Tidbits

What She Wore: Straight, denim skirt; white t-shirt; pink, cable-knit sweater; pink Ugg boots.

Be Forewarned:  This is going to sound judgemental–because it is.

The people who live across the street from me just bought a new Mercedes Benz.  Yes, a Mercedes.  Now, I watch the TV and I know most of America is in debt up to their eye balls, and I can’t fathom what would make a person buy a Mercedes.  I mean, people can buy whatever type of car they want, but I don’t exactly live in a chic neighborhood–hell, I don’t even live on the side of my neighborhood with the big houses.  And here’s where I get preachy. . . don’t people realize that cars are consumables?   I LOVE cars.  I CRAVE cars.  I WISH WISH WISH I was a rapper or something, so i could have eight cars without the guilt.  But I’m not a rapper.  I’m an average American who knows that a car will cost you money and decline in value like nothing else.  So there you go–my soap box–Americans may be in debt, but I think it’s mainly because people buy things they want–not things they need.

The other day I went to Walmart, and couldn’t get out of the place without using the bathroom.  In the stall next to mine,  I could see tennis shoes, jeans, and a box from an EPT pregnancy test.  I can’t think of anything sadder.  All I could think was that this poor girl couldn’t even take the test at home.  Poor thing.

The building I work in is soooooo cold.  The thermometer says 70, but I contest that.  The heat only runs in the classrooms–not in the halls, and your nose will be cold after walking in the halls for a few minutes.  I’m wearing a long-sleeve shirt and a sweater, and I’m cold.  The kids are cold too–most of our kids come from bad economic situations, so there’s no room in the family budget for a solid red, white, or blue sweatshirt.  I literally want to buy a sweatshirt for half the kids in the room.   But there’s nothing we can do–but wait for warmer weather.

Adios,

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tidbits

  1. Stacy says:

    How sad about the heat.  I can\’t imagine being cold all day.  My office has a huge window and two doors by my desk so they (my employer) gave me a heater under my desk that I can control to keep my feet warm.  I wish that I could help you help those kids, but then how do you decide who gets the sweater/sweatshirt and who doesn\’t.
     
    -S.

  2. ncjenn2nd says:

    I feel really bad about the poor girl who had to take her EPT test in the bathroom at Wal-mart.  How terrible is that?  I can not even fathom not having a private, comfortable place to do something so life changing.  I count my blessings every day and one of those blessings is that even if I had been young and put in that situation, my parents would have supported me as best as they were able, not matter how much they would dislike the situation, they would love me and my future child regardless of the poor choice I would have made.  I feel sad some people don\’t have that same comfort and acceptance. 

  3. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I always agreed with you on the car thing but I realized that some people would rather eat hot dogs everyday and never go on vacation in order to drive their dream car.  I wouldn\’t do it but I love clothes and will brown bag it every day in order to buy a pair of expesive pants.  I have had many people think I was crazy.  But hey it\’s what I love.  For the record I am too broke these days to even buy a pair of pants from Wal-Mart. HA!  Do you think that your church would be interested in having a sweatshirt drive for the kids?  I am absolutely sure if you give me an address I could send a couple of sweatshirts.  I may be broke but I still try and do things for others.

  4. Tracy says:

    Man I would hate your school then, I hate being cold!  I was always freezing here at work up until a month or so ago — when, after six years of complaining, they finally looked into the problem, no heat was blowing into my office because the vent was turned off.  So they flipped a switch and, voila, heat!  Now, why did it take six years to figure that out?
     
    I hear ya on the Mercedes thing.  It always makes me laugh when I see crappy trailers, with a nice vehicle out front – the vehicle probably cost more than the trailer! (that probably sounds mean – I have nothing against trailers, I just would never pay more for a vehicle than for a home). 
     
    So sad about the pregnancy test thing, poor girl!!
     
     

  5. Nadine says:

     Funny but you and I think a lot alike!
     I would imagine that the payment on the Benz is at least $400 per month…all the models I have looked at in the paper are….It comes back to priorities.
     
     Yesterday the WeatherDude said it was going to get into the 40\’s….No Freakin\’ way!!! I still have ice all over the parking lot and I can barely get out of it!
     
     Wear lots of layers!!!
     
     
      
     

  6. Sarah says:

    Sounds like your work is the opposite of mine. The thermostat is set at 60 but it\’s still at least 70+ all the time. I get really hot in the afternoon, but I\’m pretty much always hot anyway.
     
    There\’s a difference between getting a decent car and a car that is over the top. A Mercedes is definitely over the top. Especially when the people probably don\’t have the money it takes to maintain a car like that. It would be fun, but not necessary. I think it\’s funny when people get a brand new nice car but then don\’t have any options–no power windows or doors, etc. and it just looks cheap on the inside–just so they can have a "new" car. Wouldn\’t ya rather have something a few years old and comfortable?

  7. KENT says:

    Thanks for the blog!  I know what you mean about people and cars and houses and just about anything else.  It has a lot to do with priorities!  I have a daughter that has this weekness when it comes to shoes.  She can be broke and still come home with a new pair of peep toes that she couldn\’t resist.  I see the thing with cars an houses around here.  People are building bigger and nicer houses all around us, and just because our house is 22 years old doesn\’t mean it is a junker, and it serves us well.  We raised our family in it.
     
    I can understand the heat thing.  Our house with it\’s "old boiler heat system" isn\’t quite as modern.  The boiler quit last Saturday, and we had to pay a huge sum of money to get a service man out on a weekend.  It makes me appreciate what I have all the more. 
     
    Our children should know us well enough to be able to come to us whenever they need too in times of stress and trouble.  Now that most of my children are grown, i hope they felt that way.  From some of the situations and events that took place as we raised them,  I\’m almost sure they did.
     
    It\’s sad that it isn\’t a perfect world where all of our children get the physical and emotional support they need from home.
     
    You, through your blog, have impressed me as one who is observent and compassionate.  Thanks for the example!

  8. Tiffany says:

    Hey girl… I agree with you on the car issue.  My husband bought me a Lexus IS 350 at the end of Sept last year.  Of course I LOVED it and was very surprised, but that kind of car is for someone that doesn\’t have kids.  Even though we only have Baylee it just wasn\’t big enough.  On the Friday right before Christmas I went to the Honda dealership and found a used van and we traded.  We lost about 3K on the deal, but at least we are still right-side up about 8K.  It just wasn\’t practical!
     
    Sounds to me that the school needs to get the heating system checked!  Poor kids… and poor you!  I hate being cold.  I would rather be sweating bullets!  😉
     
    Hugs – and thanks for the baby update!  I\’m glad to hear all is well.  Don\’t worry about the weight.  But, I totally understand… I\’ve always been thin and it was weird having the big belly.  It was especially weird being off balance for those last few months!  So, are you guys going to find out the sex of the baby?
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  9. Sherry says:

    I totally agree on the car thing. \’Specially since Hubby just decided he "needed" (read wanted) a new (brand new) truck. Seems he\’s been having new truck envy. Both his co-workers have new trucks and his, although paid for and in no way in need of repair was 8 years old!  His justification was "I deserve it". 

  10. Jaysey says:

    I am very saddened by this entry: I watched Where the Heart Is this weekend, which I thought of when you mentioned the Wal-Mart girl.  I\’m sure she\’s got problems.  And I want to send sweatshirts to your school.  And tell people tog et over their living up to the Joneses-ness.  

  11. Dawn says:

    this comment should have been posted a couple of days ….Brett and I have to make an effort to socialize also…it\’s tough…but you\’ll be glad you did…well most of the time you\’ll be glad you did.

  12. WINDOW LIVE says:

    You will not have a screaming child.  You are going to be a great Mom!

  13. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi KM, I had to bring in my portable heater to my office.  It is always so cold in here even if the thermostat is on 80.  No joke!  I have called physical plant and a bunch of men come bearing their butts so I figure I am safer with my little heater:)
     
    I hear you on the car thing.  However, I have come to the conclusion that different people like different things are they will go into debt for the things they like.  It\’s crazy but that\’s the way it is.  For some, it\’s cars, for others it\’s clothes, shoes, home theater equipment and the list goes on.  Debt gives me the creeps but what can you expect from a finance major:)?
     
    Hope you are keeping well and staying warm.

  14. Nora says:

    I\’ve been really convicted about trying to do more with less.  For example does it really matter if we have things, if we miss out on our kids growing up, or we don\’t enjoy life.  Then we are reminded of the sad reality of so many who don\’t have those options. 

  15. Toni says:

    The car–why? I mean, really, why? Yeah, you could go out buy a $50,000 car…or you could buy a $15,000 that runs just as well. Maybe some people just see them like us women do purses…must have designer purses.
    Weird.
    Yeah, I\’ve been that girl taking a pregnancy test in a bathroom stall at Walmart, though surprisingly not as a teen–it was only 2 months ago and I just didn\’t want to wait until I got home to take it! Pathetic!
    Don\’t be too hard on yourself for being "anti social"…especially with the fatigue, the bathroom trips and hunger pains…
    I hate that inbetween time when you don\’t really look pregnant but nothing fits right and you just feel blah…it goes away fast. With Cheyenne I didn\’t feel pregnant, but with Mia I was immediately sensitive to all the changes…I tripped and fell alot. You be careful.
    ~Toni

  16. Becca says:

    Everyone has different priorities, I guess, but we all have to be so careful, because you just never know what is going to happen with the job market. I just know that we would never buy one. It isn\’t either of us. We buy American! 🙂 And the girl in the bathroom that is just sad, but who knows what the real story is? Everyone has one..
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  17. Unknown says:

    If you had my two sons in your class, you\’d probably want to run out and buy them sweatshirts and socks, but the truth is that they never wear them.  They especially hate socks.  For the past 3 weeks, we\’ve had sub-freezing temperatures, yet they run around barefoot.  They even go to church (which is across the street) with no shoes on.  No matter what I do, I can\’t get them to wear shoes.
     
    I wonder if that\’s the case for some of your kids.  I mean, they could get cheap sweatshirts from the local thrift store (that\’s where half of my wardrobe is from), but thrift stores aren\’t cool; or perhaps the kids just aren\’t cold.  Obviously, you know your students and I don\’t, but I just thought I\’d share that, for two children I know, they just don\’t feel the cold the way I do–in fact, I\’m typing this wearing a jacket & the new wool hat my kids got me for my birthday; when they wake up, they\’ll run around the house in their boxers until I make them put something else on.
     
    btw, I like the colored paragraphs.  🙂

  18. Aimee says:

    that is too bad…i feel for her too…i hope she has at least someone to talk too…
    :o) smiles are contagious…so pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

Leave a Reply

