Ups and Downs

What She Wore: Grey pants; white, long-sleeve tee; navy blue sweater; black snow boots.


Today was ONE OF THOSE DAYS.  You know, it’s Valentine’s day, and the kids are a little crazy.  Well, one pushed me over the edge today.  Honestly, it wasn’t one–it was the whole class.  No matter what happened, if I paused for a second, they would turn around and start talking to whoever was closest.  There was even a moment where I was thisclose to muttering some profanity (but, of course, being the stunning professional that I am, I caught myself).  After I started feeling my head start to pound in anger, I let the other teacher take over for a few minutes, and went to the bathroom to cool down.  When you get to this point, you don’t feel like such a great teacher. 

But sometimes, there’s a good point in a day like that. 

I work with two different teachers–math and science.  The first half of my day with one, and the second with another.  As I headed toward science, one the students came out of the room and spoke to me:  Mrs. M, the kids are being bad and there, and I told them they better watch out–Mrs. M is coming, and she don’t play.

There is no higher compliment.

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ups and Downs

  1. g says:

    I agree.  That is a great compliment.  Unfortanately for us, we had a closure today because we had 3 in of snow….could of been a delay so now our VDay parties will have to be tomorrow.  It should be the same in the morning for us because the party won\’t start until 1:30 and they think the party should start at 8:00 a.m. and end at 2:30!! 
     
    g.j.

  2. Becca says:

    You don\’t play! I like that compliment! How are you doing? Did you have a nice day? Did hubs do something nice for you and the bambino?
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  3. Jaysey says:

    Yeah…me too…when I reread that later, I thought what is Mathor HIstory?  Oh… {I have a sticky space bar}

  4. Jaysey says:

    And a second letter capitalization problem.  I never get my finger off the shift key quickly enough…

  5. Nadine says:

     Homey don\’t play that game!!
     
     Do you remember that show in Living Color?? One of the Characters for the skits was Homey the Clown…Damon Wayans…Homey don\’t play that game was his phrase.

  6. Tracy says:

    Ha, your kids just say the cutest things.  That is awesome – shows they respect you!!!
     
    Glad you got your chicken nuggets  🙂

  7. Toni says:

    LOL, at least those kids respect you!
    I was reading the post about "home" and missing home, and wanting your children to know where "home" is…I don\’t know if this would make you feel any better, but my dad was in the military while we were growing up, and we moved around every couple years. A huge advantage to that: your family can become strong, because in new places, all we had was each other. New schools, new experiences…we did a lot of sight seeing as a family wherever we happened to live. When I was in high school my dad retired and we settled down in my mom\’s hometown, Pensacola.  I consider it to be my home, no matter where I happen to go from here on out, but it\’s because that\’s where people that love me are–home truly is where the heart is. Make the most out of living in a lot of places…your kids will thank you for it and they\’ll learn that it\’s not where you live that makes you happy…
    I\’ve totally gone off rambling now…you get the idea here.
    Hope you had a good valentine\’s day and that those students are all settled down now…I guess St. Patrick\’s Day is the next big hurdle…Toni

  8. Nora says:

    Ahhh, there is always the drawback to doing something well, people want you to do it.  : )  So did you set those kiddos straight?

  9. ncjenn2nd says:

    There is no higher compliment.  Congratulations on being tough!

  10. Unknown says:

    They speak the truth, huh?  LOL  I\’ve gotten to that point a couple times while teaching – and I only have each kid individually for 30 minutes!  Sometimes they just get the best of you.  It\’s good that you recognized you needed a break – and took it.Hopefully the rest of the week has been better!Have a great Friday!God bless 🙂

  11. Gina says:

    looks like a certain teacher has the respect of her students!!  Or as Nadine said: "Homey don\’t play that…"

  12. K says:

    OOHH… what a great compliment!!!
    (Happy Valentine\’s week honey!)
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  13. Wahzat says:

    That\’s great!! What more could you need to help ease the stress of the morning!

  14. Aimee says:

    lol..always good to be the one they are scared of…more respect…
    :o) smiles easy to give away they are free… :o) very contagious… :o) so pass one to anyone … :o) to people that you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o) in no time the whole world will be smiling :o)

Leave a Reply

