Kids are Silly

What She Wore: grey Air Force Sweatshirt; blue jeans; grey, long-sleeve t-shirt.

I had a stomach virus this past week, and was forced to take a day off of work.  When I came back, the kids wanted all the gory details.  I finally told them that I’d been throwing up, and tried to get on with teaching.  One of the kids tells me, you better be careful or you’re going to throw up that baby.

You can’t throw up a baby. We have studied body systems, but we don’t study human reproduction.

But isn’t the baby in your stomach? One of the other kids asked.

At this point I had a perfect image of the baby in my stomach like a little bird:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Makes complete sense, right?

KM

Ok, I know this is a little weird, but sometimes I’m a little weird.

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Kids are Silly

  1. g says:

    Only kids would be able to visualize something like that.  That was soooooooooo cute.  Hope you are feeling better.
     
    g.j.

  2. Jaysey says:

    LOL!  that\’s just fabulous!  I love it!

  3. Stacy says:

    Too funny.  I never would have thought about throwing up the baby.  Kids are so funny.
     
    -S.

  4. K says:

    OK… that was funny… I used to think that babies were carried in our stomaches too.. that is until sex ed class…. and then I was officially grossed out!!!  I do hope you are feeling better… and the grapefruit thing works amazingly well…
     
    On a fun note… YEAH COLTS!!!!
     
    OK… and yes… one has to be open first and foremost to receiving love and that I am… just have a few kinks to work out!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  5. Carol says:

    I love kids\’ logic.  It really does make it\’s own sort of sense.  After all my stomach always felt funny when I was pregnant.

  6. Becca says:

    Too funny…and yes you do have a heck of an imagination mom…just think you are going to get to use it an awful lot in the next 18 or so years! 😉
    Have a great day!
    Becca

  7. Tracy says:

    Haha that is hilarious, I love your kids!!
     
    Yes I LOVE Pat Green, he is awesome, I have never seen him in concert but have heard he puts on a great show!
     
    Thanks for your comment, it means a lot, and you said it exactly right – the problem is it\’s nothing that is an easy fix and I can\’t just walk away.  Ugh! 

  8. Antonella says:

    LOL!!! Kids are funny!! I love your picture!!
    I hope you are feeling better. I\’m sorry I\’m so nosey, have you found out the sex yet????
    Antonella

  9. Nadine says:

    You are so cute!! I love the drawing!
     I have moved….velvettush.blogspot.com…..come visit!!

  10. Nadine says:

    You are so cute!! I love the drawing!
     I have moved….velvettush.blogspot.com…..come visit!!

  11. Nadine says:

    You are so cute!! I love the drawing!
     I have moved….velvettush.blogspot.com…..come visit!!

  12. Nadine says:

    You are so cute!! I love the drawing!
     I have moved….velvettush.blogspot.com…..come visit!!

  13. Nadine says:

    You are so cute!! I love the drawing!
     I have moved….velvettush.blogspot.com…..come visit!!

  14. Christi says:

    I love that picture!  Makes sense to me!  I hope you are feeling better all around! 

  15. Brenda says:

    So that\’s why my kids think they were born in the toilet!  Thanks for the visual.  It\’s all so clear to me now. 🙂  Take good care of you and that little bun in the oven, KM.
     

  16. Sarah says:

    That is just plain funny! I love hearing about things your kids say.

  17. Aimee says:

    lol…loved the picture….made it that much funnier…
    :o) smiles are contagious…so pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  18. siobhan says:

    Hahaha, thanks for the chuckle.  The drawing really added to it!!  classic. 
    Siobhan

  19. Unknown says:

    That is so cute!  I am a teacher too and I have a funny story along the same line.  I teach first grade and last year the teacher next door was pregnant (and she had horrible morning sickness).  One day, one of her students came into my room and exclaimed very loudly, "Miss C, Mrs. Y is in the bathroom throwing up her baby!"  It was the cutest thing ever!  I still crack up thinking about it!
     
    Congrats too, by the way!!!!!

  20. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Your kids are the best, KM!  That was too funny.  Hope you are doing well and that the virus is completely gone.

  21. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Isn\’t this sad that kids that age don\’t know where a baby is.  No wonder in 2007 we have issues with teen pregnancy.  For crying out loud I learned that in 5th grade. 

  22. Sherry says:

    Kids say the darnedest things!!!  LOL!! When my 2nd nephew was born, my first nephew was about 3 1/2, he swore his brothers name was Gravy, instead of Brady!

  23. Unknown says:

    Oh I know something that will cheer you…check out me new baby pics on me site little mama! AND just think those cute baby boy clothes could be yours!!! LOL I started a sentence with "AND" don\’t you just love it?
     
    I suppose I can wear an airforce sweatshirt now to? Next week is COT graduation…I\’m kind of excited about going. The husband found "Chairforce" shirts and thought they were funny….
     
    xoxo…cheer up you\’ve got it easy right now…I was up for hours last night w/ gassy wa wa baby.
     
    Mercy

  24. Toni says:

    That. Is. Awesome. You should be weird more often; I like it.
    The drawing…is interesting…you know, that "picture" brings to mind a dream I had while I was pregnant with Cheyenne; at one of my appointments the doctor gave me a huge chocolate chip cookie to take home and put in a glass case–in months it would grow into a baby. But I kept picking at it, eating it just a little bit at a time until one day I realized it was almost gone–I was horrified in my dream, but I ate the rest…
    Now that\’s weird.

  25. Christine says:

    ROFL!
    I hope you are feeling better.
     
    Christine

  26. Antonella says:

    Don\’t be scared of the labor, the more nervous you are, the worse it will be. I can honestly say, it was a lot better than I thought it would be. It\’s not really like you see on tv. You just have to be prepared and know that there\’s a rest after every contraction! When the time gets closer, you can ask any questions you want…even if they\’re gross, I\’m not shy at all!
    It\’s great that you can take a year off. it gives you a lot of time to bond with your baby, you\’ll love it!
    take care,
    Antonella

  27. Unknown says:

    This was just too adorable!  Reminds me of my six year old asking me two weeks ago in the middle of lunch at Arby\’s "Mommy how do babies get in Mommy\’s tummies?"  Complete random thing – my 15 year old daughter turns to me and says "Yeah MOM, how do they get in there?"  She loved every moment of that.  lol

  28. Gina says:

    that picture is priceless! go on, put a gold star on it and  hang it on the fridge!

  29. ncjenn2nd says:

    I loved this post, and especially your little picture!  Kids can be really funny, but I am surprised that kids that age still don\’t understand that.  Maybe I just had great parents and they were able to make it clear to me.  Shouldn\’t everyone understand this mess?  Then maybe we would have less teen pregnancies.  Interesting. Either way, you made me giggle!

  30. Dawn says:

    I like it when you\’re a little weird…

Leave a Reply

