and BAM!

What She Wore: White turtleneck; red, cable-knit sweater; olive green pants; red snow boots.

I said I wouldn’t mention it very much, but today is just the day for this entry. . .

In seventh grade I was voted "cutest figure."  I’m not saying this to brag, and I have by no means ever been a Hawaiian Tropic model, but for most of my life, I’ve been satisfied with my body.  Even as I type this, I realize that this puts me in the minority of American women.  Let me repeat: it’s not like I was all that and a bag of chips, but I was happy with my body most of the time.  When my weight climbed, I simply cut back. 

But that has all changed.  I am not one of those cute, little pregnant women.  I found out I was pregnant and put on five pounds even though I was eating more healthy than usual.  Now, I’m over the recommended guidelines for weight gain, and there’s no dieting at this point.  My body is not my own and that’s a scary thought.  I look down and have no idea where this stomach came from.  This baby is gonna be a eight pounder for sure.  My walk has changed, there are certain chairs I don’t want to sit it, and if put myself on the floor, it’s a whole ordeal to get myself back up. 

The added dimension to this situation is that I don’t FEEL pregnant.  I wasn’t a person who had three months of nausea.  I’ve had few symptoms other than heart burn which I’ve had before.  I see the scans, I know there’s a baby in there, and I’m happy that it’s thriving.  Logically, I get that.  But my guts are just trying to figure out what the heck is going on here.  Is there a baby in there?  I know I sound crazy, but that’s where I am. 

Now, I’m going to waddle over to the couch and watch some E!   Enjoy your weekend.

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to and BAM!

  1. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM!  That\’s scary but exciting at the same time.  I guess the first time is a bit weird for a woman, huh?  I have no idea since I have never been pregnant, but I imagine I would be a little scared.  After all, there would be no figures to add and subtract:)  I am sure you will be fine, however.  The time will go by quickly……..I still cannot believe that Antonella will give birth shortly!  It seems like just yesterday she told us…………take care and enjoy the 9 months of eating without feeling guilty.  Is that the fun part:)?

  2. Stacy says:

    You will realize you are pregnant when you can\’t breathe for the foot under your ribs.  But in the end it is so worth it.  Enjoy every moment of it.  I loved being pregnant.  Especially when they started moving around.
     
    -S.
     
    BTW – I wore a mask while I was here so I wouldn\’t get you sick.  🙂

  3. g says:

    I too was always very thin….except I could eat and eat and eat and not gain an ounce!  I was lucky.  Then I got pregnant with  my daughter.  Before I became pregnant with her, I only weighed about 125 pounds and I am 5\’6."  I wore a size 6-7 in rocky jeans.  I was just plain skinny, with somewhat of a nice figure.  To make a long story short…i weighted nearly 200 pounds when I went in to have my daughter!!!!  And she only weighed 6 pounds.  I was gigantic!  I was tired and miserable.  I had a rough pregnancy.  I was not one of those "glowing" pregnant ladies–for sure.  The best part of being pregnant?  When the baby starts to move around.  One evening I was sitting on the couch and the baby started moving and i pulled up my shirt to look at my buldging belly and I could LITERALLY see the baby moving…my stomach was making waves!  It was the most awesome, beautiful thing I had ever witnessed at the time!  It is a great feeling.  Of course, when she was born, it was by c-section so I feel i lost that bonding, but I\’ll never forget the first time I got to hold her and marvel at "wow, that\’s what was in my tummy this whole time?"  It\’s crazy!!
     
    So, I gained a lot of weight.  The good thing…?  By the time she was 6 months old, I had gradually without even trying lost all the weight plus some more.  I wore a size 5 when she was 6 months old!!  So I was skinny again for 3 years and then was pregnant again with my son and again gained lots of weight and weighed nearly 200 lbs when i went in to have him…the difference…I couldnt lose the weight.  I only just lost the weight 2 years ago.  I lost 35 pounds in two years and he is now 12 and I am not as thin as I was after having my daughter, but i\’m at 144-147.  But I would like to be a 135, but I am happy with my weight.  I was pretty big for a long time and i like the way i feel and look now.
     
    Good luck and if you have any pregnancy questions…feel free to ask?  I know I was always worried or wondering.  Good luck.
     
    g.j 

  4. Leighann says:

    If you\’re eating more healthfully, then the baby is just hungry.  I too had few pregnancy symptoms and didn\’t gain much, just 18.   But….Sam was low and on my bladder the ENTIRE pregnancy.  For example….The food shopping experience….I would go the bathroom before I left the house to drive to Shaw\’s, which at most is 10 minutes away.  Once there, I would need to use the restroom…no joke.   Before I got in line at checkout….I\’d leave the carriage in produce, go AGAIN!!! and then checkout.  Oh and guess what…I\’d go again when I got home.   So, it\’s a trade off, but sooooo totally worth it as someone has already said.  I was also one of the few who was happy with before figure.  Nursing helped the after…got down within six weeks.  Can\’t say that when I went back to work last year it stayed off though.  STRESS CHOCOLATE EATER!!!!!  I\’m a teacher too…therefore…I am a miracle worker according to administration. 
     
    Sam has started hugging and kissing me without me asking or doing it first.  So awesome when they figure the little things that make your heart melt.
     
    Don\’t step on the scale!  Just revel in your new belly and walk.  Oh, I just remembered.  There were a few weeks at the end of the first trimester when I couldn\’t sleep in the bed.  I had to sleep in my big comfy chair in the living room. Weird. Oh well.  I\’m glad you\’re back.  Your blogs make me smile.

  5. Unknown says:

    The things you miss when you decide to close your blog…Well, I\’m glad to see you\’re doing well.

  6. Jaysey says:

    I\’m sure you\’ll start to feel a little bit more pregnant as that little guy starts to grow…when, as Mum, said, he starts planting his little feet in uncomfortable places!  But it must be really weird to not even know your own body…and to have to suddenly start waddling…although, I bet there will be lots of funny stories to come from it as you grow and grow and grow… ;-).  Please don\’t hesitate to share them!

  7. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Well I had pretty easy pregnancies.  Except for my son and that was nine months of some serious indigestion.  I think that\’s why I had 3 kids HA!  Have a great week! 

  8. KEL says:

    Have no fear..the day will come and you will definately feel pregnant!! It may seem odd right now but it won\’t stay that way, just be grateful that you didn\’t have the morning sickness or any other pregnancy induced symptom…Take care!!~K

  9. Sarah says:

    My friend\’s sister just had a baby that was 11 pounds. ELEVEN POUNDS! And she\’s not a big woman.
     
    Now that I\’ve terrified you, it\’s been my experience that even when people are the "cute" pregnant women, they don\’t think they are. I have a friend that looked like she just had a basketball in front and she still thought she looked terrible! I\’m sure you\’re as adorable as ever, and as the baby starts to grow, you\’ll be happier about it (not that you\’re not happy). My friend told me that the hardest part of the pregnancy is before you really start showing a lot, when you just can\’t do much, but you don\’t really look pregnant yet.
     
    Things will get better, I promise!

  10. Nadine says:

     Not Diet but EAT HEALTHY!!!!
     Beyond anything else do that!!
     With the Hub being such a great cook it will be hard not to overeat but self-control is a huge issue….I didn\’t have it!! I gained 50 pounds!!!!! Imagine that on a frame of 4\’ 11"!!!!
     And when that baby starts to be active and kick and squirm you will know it is there!!!

  11. Tracy says:

    I have heard some people say that, they know there is a baby in there but it\’s still kinda hard to believe and especially since you haven\’t had a lot of symptoms.  Except for the waddling 🙂  I\’m sure soon he/she will start to move around and you will definitely feel pregnant!!  I hate those women that look like they just have a basketball, and who give birth and are practically down to their starting weight two days later!! My sister is like that – even the day before she had my niece – if you saw her from behind, you wouldn\’t ever guess she was pregnant, she hadn\’t gained all around, it was all just a perfect little basketball. 

  12. Aimee says:

    lol…it\’s ok…you will once again gat back to normal shape afterwards…relax…enjoy how your bosy changes…it\’s reallya remarkable thing… 
     
    :o) smiles easy to give away they are free… :o) very contagious… :o) so pass one to anyone … :o) to people that you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o) in no time the whole world will be smiling :o)

  13. Nora says:

    You are in a wierd place right now that is all.  I mean pregnancy maybe the most natural thing in the world, but it is a wierd thing to experience.  I can\’t help with the weight gain thing, I am overweight and lost weight both times I was pregnant and by the end had gained it back.  I dreaded the stupid scale too since I always felt guilty about not gaining enough.  See what I mean, the whole expereince was wierd. ; )  Enjoy

  14. ncjenn2nd says:

    I can imagine that gaining and your body changes are such strange things.  I have two friends back in Michigan that are pregnant, one due in April and one due in June.  The one due in April is much bigger than the one due in June and the June friend is having twins!  How crazy is that?  All women just are different.  The one having twins had lots of sickness in the beginning and lost several pounds due to not being able to eat much.  So just be happy, wait for those movements and enjoy.

  15. Karla says:

    HAHA. Would you feel BETTER if on top of the weight gain you HAD spent the last couple of months puking your guts out?!??! Love you girl!!! Can\’t wait to see the next pic!!!
     
    KAE

  16. Wahzat says:

    Oh my you sound like me when it comes to my view on my body and on how I felt about being pregnant. Don\’t worry when he/she start to move then you would feel pregnant. The realization of being pregnant really didn\’t get to me until I was like 8 months or so! Good to know I have company.
     
    Hope you are having a great week!

  17. Bri says:

    I imagine it\’s weird to feel like your body has gotten away from you, I hope it gets better for you soon.

  18. Becca says:

    Round is a shape KM! You are doing great!
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

Leave a Reply

