Bits and Pieces

What She Wore: Khaki pants, white polo with a little ruffle on the collar and cuffs, brown strappy sandals.


I had a blog planned. . .but I can’t remember what it was about.  So here’s a little bit of what’s on my mind. 

Seventh grade is the year of GIRL DRAMA .  Cheerleader tryou ts are over, which means their concentration is a little better, but they’re also threatening to kick each others a$$es.  Apparently, the only way to deal with not making the team is to threaten to kill someone who did.  Ahhhh, seventh grade girls.   I think we should all get a medal of honor for surviving the whole thing.

This week we’re taking the Iowa test of Basic Skills.  For whatever reason, I think this test has made all the teachers a little philisophical.  Everywhere I go I hear teachers talking about all the basic skills that our kids lack–they can’t do multiplication tables, they can’t tell a subject from a verb, most of them are several years before grade level.  Where’s the break?  How do so many adults have these skills, and none of the kids?  Are they even valuable?  I think yes, but that’s just my opnion.

Being pregnant has presented a whole host of issues.  I have to carry a big box of test booklets, administration materials, and calculators to my room each day.  Today, I realized the box is too bulky and too heavy for me to carry.  I worked it out, but I had to tell our guidance counselor that for April’s test I’ll need someone else to carry it for me.  Sheesh–I’m pregnant, I didn’t know that meant disabled.

And speaking of pregnant. . .I’ve reached this weird point where I’m just freaked out all the time that something will happen.  I know that I’ve taken all the precautions I can, but the rest is up to God.  I have the weirdest dreams sometimes–last night I dreamed a fox tried to eat the baby, and my husband killed the fox.  How freaky is that?

OK, enough brain dribble.  I’m going blog hopping.

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Bits and Pieces

  1. Leah says:

    oy vey. Thanks for the comment. I don\’t envy their situation, not in the least. And rationally, I know we\’re better off waiting. But seeing them together like that, well, I can\’t deny feeling a pang of jealousy or two. Thankfully I have a spouse to remind me that he\’s not interested in taking that road any time soon. That news had me tearing up all week–who\’d have thought, especially when kids drive me up a wall half the time at work…? I freak out all the time that my husband is going to get squashed on the flight deck. I can only imagine the fears pregnancy brings…

  2. Leighann says:

    The dreams will only get more bizzare once you actually have a face to the baby.  When I was pregnant, I remember dreaming that I left the baby with my mother and when I went to get the baby (we didn\’t choose to find out the sex) the baby was lost.  My mother couldn\’t find the baby.  When we found the baby, it was actually my sister\’s baby who\’s almost 15 months older than Sam.  Maybe this means I shouldn\’t leave Sam with my mother…heheheh

  3. Nadine says:

     Oh I remember Tryouts….and I didn\’t have to make threats to make the squad. Natural talent works every time…that and having a loud mouth.
      Is it possible to have a cart….like one of those for the video machine?? for your supplies??
     
    Spring break soon!! Woo Hoo….big plans?? Possibly the last vacation before KatyJr arrives.
     
     And I have forgotten…..when are we due?? Email me the date if you feel more comfortable.
     
    Hugs!!

  4. CJ says:

    I have a six year old step-daughter who is the queen of drama!  Then I look at her mother and I see how she comes by this skill.  I almost shudder to think what it will be like when she hits her teens!  Hopefully, a little positive influence in her life will mellow it out.  I don\’t envy you there!  The weird dreams are the result of freaky hormones.  This too shall pass.  You\’re going to be just fine!  Have you considered getting one of those little pull behind shopping carts that you can get at Wal Mart to load all your classroom materials in?  I have an extra long driveway and it\’s a long jaunt to my kitchen.  With these loaner legs I\’ve become very inventive.  Just a suggestion.  It\’ll be great for toting all that extra baby stuff later, too!  It\’s nearly the weekend….go home, pamper yourself, and put your aching feet up!  Great big cyber hugs!

  5. Antonella says:

    LOL, when you\’re pregnant, your brain slows down a little, you\’ll only get more forgetful!!! I had strange dreams too that\’s normal and I was always scared that something bad would happen. The only time I wasn\’t was when the doc said he could be born with no problems, at about 35 weeks. Otherwise I was always scared. When are you due anyway??
    Antonella

  6. Stacy says:

     I always had very weird and vivid dreams when I was pregnant.  Some were scary, and others were just plain weird. 
     As far as the first part – I am so thankful I have boys!
     
    -S.

  7. Tracy says:

    Ya, 7th Grade is a rough age, but just think you are going to be such an expert on 7th Graders after you teach them for many years!
    LOL about being pregnant not disabled!!  I would probably be worried too that something will happen, that dream was funny!  But you are going to be a great mom and I am sure no fox is going to attack the baby!  🙂  My best friend from college just had her first baby on Sunday, she\’s the cutest little baby ever!  And I can\’t believe my friend is a mom!!

  8. Becca says:

    Egads,  I can\’t even imagine having to make threats like that just because you didn\’t get something that you clearly think that you are entitled to. What is it with kids these days. They do need to be careful. Those kind of threats in some states, like mine, are considered criminal. Good grief, by 7th grade, one must realize, one doesn\’t always get what one wants. Or is that the all about me society some children are raised in? Sorry, Katy that just peeves me. I wonder if these people think about what comes out of their mouths and their actions and cause and effect.Thanks for the heads up on my entry. I was doing that all day yesterday. Major brain fart. Even Mitch called me on that more than once. And no I am not a blonde! 🙂 Yeah, what is your due date? And the color is ? (I know that..)

  9. Christi says:

     Your dreams are normal!  Pregnancy does make you have weird dreams.  I had one girlfriend who always had dreams about her labor and delivery and every time, she ended up giving birth to a different kind of animal!  You will definitely worry about your kiddo a lot, but you are probably safe from foxes! 🙂 

  10. Sarah says:

    Have I mentioned how jealous I am that you\’re wearing sandals?
     
    Seventh and eighth grade were definitely the most drama-filled years for me. You\’re trying to grow up, but not really growing up. I totally forgot about the Iowa Basics! HA! I used to hate those things. Just because it was such a bore for however many days to just take tests and fill in those dang circles constantly. Ugh.
     
    LOL about carrying the box of tests. I\’m sure there will be a lot of little things you\’ll realize aren\’t as easy to do with a pregnant belly! I can bet that you\’re one of those super cute pregnant women, though.

  11. Wahzat says:

    I am sure you have read that the wierd dreams are all part of being pregnant. That is the one part that baffled me, I mean why at a time when you need all the sleep that you can muster , your sleep is interrupted by night terrors. Sigh!! Oh and I was Miss Paranoia.
     
    I am glad that you still slip in little baby updates. Thanks
     
    Have a great weekend.
     
     

  12. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi KM, I smiled at the fox dream.  You and your baby will be fine……….and at least you know your husband will kill the fox (hahaha)!  Don\’t worry……have faith dear Katy.

  13. WINDOW LIVE says:

    You need to get a little cart.  I see people at school who pack their stuff on little pull behinds that carry luggage.  Weird dreams huh?  Are you eating late at night…ha, ha!  That\’s what my mother used to say.  Don\’ t eat late at night you\’ll have bad dreams.  I am not commenting on the school stuff you know how I feel.  I made my kids do multiplication tables everynight in elementary school.  I was so upset that my daughter didn\’t know the difference between verbs, nouns and pronouns in 5th grade I got her a tutor.  Hey I commented.  I am outta here!  Have a great weekend.

  14. Nora says:

    Wierd pregnancy dreams.  How I miss those, NOT!  And while I hated not being able to do what I wanted when I was pregnant, let people pamper you, it\’s nice!

  15. Elizabeth says:

    "Seventh grade is the year of GIRL DRAMA ."
    Thank goodness I still have a few years to go for that.  I\’m barely surviving first grade!!
    I hope all is well…  rub that belly!!

  16. K says:

    LOL… I heard from many of my coworkers about their strange dreams… hormones combined with fear… not always condusive to relaxing dreams! 
     
    Speaking of teachers… not sure if you visit Mocha Momma\’s blog but after a few too many pesonal attacks… she\’s pretty much giving up on her blog – at least at the moment.  Its horrible!  You and her are my favorite teacher blogs!!! 
     
    I think I have crossed over to a not too bad spot for house hunting – not dreading it as much.  I am hopeful about one in particular but we shall see what happens there…
     
    Take care… be good to yourself and can\’t wait to meet the baby to be!!!  I used to create these \’baby on board\’ thingys but it would say \’baby in progress\’ for my coworker… she loved them… and she could get away with a bit more than what she normally would!  Consider it!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  17. Cheryl says:

    Buy one of those little shopping carts!  I would guess that Wal-Mart or Target would have some version of them,
    I bought mine (I have 3 LOL) in Hong Kong.  They are so convenient and you can wheel all your stuff to class unless
    you have to go up stairs!  I don\’t guess most schools have an elevator there!  I use the carts a lot particularly when
    I used to travel to different schools and had to carry lots of materials.  There is one with wheels which looks like a
    milk crate or you can wire one of those little metal lightweight luggage carts to a crate and make your own!  Sure
    saves steps in the long run cause you can take everything!!!!  
     
    Don\’t worry about the dreams, I think that everyone has crazy dreams related to the pressure that they are under!  I know
    that sometimes I even dream about tv shows that I have seen and the plots????  Crazy HUH?  Hope you are doing well, hang in there and enjoy getting things ready for the new baby!

  18. Cheryl says:

    Oh, sorry, forgot to mention, I went nuts too, bought 6 pairs of shoes and 3 boots……. 

Leave a Reply

