More from the Homefront

What She Wore: Khaki capris; black and tan polka dot shirt with a v-neck; black strappy sandals. 


Sorry about the last post.  Something about being home just puts you back in those old habits–one of them is whining about your mother.  She has, in fact, been very supportive–especially when I talk about all the granola parenting techniques I’m interested in.  And she’s not the only one with the advice–every person we talk to has an idea about where Hub should apply for jobs, where we should live, etc., etc. 
 
But all the noise is really helping the Hub and I get some focus about what WE want–the rest of the world be damned.  And a visit home makes you notice all the things that you like and dislike about your hometown. 
 
Have I mentioned that I’m a glutton for punishment?  I got an e-mail about a new program they’re doing in New Orleans–they’re recruiting teachers and non-teachers from all over the country to come and work in the Charter schools that have been created in the wake of Katrina.  New Orleans had a failing school district before the storm, and then they lost resources, man power, and weeks of school.  The program is like the Peace Corps, but in this country, or if you’ve heard of Teach for America–very similar.   The website, teachnola.org, describes the ideal candidate: anyone who wants to address educational inequalities.  They’re looking for people to teach math, science, foreign language, music, special education and high school English.  It’s like they printed the ad with my name on it!!!  Educational inequalities?  Been there, done that, bought the t-shirt.  Math? check.  Science? check? Special Ed? check.  High school English—well, I haven’t actually taught that, but that’s my area of certification.
 
I’m using all the energy I have not to apply.  But if stay-at-home mom doesn’t work for me–you know right where to find me: working in a place where I feel needed.  I’m a junkie or something.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More from the Homefront

  1. Becca says:

    You both have to follow your hearts as it is your futures. Go for your dreams, you only come through this life once. Make your mark!

  2. Sarah says:

    That sounds like an absolutely amazing program! And, of course, perfect for you. It\’s definitely something to think about for the future, see how you feel after the baby is here and you\’ve moved.
     
    Hope your visit home was fun, even with all the "free advice" from your friends and family. 🙂

  3. Unknown says:

    What a great program!  I\’m amazed at your self restraint in not immediately applying for a position there.  LOLAnd about blog-moving…yeah, it\’s just something you have to take the plunge on.  I feel the same way as you, I\’ll keep my msn blog up, just because I don\’t want to lose all that stuff!  Hope you\’re having a great weekend!God bless 🙂

  4. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM!  At least you know there are lots of opportunities available for you and your hub when you return home.  It will be interesting to see whether you like the stay-at-home-mom thing………..I know the baby would love having you around all the time, though.  Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

  5. Cheryl says:

    I applied to Teach Nola, it is not too good.  They were so inflexible that they would not agree to a telephone interview instead wanted me to fly there for a generic interview.  Over $1000 airfare and loss of pay from my job here.  I told them sorry, I would contact them in July if they were still interested.  Try Teach Louisiana, it is run by the state dept of Ed and you can apply for every district you want to work in with one app.  You can also see on line who has reviewed your application.  I am thinking of applying for the diocese of La too.  The schools are very good there too…..  Home is great isnt it?  We bought a house in Lakewoods and are repairing it now. Should be in by the fall I hope……  By the way, everyone has advice for new moms.  Just listen, agree and then do what you want. Best way to survive!  And, DO NOT let people come to visit you overnight when you come home from the hospital!    They can get a hotel room!

  6. Toni says:

    The "wait and see" approach works well when you\’re deciding whether or not to stay at home with your kids…I\’m sure you\’ve got options if it didn\’t work out and it sounds like you\’ve got reasonable expectations of the whole situation and believe me it helps. It won\’t be easy but you know that.
    I checked out the rockermommy blog and now I am in love with it.
    Thank you.
    Loved the pictures you sent. Those 3Ds are amazing! ~Toni

  7. Tracy says:

    Ya I bet it\’s very hard with everyone voicing their opinion on what you and the hubs should do and should not do!! 
     
    That job does sound just perfect for you!! 

  8. Aimee says:

    hey you have to atleast try it before you can say you don\’t like it…and i think you will like it… 
     
    :o) smiles easy to give away they are free… :o) very contagious… :o) so pass one to anyone … :o) to people that you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o) in no time the whole world will be smiling :o)

Leave a Reply

