.  We went through this exactly 2 years ago.  They put a new roof on…it was supposed to be done BEFORE school started, but they didn\’t start until about a week BEFORE school started!  We weren\’t allowed in the building..to set up.  They ended up delaying school a whole week and still we had to put up with the pounding the HORRIBLE smell of tar…I can\’t say how many times I threw up or went home due to headaches from the smell and I wasn\’t even pregnant.  Poor you…being pregnant and having to smell the tar.   On a sad note…our roof still leeks.  My roof (one that never leaked) began leaking after they put the roof on!
     
    As for the workers, I was constantly yelling at them to quit smoking, quit scraping, quit talking and yelling. AArrggghhh!  They were much worse than the kids. Didn\’t see a "moon."  Thank goodness!  Good luck with the roofing project and I\’ll pray they get it done right the first time.  Have a good week!
     
    g.j.

  7. Aimee says:

    sounds like  a guy i work with…i laugh every day…
    :o) smiles are contagious…just maybe they will help melt the ice that has coated my world outside…so pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  8. Tracy says:

    I can\’t believe your school had such a leaky roof — glad they are finally fixing it, even if the tar stench must drive you crazy!! LOL abou the worker guy, if he only knew he entertained a whole class of kids!!

  9. Wahzat says:

    LOL!!!
    Sorry about the maternity pants!  🙂

  10. Antonella says:

    We had that problem in my high school, the roof was forever leaking. I can only imagine what the kids did when they saw the plumber!
    Don\’t worry, you\’ll start to show soon. I think I felt "fat" until about 20 weeks and then I just popped! If your pants feel too tight, you should start getting maternity pants. If you get the ones with the roll panel( a small waist band) you can wear it now comfortably and pretty much until the end. They have lots of good stuff at Old Navy, it\’s cute and cheap(maternity clothes can get expensive!)
    Yeah, as soon as you pop, you\’ll notice that you\’re really clumsy, so be careful!
    Antonella

  11. Gina says:

    hahahahaha!  a crack in the new roof all ready, lol!

  12. K says:

    LOL… too funny!!! 

  13. Jaysey says:

    LOL!  That\’s great!  They redid the roof on one of our buildings…the smell was so bad we had class outside (luckily it was Spring).

  14. Carol says:

    Hurray for your new roof!  I can just imagine trying to conduct a class with buckets spread around the room and a constant stacatto dripping sounding in various pitches. 

  15. Jaysey says:

    Today I was in Target and walked past the maternity clothes and saw lots of cute stuff (including maternity swimsuits), and I thought of you.

  16. Christine says:

    Maternity clothes (except for the muumuu dresses) were all SO uncomfortable.  They never fit right….
     
    I worked in  a public school for seven years.  I was a school nurse.  The ceiling in the bathroom attached to my office was falling down.  I have often said that many public buildings would have been condemned long ago if they were private sector buildings.
     
    Christine

  17. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Yep, nothing like a full moon to send a group of seventh graders into fits of guffaws!

  18. Dawn says:

    I know how immature I am so I can imagine what followed the mooning…hee hee…

  19. Nadine says:

     What no pix of the roofer worker??
     And there will be more kids that come by to see you….you do make an impression!!

  20. Toni says:

    Now THAT is a funny story. I know how I myself would react to such a sight; I can only imagine a roomful of 7th graders. That must\’ve been fun. How are you guys holding up weather-wise? ~Toni

  21. c says:

    I bet that\’ll etched in the memories of all those 7th graders. They\’ll probably discuss it at their 10 year HS reunion…

Leave a Reply

