Good for a Laugh

What She Wore: Olive green pants; a gauzy white, long-sleeve shirt, brown strappy sandals.  This cold weather has GOT to stop–all my winter maternity clothes are too small, and my current ones are leaving me freezing my butt off!

I work largely with kids who live in poverty.  I’m not saying that every kid in my building lives in poverty, but the vast majority do.  As a result, they sometimes have a pretty stunted world view–not always, but sometimes. 
 
One day, there was a little time remaining at the end of class, and the worst thing you can do with middle schoolers is let them have free time, so I decided to teach the kids how to play M.A.S.H.  This is a silly little game that you use to predict their futures, and even high schoolers will play.  If you’ve never played before, a student picks three future jobs, cars, husbands, etc.  Then you throw is some wild cards, and "predict" the child’s future. 
 
One of my kids was having trouble figuring out some jobs–she quickly came up with "Chuck E. Cheese" and "the skating rink."  A friend supplied her with "teacher" as her third choice.  Now, maybe I should be upset that "skating rink" came after teacher, but I was more worried that my students don’t have a good idea about what a job is, or what their choices are.
 
After lamenting about this to a friend of mine, she quickly replied, maybe she just wants to work with children.
 
I hadn’t thought about it like that.
 
KM
 
 
PS: I almost forgot–the name of the game, M.A.S.H, stands for Mansion, apartment, shack, house–the different places you might end up living.  I was explaining it to the kids when I had a blank-out, and couldn’t remember what S stood for.  One of the kids helfully suggested "section 8?"  When stuff like that happens, I realize I’m learning as much from them as they are from me.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Good for a Laugh

  1. Becca says:

    I hope that kids think that they have more opportunities for themselves and don\’t have to live the same lives as their parents.You can learn more about Nutella here: http://www.nutellausa.com/history.htm. It tastes like chocolate. Yummy!

  2. g says:

    Yeah…we learn a lot from them…and a lot of the times it is really sad!!
     
    g.j.

  3. Karla says:

    Hello girly.How are you? Catching up with everyone tonight and since you were the only one I couldn\’t manage to get a hold of, I decided to read up on your blog instead until I can manage to get the real thing. Kat said she saw you at your shower; I was very jealous!!! Hope everything is going good. I want updated belly shots!!!! I can\’t believe you are only a few weeks from beng a mommy. So exciting… Call me when you get a chane. Love & miss you & thinking about you!!!
     
    PS. Let\’s starting thinking about a reunion trip sometime in the next 1-2 years (with all the extra kids, it will probably take that long to figure out the details). A reunion with you guys sounds WAY preferable to the 10 yr HS one.

  4. Tracy says:

    Oh you brought back memories of playing MASH!!!  I think I always ended up in a shack 🙂 
    Rebecca has a good point in that the thing with kids like that is helping them to break out of the "mold" and realize they can do anything they put their minds to.

  5. Sarah says:

    I used to love MASH! We used to play it on the bus ride to and from school (it was about an hour long). Sometimes we even made it into "MARSH". The "R" stood for ranch I think. I just want to play it now! lol!
     
    It was pretty cold this weekend (around 20 degrees or something) and the wind was probably blowing at about 30+ miles per hour, so that makes it really cold. That\’s funny that you thought of me!

  6. Aimee says:

    lol…that is cute…haven\’t played that in forever and you know..i still can\’t remember how to play…i guess what one person says might not be understandable to another…i get that all the time here at work…i just thought that maybe i was speaking a different english that everyone else…gues i need to work on my communication skills…lol…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  7. Stacy says:

    I love how you are always learning something new from the students.  I hope that whatever decision you make regarding your future plans, that some day you do go back to teaching.  You have a great understanding of the kids and I believe they benefit from you.
     
    -S.

  8. Betsy says:

    I loved to play MASH.  You have to have one boy that is totally gross though…and we always picked lamborghini and masaratti and all those fancy cars that I wouldn\’t even recognize and obviously can\’t spell.
     
    It\’s eye opening to see where some kids come from.  I know I didn\’t know section 8 when I was 12!  I don\’t even totally know what it is now.  I guess that\’s a good thing for me but sad to think about where some kids come from and how much that really can limit their dreams.

  9. Jaysey says:

    Wow.  You know–section 8 may actually be more politically correct than "shack."  😉

  10. Leah says:

    hahaha, section 8, that is too funny! Kids are great. Section 8\’s were always interesting to witness when I was in the military…it was an easy and sometimes dramatic out. I remember one guy started punching himself in the face when we were doing pushups. Section 8 indeed.

  11. Hollie says:

    When you work the poorest of the poor you learn so many important lessons from them, I know I did from my time in LA.

  12. Unknown says:

    Oooooooh I used to play that game all the time when I was a kid!  We had so much fun.  Hope you\’re having a great day!God bless 🙂

  13. Nadine says:

     Section 8, too funny!!!!
     

  14. Nadine says:

     Section 8, too funny!!!!
     

  15. Carol says:

    Here\’s wishing the best for all your kids.

  16. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I have been away for awhile and now I can\’t log into my space.  Thankfully though I could get into yours!

  17. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Wow, that entry touched my heart.  We have so much to be thankful for………..I must always remember that.  Hope you and the baby are well……..and the Hub of course:)

Leave a Reply

