A Little Clarity. . . and some random stuff

What She Wore: Navy blue skirt with little white polka dots; white polo with a ruffle around the collar and cuffs; navy blue slides with a small white bow, and a kitten heel.

Having a blog is a great chance to get a little clarity.  Sometimes, you realize something after you’ve gone to the trouble of writing it, and other times someone else has to point them out to you. 
 
Moving is one of the hardest parts of being a military spouse.  I mean, I don’t like deployments, but I take them in relative stride.  But moving is another story.  I put down roots, invest myself in a community and it’s children, and then I get the pleasure of leaving all that behind and starting over again.  This was one of the big reasons I didn’t want to move again.  People know me, I have friends at work and at church, and I’m starting to find my way in this place.   
 
But yesterday I got an e-mail that gave me a little clarity. 
 
After reading my latest blog, my brother sent me an e-mail letting me know how excited he was about our plans to move home.  I realize that I have roots there too.  Maybe I don’t have roots that I put down myself, but I have a different kind: family, history, culture. 
 
And all the people I feel bad about leaving behind?  Well, I left behind friends and family, and favorite restuarants–at least this time I’ll be returning to some of these things too.  It could be worse. 
 
So, I’m gearing up: a baby and a move!
 
KM
 
PS: Forgot forgot!  Have I mentioned that my school is specifically designed for working with kids with low socio-economic status?  Did I mention that 85% of the kids I teach recieve government assistance to help pay for their school lunch?  Well, we got a new girl today and she is none of those things.  She’s moved to our school from one the most affluent private schools in the area.  I won’t get into the whys of the whole thing, but I am SO interested.  I think this will be complete culture shock for her.  Complete.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Little Clarity. . . and some random stuff

  1. Jaysey says:

    Yay–I\’m glad you\’re feeling so positive. 
    I\’m sure it will be quite the culture shock for her.  It should be interesting–very interesting.

  2. THOMAS says:

    My wife and I moved from the LA (we grew up there) to the SF area. We loved the bay area, but when we adopted our three kids we knew we had to be back home. Its a good move, that\’s where you need to be.
     
    Tom

  3. Betty says:

    Hi KM,
     
    I\’m thrilled that you are going home and that your baby will have the opportunity to grow up where you grew up.  You can go home again because folks from New Orleans never really leave.  Our hearts and souls always remain there so it is a great reunion when our bodies follow.  I am happy for you and your family.
     
    Betty

  4. Nadine says:

     You silly goose! That is what I tried to convey to you a long time ago…..Moving back to Louisanna was the best idea…back to be with family. You are adding to your family and what better time to do it. Grab this opportunity by the horns and wrestle it to the ground! Sure you leave behind people you care about but that is what the phone is for, emails and letters, weekend trips back to visit friends. My mother inlaw moved all over the states following her hubby as he preached in different churches and has maintained several close friendships for over 60 years…..you are not leaving these people behind you are starting another chapter to a great life….one that you love as a child and now will pass that history and culture on to your babies!!
     So I guess today I am no name….aka The Harlot in the Red Bra!

  5. Becca says:

    I am so glad that you are moving home! What a blessing!

  6. Nora says:

    While I am still in the transition stage, we just moved home and so far it is good.  Like right now I am sick and although hubby is working I have aunts, grandmothers and so on to help out. I\’ll miss where we used to live, but it\’s not like we won\’t be back visiting fairly regularly either.  I hope the move goes smoothly for you!    I also could relate to  your post about staying home.  I have been trying to decide it.  I have been home full time, worked from home, worked part time and worked full time.  I think part time in a way was best.  The hard part for me, and probably most moms, is finding the right child care.  If it helps, I\’ve never heard anyone sey they regreted staying home.

  7. Mrsbrown2k1 says:

    Oh I am so excited to hear about your MOVE!!!  That is so exciting.  I am admit I am very jealous. I\’d give anything to move back to Southern California.  I miss my family and friends so much. Life in TX is awesome but it\’s lacking family and friends.  With a new baby on the way, this is the perfect time.  You\’ll want all your family near by as you and your husband experiance this exciting new adventure in your lives. 
     
    Tam in Texas

  8. Sarah says:

    I\’m glad to hear you\’re feeling more positive about your move. I\’ve always thought it would be hard to be in a military family for just that reason. I suppose that is partly because I\’ve never really moved. I lived in the same house my whole life until I went to college. My parents live in the same town that they grew up. My roots run deep and I don\’t think I could quite leave that behind. I\’ve always been kind of envious of people that can move someplace in another state and be happy and make new friends. I\’m just so used to my "norm" that I\’m not quite sure if I could handle it!

  9. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM!  I look forward to hearing stories of how this new student is adapting………she might surprise everyone:) 

  10. Antonella says:

    I be the new girl had a heart attack on her first day!
    It\’s good that you\’re feeling good about the move. I can\’t really say how I\’d deal, I moved out of my parents house to just less than 5 minutes away.
    About the pumping, it\’s annoying at first, but eventaully you can do it less and less and you get more milk per pump. I\’ve gotten to the point where I can sleep sitting up and pumping!!
    I\’m worried my stretch marks will become visable! It\’s funny cuz when you get engorged (boobs full of milk) youlook like you just had a boob job, they get huge and hard, it\’s kinda cool, BUT, your skin stretches. I had a few times this week where he didn\’t feed and I didn\’t pump enough, so I\’m worried my stretch marks will stretch across my chest or something! Oh well!!
    Take care,
    Antonella 

  11. Aimee says:

    if being ina new school isn\’t enough of a change i think the atmosphere sure will be…maybe her family doesn\’t have that money anymore and this will be a good change for her…as for changes…you are going ot go through a lot of them…and maybe som will be good and some will be bad…but the fact is that you have people where ever you will go that will be friends…you just have to look for them….
    :o) smiles are contagious…so pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  12. Gina says:

    If you have to move, its nice to move to a place you already know inside and out! 

  13. Unknown says:

    Oh man, moving is exhausting!  I can\’t imagine having to do it while being pregnant!  Good luck with everything.God bless 🙂

  14. g says:

    I know what you mean…85% of our school is on free/reduced lunch.  Since this is a small town, the cost of living is not that high and most kids have what they want.  Do you know what I mean?  Anyways, they are academically low…very low…this group is the lowest group of readers and math acheivement I have had in 10 years!!  I cannot stress how low they are.  Well, in late October, we got the "new" girl.   We were all amazed…at first..by her…height.  She is taller than me and I am 5\’6"  All the kids were in awe by her.  Then we got to see her ability in academics and I have talked with her one on one and she has traveled the world…was born in a different country, but lived in NM for the majority of her life…has parents that have very strict rules and STICK to them…which truly amazes the kids.  An example…on friday\’s, I give out a treat or some sort of reward for students who have had an excellent week…academically and behaviorally.  One day, she took a chocolate bar.  She asked if she could put it in her backpack…of course, i said…she then went on to explain…because the kids were surprised that she didn\’t slam it…that she was only allowed to eat chocolate on saturdays…why?…they all asked…because she loves chocolate soooooooo much that she would eat it all the time if allowed…and her family only eats chocolate on saturdays because they have family time when they all choose a treat and enjoy their time together…wow…oh and tv?..nope…only on weekends…if they have earned it…and grades…A+\’s in all subjects…some over 100%!!  Did the students push her away?  No.  She is friends with all her classmates and I feel that she teaches them about priorities…oh and she is great at basketball as she ended up on some of her classmates teams…and I got to hear what a great player she is.  She fit right in and although she is "rich" in life, she doen\’t have all the other things that the other kids have and it does not bother her.  I noticed that several of my students\’ grades went up after she came and she tutors many of them…as many students go to her when they need help and she helps…not a problem for me…how amazing is that?!  I don\’t know what it would be like if she was rich in money too..although..i think they are pretty well off…they are not spoiled with "things."  If she was spoiled with "things" there may have been some "jealousy" issues there.  I don\’t know?!  She is a great, well-rounded kid.  Sooooo, I wonder…how it would have turned out.  Let me know how this turns out.  I\’m highly curious about it. 
     
    Oh, and good luck with the move.  I have never moved out of my little town…born and raised here and so was my husband.  I teach at the elementary school I attended!  And have a house on the same street that I grew up on!!  How crazy is that.  And I am happy as my mom lives right down the street and my dad lives within a mile and my in-laws live right around the corner.  It is sooooooo great! Good luck.
     
    g.j.

  15. K says:

    Reading your news gave me the warm and fuzzies for you dear Katie!!!  So much is happening… I guess that\’s what I felt when I said something was going to happen in February… the momentum started in February… coming to life in March!  How very excitting for you to return home, to loving family, history and support!!!  I am keeping toes and fingers crossed that everything works out perfectly!!!
     
    YEAH!
     
    Oh… and very interesting about your new girl at school… very interesting!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  16. Nadine says:

      I have post some of my shoes in a photo album!!! They are so cute!! But more importantly I have a video will give you a giggle!!
     
     Hugs!!!!
     
    I guess I am glad it didn\’t take….."My School" is the video!
     
    Really I only clicked it 3 times!

Leave a Reply

