Drama Rama

What She Wore: Navy blue running pants; white t-shirt; navy blue tennis shoes.  I am getting SO big that nothing fits!!! Oh well, I guess that means more shopping!


Something pretty crazy happened this week. 
 
On Wednesday morning my husband got up at 5:30, got dressed, and headed out the door to work. 
 
Only one problem: his car wasn’t there
 
Apparently, it had been stolen in the middle of the night.  Now, he leaves his car unlocked, so I have no problem understanding how they got into the car, but I don’t have a clue as to how they got it out of the driveway.  It’s a used car that we bought for cash, so we don’t have any insurance on it other than liability.  Of course, I’m upset because I don’t want to shell out a couple of grand to replace the car. 
 
So, we called the police, filed a report, I took him to work, and then arrived just a few minutes late to my own job. 
 
At around eleven-thirty I call my husband to see if there was any news.  Lo and behold, we’ve heard from the police.  Apparently, the car was found around the corner parked in a neighbor’s driveway.  It was left there in place of her brand-new Mercedes which the thieves had escaped with. 
 
My only thought: thank God my husband drives a crappy car!
 
Low on gas, low on coolant, and let’s face it, no Mercedes.  Apparantly, the thieves had traded up
 
KM
 
PS: Well, as I suspected, I’ve gotten anemia which means I am exausted nearly all of the time.  I’ve been a walking ghost at work and excursions to look at shoes will leave me requiring a long, long nap.  Luckily, my Spring Break has started and I’ll be off to visit my folks this week, and hopefully eat a lot of good food and get pampered a bit.  All this is to say Sorry that I haven’t been around much, and I probably won’t be back around for another week.  By then, hopefully these iron tablets will have kicked in, and I’ll be back to my usual self.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Drama Rama

  1. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Thank God your hubby doesn\’t drive a Mercedes indeed!  I do hope they find the culprits.  Have a good trip to NO, and hope you feel better and stronger soon.  Enjoy your spring break……………mine is a distant memory already:)

  2. CJ says:

    I ditto Sherry\’s comment!  I went through the whole anemia thing with my first pregnancy.  The iron tablets made a WORLD of difference.  Give them a few days and you\’ll see.  Enjoy your visit with your family and definitely soak up all the pampering.  Nothing makes a woman feel better than that!

  3. K says:

    LOL… strange but not so strange really… if your gonna steal a car… might as well be in style right?  Scarry that they could steal a car without a key – even a mercedes.  Sounds like kids really – amateurs – is your hubby\’s car being dusted for prints?
     
    Well – you get some rest… some iron… and enjoy your family and time in NO!!!  Can\’t wait to hear the stories!
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  4. Jaysey says:

    Thank goodness for crappy cars!  Sometimes it\’s a blessing we aren\’t loaded, isn\’t it?

  5. Antonella says:

    I can\’t believe your car got stolen! That sucks!!! I would have been looking all over, like maybe I parked it somewhere else, where could it be???
    I was sightly anemic too. That\’s pretty normal. But it sucks, cuz you\’re already exhausted just from being preg, then the anemia makes it worse.
    Breastfed babies do get bigger faster, breast milk is better digested, so they gain more weight, but then later, formula fed babies have a tendency to be overweight. Hope you enjoy spring break!!
    Antonella

  6. Tracy says:

    That is crazy, yet hilarious, that they traded up for the Mercedes!!  I have a habit of not only leaving my car unlocked, but leaving the keys in it — I know that\’s horrible and I am trying to remember to take my keys inside!!
     
    Hope you have a great Spring Break and get the rest you need — I can imagine it\’s not easy being pregnant and being a teacher having to be on your feet a lot and everything!

  7. Tracy says:

    That is crazy, yet hilarious, that they traded up for the Mercedes!!  I have a habit of not only leaving my car unlocked, but leaving the keys in it — I know that\’s horrible and I am trying to remember to take my keys inside!!
     
    Hope you have a great Spring Break and get the rest you need — I can imagine it\’s not easy being pregnant and being a teacher having to be on your feet a lot and everything!

  8. Nadine says:

     I can\’t believe they didn\’t have you taking iron pills all along! That was a must 20 years ago.
     That is too funny about getting the car stolen…..I used to do that. Not steal cars! But just leave my car unlocked sometimes with the key in it! But Roy came along and said. "It\’s not much but it\’s yours and if you didn\’t have it you would be in a bind. Take the keys. Lock it up. Don\’t give some punk a joyride." So I hope the Hub will learn a little something….it may be junk but it is your junk!! 
    Mrs Mecedes just got that car too!!! Bummer!

  9. Sarah says:

    That\’s so funny that your car was good enough until they got around the corner and saw that Mercedes! LOL!!
     
    Hope your week off gives you the time you need to rest and relax and get back up to your normal self. Have a good time with your folks!

  10. Gina says:

    !!!!  I\’m cracking up over here, although I probably shouldn\’t be! I\’m glad that your car was recovered, but I\’m so sorry that it was stolen in the first place.  Not something anyone would want to wake up and find!  Imagine the other people\’s suprise when their mercedes was replaced with…well…not their car!
     
    Take care of yourself and get plenty of rest during your break! ENJOY!

  11. Big Dog Mom says:

    I\’m surprised, too, that they didn\’t put you on iron pills right away.  I\’ve heard commercials for years that you should start Folic Acid if you are even thinking of being pregnant.  I remember my poor older sister having to take Liquid Iron (blech!) and Liquid Prenatal vitams because she can\’t swallow pills.  
     
    I\’m glad that they found Hubby\’s car, but find it totally hilarious that it was left in place of a Mercedes!!  As bad as the shock that you and Hubby woke up to find your car gone – imagine the poor neighbor to find a car in place of the Mercedes. 

  12. Becca says:

    Oh man KM, that is too much! Go, get some rest and have a good time. See you when you get back!

  13. barnyardmama says:

    Every woman of reproductive age who\’s having sex should be taking pre-natals, or at least a multi-vitamin which provides folic acid.  The reason for this is that the weeks before you find out you\’re pregnant are the most critical for spine development, and folic acid helps prevent spinal defects.  I\’ve been on the regimen since before I was pregnant, and my vitamins do have iron in them, but a lot of women become anemic in this stage in pregnancy–that baby just needs more of everything in the home stretch.  Plus, I hate to eat meat, so it\’s hard for me to get enough iron from my food.

  14. Tracy says:

    About my friend -no it has nothing to do with her being worried about alcohol, heck we had talked about going to play putt putt, not even go out drinking!  (which I would have liked to do but was compromising).  She also said she can\’t mow her grass because of it.  Ya I know, it\’s all excuses, you know how sometimes people want to be lazy and now she has something to blame it on.  But I\’m not buying it, I\’ve known plenty of people with diabetes who were perfectly capable of mowing their grass 🙂   Funny thing is that sitting on the couch nonstop is only going to make it worse.   I need to find a way to tell her all of this in a way that is positive, after all, I do want her to feel better but I don\’t want her to get mad that I\’m telling it like it is!

  15. Sarah says:

    LOL about the bar thing…I live in such a small town that I remember being in the bar a lot as a kid, too. Probably more than I should have been, but that\’s life back then. Plus when I brought T in there it was in the morning (like 10:30) and there was only one customer in there. I just though it was funny because I set him right up at the bar and he ordered his M&Ms from the bartender (my mom\’s boss) and gave him the money and then proceeded to eat the whole bag. He cracks me up. As much as I\’m going to be happy to be at my own house when his parents come home, I\’m gonna miss him!

  16. Betty says:

    Hi KM,
     
    Glad you got your car back!  Have fun at home.  I\’m going back in April for our family reunion.  Have fun.
     
    Betty

  17. Aimee says:

    lol…well it\’s bad that it got taken but good that you got it back…
    :o) smiles are contagious…so pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  18. siobhan says:

    That is funny, although I feel sorry for the neighbor with the Mercedes, that car is history.  My hubby once got a 79 Ford F250 with double shocks and a 351 Cleveland motor (which, apparently is very good)  He spent weeks restoring it.  We had paid cash for it and just had liability.  It got stolen out of our driveway and was never seen again since.  The cops told my husband that it was probably on it\’s way to Mexico.  Apparently they sell them to the Federales to chase drug smugglers!
    Enjoy your trip home and I\’m sure that the iron pills will have you up and running (or are you waddling?  I was!) in no time!!
    Siobhan

  19. Christine says:

    Forgive me for not stopping by in a while.  My internet has been spotty at best (supposedly DSL, but that might stand for dirst slow link).  I love all the shoes you have been posting this week.  You feet still look quite cute even if you feel like you are getting really big.  My feet always swelled up.  I hope all works out with hubby\’s plan to get you moved home so you can be around family for the bambino.  I will add a little prayer that your iron pills help and you feel less exhausted!  I wound up on prescription iron during one pregnancy because I had become so terribly anemic.
     
    Lord,
    Bless Katy and her husband.  You have a plan for their future,  Guide them along the path you would have them take.  Bless Katy with health and energy for the remainder of her pregnancy. 
     
    Amen

Leave a Reply

