Your Turn

What She Wore: striped PJ pants, LSU t-shirt, bare feet.  Don’t you just love three day weekends?

Today I’m wondering what the general public thinks.  I don’t know if people who read my blog count, but this is as close to the general public as I’m going to get.
 
Do you think there are some kids who don’t need to attend school?  If so, who?
 
I ask this question for a reason.  From time to time, I find there are kids in school that I think are a little scary.  In the past (not present–I won’t mention my current job), I have worked with kids who were on house arrest, kids who were arrested for having weapons at school, kids with serious mental disturbances who made written threats against the school, and kids who were what I call "loose cannons."  Basically, they had a long history of blowing up and hitting people–sometimes with little provocation. 
 
So, do you think everyone has a right to an education–regardless of the dangers possbily posed to others?  Most states have held upheld the right to an education.  The Supreme Court has either denied this right or not gotten involved. 
 
As for myself, I’m not fully baked on the whole thing–I don’t know how I feel.  I do what my job asks me to do–educate all the children.  I just wanted to know what other people thought.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Your Turn

  1. Nadine says:

     Yes all people have a right to an education but no with my grandsons!!

  2. ncjenn2nd says:

    I do think that all people have a right to an education, but they need to also understand that this is not playtime and the people who are trying to educate them are caring people who only want to help.  If someone harms a person who is only trying to help, they ought to be sent to a facility that is better equipped than the average public school to handle those that don\’t want to follow the rules and take their education when it is offered.  As teachers, we are not at fault for those students who choose behaviors that prohibit their learning.  Contrary to popular belief, teacher cannot teach those who refuse to learn.

  3. T. says:

    Hellooo!  Hope you\’re enjoying your three-day weekend, too.

  4. Sherry says:

    I absolutely believe that everyone is entitled to an education.  However, no one said that education had to be provided at the expense of other students or the teacher. And that right to a public education should be revoked if the student cannot follow the "law". Just like the right to vote and the right to drive, if certain laws are broken and someone is convicted.  Make those students who upset the balance or are a danger to others have to attend a certain school or campus.  Just like a student who is expelled, the right to the education hasn\’t been taken away, just the right to attend that certain school.

  5. Jaysey says:

    On Thursday, my friend Katy, who works with me at the college, was attacked by one of our "Gateway to College" students (these are students who for whatever reason did not complete high school and are admitted to a special program where the can complete their high school requirements while working towards an associate\’s degree on our campus as opposed to on a high school campus).  He\’s a former gang member.  He attacked her and two other students in what amounts to a challenge to authority.  He said, in his world if someone "steps up to you, you gotta step back."  So he did.  No, I don\’t think everyone has a right to education.  Education is a privelege.  Everyone has the right for the OPPORTUNITY for education, but that\’s different.  You have to earn an education.

  6. Betty says:

    Hi KM,
     
    I believe all children hav a right to education.  I do not believe they all need to be in the same arena.  I taught primary education grades K-3 and my experence is that the right of some to an education infringe upon the right of others.  Children who can function and learn in a classroom have a right to be safe (as do we) and some children cannot function in the general school population.  Now, don\’t ask me to come up with a plan for all children because I don\’t have an answer.
     
    I loved your thoughts on the gravity of motherhood.  When Christy, my first born, was born I remember that the life-change was palpable.  When I saw this baby the focus of my existence changed.  What had been important to me the day before was no longer important.  She became the center of my universe.  Her dad loved her, but I don\’t think his experience was as profound as mine had been.  Motherhood has been the hardest thing I\’ve ever done, but it has been the most important and the most rewarding.  I think you are right about the degree of "aloneness" there is in pregnancy.  The experience of giving life is extraordinary and changes us forever, but that is not a bad thing.
     
    Thank you for sharin so openly and honestly your experiences.
     
    Betty

  7. Jaysey says:

    Nope, we worked today. 😉

  8. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I think education is a right in one sense.  I beleive that if you choose to go to school and do what is expected you should have the right.  However, if you are a threat to others or you have disabilites you should be separated or not be allowed to attend.  I am absolutely positive that if you threaten people at your work, or you bring weapons, etc. you will be fired.  We coddle kids and we do not hold people accountable.  You had to know I would comment on this one. HA!

  9. Leighann says:

    Hi KM,
    I am a teacher in the primary grades and my son would not be allowed in my class.  I feel like a bodyguard this year instead of a teacher.  I\’m doing the mods for my sped kids, as usual because everyone can benefit, with another three pages of I havetas for uncoded behavior kids.  I do not have an aide, but have heard I am getting one.  We\’ll see.  I\’d love to get to some curriculum.  I am seriously considering homeschooling because I feel that even though we bust our butts, it\’s not enough, especially when you have disruptive kids.  My students\’ parents are all trying to help me, thank goodness.  I\’ve been researching HS\’ing for a year now and a few of my friends have already started.  My area has a few groups also.  Last year was the first year I did not love my job.  I loved the kids, but….
     
    I also agree with Betty.  We are alone in our pregnancies because everyone\’s is different.  Even though some of the men are over the moon with excitement, they cannot feel the tiny movements (or big at the end) or experience the growth like we do.  I loved watching TV in bed and seeing my stomach move.  I want another baby, but Hubbie is not for it.  Sam just turned two, but we\’re close to forty, so better get a move on it!!!

  10. Becca says:

    Actually, The US Constitution does not reserve the right to the feds and San Antonio v. Rodriguez found that education is not a fundamental right.
     
    I think that children should have an education, but you should also feel comfortable teaching too. I think if a threat is made or shown, then other arrangements must be made.
     
    Becca

  11. Hilary says:

    I agree with Rebecca.  I believe that all children have a right to education, but that schools also need to take control and punish the children that are dangerous.  I am appalled at how scary even elementary schools are.  My husband had a toddler who was already showing some pretty spiteful deviance, at 2!  Unfortunately, it seems that in an effort to be PC and avoid lawsuits, many schools are afraid to do anything, and that puts wonderful teachers like you at risk…so sad.. (Happy 3-day weekend on a lighter note!)

  12. -c says:

    For so many of these at-risk kids an education is the only hope they have, they just don\’t understand this. I also believe the more education we can give them the more it increases the chance they will become less a threat to the greater society. We HAVE to keep trying with these students.
     
    That doesn\’t mean, however, that we need to put our teachers and students at risk. They need to be in a place where they are, and feel, safe, and where the general society is safe from them. There are many teachers who have a special gift for working with these students. I think they should be compensated for their abilities and made to feel appreciated (as should all teachers!).
     
    In a perfect world . . .
     
    -cindy

  13. Tracy says:

    Well I was going to say absolutely all kids have a right to a public education — until I read on.  I don\’t really know anything about those situations but it sounds like it\’s a real thing out there.  I say kids have a right to an education – but if they show that they present any danger to anyone else in that school, nope that right is taken away. Just like everything else, if you abuse your rights, they get taken away.  But I still think they should be offered some kind of a program that works for them, within reasonable limits.

  14. Gina says:

    Everyone does have a right to an education…but everyone also has the right to be educated in a safe, comfortable, non-threating environment.  People that can\’t function in a class room environment for whatever the reason, probably needs a facility that addresses that problem. 

  15. Nora says:

    I think it is a priveledge that all should enjoy, but just like any priveledge, it can be taken away.  My brother was a problem child and while not violent, he certainly challenged the system and his path was different because of it.  One size fits all doesn\’t apply much in life, and certainly not in the education system.  I have wondered just that as my children attend daycare and they like the school system find it difficult to deal with a child causing problems.  I do think perhaps the education system is too hogtied to effectively manage problems.   Very few of us respect authority anymore, and where there is no authority, chaos reigns.

  16. Stacy says:

    Around here we have special schools just for that type of student.  They are not usually put in with the general population.  Yes, they should all get an education, but not intergrated with the general population.
     
    That is just my feeling.
     
    -S.

  17. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi KM, I think everyone has the right to an education but not at the risk of others.  I think \’problem\’ children should be able to attend special schools where the teachers are trained to help them.  We cannot deny them an education, but we can make special provisions for them.  If certain students are \’dangerous\’ and put other lives in danger, then it\’s clear that they should not be accommodated at \’normal\’ schools.  That\’s a tough one, though.
     
    Okay, I have a question for you.  If you were given the opportunity to go to a better school, in a better school district, would you leave your current one?

  18. CJ says:

    I\’m not sure how to respond to this one, so I\’ll put it like this.  Driving is a privilege, not a right.  It\’s a privilege you get to keep based upon a good driving record.  If you get out and drive like an idiot, cause repeated injury to others or receive several offenses, that privilige is suspended.  Education is a right, but it is also a privilege.  If that privilege is violated, it should be revoked.  Teachers aren\’t there to police the students, but more and more it would appear to be becoming a part of the new job description.  Even inmates are provided an education, just in a more "structured" environment 😉 .  Hope you enjoyed your 3 day weekend!

  19. Aimee says:

    no i think everyone should go…
    :o) smiles easy to give away they are free… :o) very contagious… :o) so pass one to anyone … :o) to people that you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o) in no time the whole world will be smiling :o)

  20. Lori says:

    I\’m a teacher from up in Northern MN.  My personal opinion and that of our staff has been this:  The supreme court has ruled that every child has the right to a free and appropriate education.  IF that student is a threat/harm to him/herself or others within the school, than that child has the right to an education outside of our school- the adult learning center, or where ever, but that\’s the deal.  The first priority has been the comfort level of the classroom- if a student is acting out like this, a) the teacher has a hard time teaching, b) the students have a hard time learning, c) the other students begin to "feed off" the one out of control.  Good luck.  PS   this includes the student using threatening and intimidating behavior to get what they want.  Document, document, document; take to a child study meeting, talk to the school liason officer, whatever it takes.  All children have the right to a free and appropriate education- that means they shouldn\’t have to put up with that kind of behavior in their classes and have the teachers time be 90% spent on the one who can\’t get it together.

  21. Jennifer says:

    Like everyone else has said- education is a privilege, and should be offered to everyone but not necessarily offered continually to people who don\’t appreciate it.

  22. Christine says:

    I think that education takes many forms.  Some children would do better learning to build cabinets than how to read books.  Of course, boys and girls learn differently because they are wired differently, and when separated, both genders tend to learn more….but in our "pc" culture that would be construed as sexist….
     
    I think that alternatives should be available if education is mandated, and that some kids should definitely get kicked out…for everyone\’s safety and well being.
     
    Christine

  23. g says:

    I agree with keltanenMakitalo.
     
    g.j.

  24. barnyardmama says:

    Funny, several people assumed I was having a problem–if I were scared to go to work, I wouldn\’t go.  Period.  No amount of money is worth it.  My year is just fine.  I just wondered how other people felt about their kids being at school with criminals and the like.
     
    KM

  25. Wahzat says:

    I think every one deserves education without a question! However maybe as Beth in a different environment if they prove disruptive to other students.

  26. Wahzat says:

    I think every one deserves education without a question! However maybe as Beth in a different environment if they prove disruptive to other students.

  27. Wahzat says:

    I think every one deserves education without a question! However maybe as Beth  says in a different environment if they prove disruptive to other students.

  28. Wahzat says:

    I think every one deserves education without a question! However maybe as Beth in a different environment if they prove disruptive to other students.

  29. Wahzat says:

    I think every one deserves education without a question! However maybe as Beth  says in a different environment if they prove disruptive to other students.

  30. Wahzat says:

    I think every one deserves education without a question! However maybe as Beth  says in a different environment if they prove disruptive to other students.

  31. Wahzat says:

    Sorry that my comment posted so many times!!

Leave a Reply

