Bring on the Funk

What She Wore: Grey sweat pants; white t-shirt; white socks.


It’s official–I’m in a funk.  School was cancelled today due to ice on the roads, and I’m just sitting here.  The stomach virus is lingering, so all food makes me ache.  The Hub has work, so I’m here alone.  My mood is bleak, my in-box is empty, and I just feel detatched from the world.  And I have absolutely no reason for this–my life is wonderful–I have the day off work, a warm home, a bundle on the way, and I just feel like I’m not part of it all.  Unfortunately, this happens to me sometimes in the winter–the warm weather is far away, friends are far away, and visits home are far away.  What I really need is a spin in the tanning bed, and a rum and coke.  Unfortunately, I’ll have to find a different way to cope.  Any suggestions?

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bring on the Funk

  1. Toni says:

    I\’d give you a suggestion but I\’m snowed in and feelin\’ pretty funky myself…I got nothing. I\’m tired and crabby and bored and so sick of winter even though it\’s not even halfway over with. The tanning bed, rum and coke sound nice–BUT why don\’t you try a warm bath? Sounds lame in comparison but I just took one and I feel a tad bit better. Comb your dogs. Watch bad TV. Okay, I\’m out of ideas. Don\’t let the cold get you too far down. ~Toni

  2. Gina says:

    Curl up with the puppy and the kitty and take a nice long snooze… 

  3. Tiffany says:

    When I was prego I ate lots and lots of ice cream… still do it to this day.  I eat more in the winter than in the Summer.  Doesn\’t make sense does it?  🙂  Hope you are feeling well.  I was fatigued during the first 12 weeks and then perked up afterwards!  Do you know the sex of the baby yet?  I can\’t wait to hear!!!  Hope you are doing well!
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  4. Kerri says:

    I am so glad to hear that I am not the only one suffering from the winter blues.  A good book, a long talk with a good friend, and some junk food.  Nacho\’s are always a favorite of mine, or cheetos puffs – they both have cheese (well kind of) so they can\’t be that bad for you.

  5. Jaysey says:

    Light therapy.  😉

  6. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I was going to say a margarita, but that wouldn\’t work well for the bundle of joy either.  I know exactly how you feel because I am feeling pretty crappy myself.  I have tried to embrace winter but the cold just drives me crazy.  Also, my family is far away too and I just feel crawling under my bed.  I guess I shouldn\’t have said that because you need cheering up………..maybe a nice massage when you are able to go out?

  7. ncjenn2nd says:

    It always helps me to feel better to put on a good movie, grab a yummy snack and light lots of candles.  In fact, I do that alot.  Also, if you like to do crafty things, that can help.  Sometimes being creative takes so much energy that it focuses all of your energy on that instead of on how yuck you feel.  Hope you feel better soon!

  8. g says:

    I have a friend who suffers from the winter mood.  Sit under a real bright light for a while with the puppy or kitty or whatever animal you have.  That may help?  I hope so.  But when I was pregnant, I felt the same way…sad, tired, sick to my stomach, ughhh…for the first few months and then it went away. Good luck.
     
    g.j.

  9. WINDOW LIVE says:

    God love ya!  I spent my entire pregnancy in Washington State with my first born.  Rainy and gloomy everyday with no family in sight.  It was awful.  I had one friend and we would bake and cook and eat while our husbands were at work.   On Friday\’s our big splurge was going to the coffee shop and lunch at McDonalds on the pier.  I feel for you!  Have a better weekend.

  10. KEL says:

    Do something just for you..something you love…maybe a new pair of shoes or a cute little something for your new bundle of joy.  Usually forcing yourself to get out of the house and interact with people (for even a short bit) will help with the bleakest mood.~K

  11. Ami says:

    Chocolate? A hot bath? Your favorite comedy? Bundle up and take a walk? Those are things that tend to make me feel better when I\’m in a funk. Hope things brighten up a bit.

  12. Sarah says:

    I think you should go for a pedi or a massage or something of that nature. That always makes a girl feel good, and even if you won\’t be showing off those toes in the world any time soon at least you\’ll know they look good when you take a shower! Oooh, and make up a batch of your favorite cookies. It\’s always nice to have some oven action going when it\’s cold out!

  13. Unknown says:

    watch oprah,
     
    read some literotica and touch yourself.!  Good for circulation
     
    when are you due and congrats!.
    B

  14. Carol says:

    Make like a cat.  Curl up in front of a window, under a blanket, with a friendly book and a cup of tea.  Enjoy doing nothing.

  15. K says:

    Vitamin D honey!!! Grapefruits are amazing for that… although not sure if you can have them while pregnant… there are so many things you can and can\’t have while pregnant… I have no clue anymore!!!  I know that I tend to get a seasonal depression and one of the aroma therapy aids I use is grapefruit infused and it truly works!
     
    I hope this funk passes.. but enjoy the quiet time while you can… life is going to get interesting!!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  16. Tracy says:

    Well I know I\’m a little late so I won\’t give suggestions, I hope you found a way out of the funk.  I know exactly how you feel, I hate winter, and I have been feeling very lonely lately.  I need a vacation but that requires extra money that I do not have.  I am thinking of going to my sister\’s in the next week or two, a dose of my nieces usually helps.  Thing is I hate going away and wondering what A is doing in the house while I am not here!!  hope you have a better weekend!!!

  17. Elizabeth says:

    Stomach flu AND preggers??  Oh, the HORROR!!!  I hope you are feeling better soon!
    My recommendation??
    Chocolate. Lots of it.  While getting a pedicure.  😉

  18. Becca says:

    Hi KM, how about getting some nice cocoa butter and giving yourself, or your tummy a nice rub and have your first mom to baby talk? It is never too soon, and doctors think that babies can hear in the womb, so why not start a conversation? Or give yourself a manicure, or do a little retail therapy on line, or think about what you want to do in the baby\’s room?
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  19. Aimee says:

    i was bored at home this day too…we could have chatted over MSN…lol..surgery went good though…
    :o) smiles are contagious…so pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  20. Bri says:

    I find that heat lamps, like the ones they use in hotel bathrooms sometimes work. You can fake your brain out that it\’s sunshine and they aren\’t for tanning, so I imagine it would be a lot safer.

Leave a Reply

