Crap

Note: I heard about the tragedy at Virginia Tech after writing this very self-centered entry.  I am still absorbing the details at this point, but my thoughts and prayers go out to anyone who has been affected by this tragedy.
 
 
What She Wore: teal, Grecian-style top; black capris; black, strappy sandals. 

I try not to burden the rest of the world with my ridiculous shallow crap, but today I’m just going to let it fly. 
 
 
I have not been a good pregnant lady.  I have been ordered by my doctor to STOP EATING OUT!
 
 
This pains me in a way that I cannot describe.  I have NEVER been overweight in my life, and I pride myself on keeping my diet under control. 
 
 
This has not been the case these last two months.  My hunger has become uncontrollable, and like a wild beast I’ve been eating everything in sight.  I realize that I cannot diet, and that’s just making it worse.  I’m angry at myself because I know that all this weight gain just makes me feel worse, and will make labor and delivery more difficult.  So, I’m furious, and overweight, and apparently the most shallow person I know.   I’m doing everything in my power to beat back the crazy person in me that’s saying Just Stop Eating. 
 
 
Pray for me.
 
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Crap

  1. Christi says:

    I can totally relate.  I gained 60 pounds during my pregnancy (all for a 5 1/2 lb. preemie!).  But it came off relatively quickly.  By the time my little man was 3 mos. old, I had lost all but a stubborn 10-15 pounds which left my body sometime before he turned 6 mos. old.  I didn\’t think I ate alot, but it just kept piling on.  The scale kept going up every time I went in!  and you are right, it is so hard, because it is not like you can go on a diet right now!  The point is, you will lose it, and you will have a lovely baby to distract you in the meanwhile!  Hang in there. 

  2. Christine says:

    You might not be able to diet, but you can change WHAT you are eating.  Carrot sticks with dressing are better for you and the baby that take out Chinese.  Eat things that will fill you up without being calorie dense.  Celery has a negative caloric effect on the body as it takes more calories to digest than there are in it.  High fiber foods also tend to fill you up without the calories.  I think I gained 62 pounds with my first pregnancy…much of that was fluid gain…My legs were like tree trunks…YUCK.
     
    Good luck to you in this, and I too am praying for all those affected at Virginia Tech.  Such a tragedy!
     
    Christine

  3. KEL says:

    Good luck…I remember being pregnant and on bed rest so I wasn\’t able to do much more than eat (good ol\’ southern food…yum!)  Anyhow, there were weeks when in a mater of 3 day\’s I\’d have gained 5 pounds and then the doctor put me on this low sodium, low fat (translate YUK) diet of sorts and my weight gain was much less…I was hungry and I just couldn\’t pass up food when the little one inside was hungry right?  Well sufice it to say that despite the massive weight gain, she was healthy and eventually it all came off…those are the things that matter most…healthy and happy babies!!~K

  4. Tracy says:

    Well, I pretty much know nothing about eating while pregnant, so I won\’t give any advice.  I\’ll just say that I\’ll be thinking of you and you are a strong, smart woman and I am sure you\’ll be fine!!
     
    The VT thing is crazy – I didn\’t know any of the victims, as far as I know, but I still feel like, personally attacked, how could someone do that at my alma mater?!?! Not fair!! 

  5. Nadine says:

    It is for your own good! You will thank him later! Trust me!!
     
    And you are not the most shallow person on earth….you have a big, beautiful, giving heart….we all know that.
     All our hearts are with VT.

  6. Unknown says:

    Ooooooh this just stinks!!  Just try to change what you\’re eating – you can still go out.  Just order a salad.  Hey, it\’s better than a hamburger!  :)Hang in there!God bless 🙂

  7. Becca says:

    You will be ok, just do the rest in moderation and more veggies and fruits young lady! Lots of water, too!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  8. WINDOW LIVE says:

    That\’ not shallow.  Being pregnant is tough.  I didn\’t gain a ton of weight while I was pregnant, but boy oh boy I did afterwards.  It was weird.  My metabolism was in high gear during pregnancy but later…not so high.  I was a total chub 2 months after my daughter was born.  Of course I have always been a chunky monkey.  Hang in there!

  9. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi KM, just got caught up on your past two entries (before this one).  I loved the one about the conversation with your Hub – real sweet:)
    On hooking up with your friends:  you are right – no one\’s life is perfect even when it may seem so.  We all go through loads of stuff, and some of us even smile through it so no one would know.  Life is indeed a very tough thing as yesterday\’s tragedy at VA Tech shows – it will always have its ups and downs.
    About the eating, please don\’t get down.  Even though you cannot diet, can you eat more healthy stuff or do you always crave junk?  I have never been pregnant but I always hear people say that you cannot control what you crave, you know.  Hang in there.  The baby will be here soon and hopefully, the weight will drop off quickly.

  10. Brenda says:

    Let it out, Katy!  And you are so not \’shallow\’.  Try to curb your appetite, but then remind yourself that your metabolism will hit the roof after the baby is born and the pounds will melt right off.  (Been there, done that!)  Meanwhile, I leave offering big prayers to you.
     

  11. Carol says:

    I always thought that unbridled eating was the best reward for getting pregnant.  I loved being able for once to not have to count calories and worry about my figure.  My doctor yelled at me too, but hey, he wasn\’t the one who was pregnant.  Don\’t beat yourself up Katie, it\’s tough being pregnant.

  12. Unknown says:

    Heya gf just catching up.As for the babysleepinroom thing…all my kids were in my bedroom in a baby bassinet as long as they were waking up in the middle of the night or the buttcrack of dawn to breastfeed. Easy for me to wake up near and feed them and put them back to bed close. Then when they slept the whole night through and woke @ a reasonable hour they went to their own room. No biggie.I did a marriage thing to HIM as well. We were laying in bed one night and I asked him something like, "Why hasn\’t anyone snatched you up?" I then said…"I\’m going to snatch you up." He reminded me of this conversation after we were married.I can not believe those kids and the sex thing! Jeezum.I did yoga to the 6th month and walking a lot. I got to eat what I wanted to….perhaps it\’s the trade off! BUT the damn glucose test….just warning you if and when you do it, if you already haven\’t, DO NOT EAT ALFREDO AND KEY LIME PIE THE NIGHT BEFORE!!!!hugs,Mercyps. I\’m @ Maxwell this week and then off to Cheyenne next week…then maybe if I get settled I\’ll blog…bleah.

  13. Cheryl says:

    Katie, you are not a wild beast!!!!   Try buying some of the protein powder they sell in the health food stores, they do have the low carb whey powder, which is loaded with protein.  You need protein, that is the reason you are so hungry.  Most American eateries have stuff full of fat calories and carbs.  Carbs are easy and portable too.  If you like milk shakes the powder is great for that, just blend with low fat skim milk, and add fruit or instant coffee (if you like coffee) and ice and blend.  Presto!  Instant smoothie.  You will feel very full!  Also you can go to smoothie king and buy theirs but it is expensive.  Guarentee you will not be so hungry!
    Virginia Tech was a tragedy.  I have met a few students in High School and when I taught at the Univ.  that were disturbed. It happens because we respect the rights of these people to refuse to take medications or to be hospitalized, and the aftermath is sometimes violent.  What about the rights of all those innocent people?  Whose rights are stronger?  Endless debate……
    Cheryl

  14. Aimee says:

    you stop eating and i will stop smoking…together we will make it through…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  15. happy says:

    hi, im, johnny, asian, married 38, can any married people guide me on how to keep the fire going. yu know, it is getting stale a bit….. thx, chat if possible, yahoo or msn- add me:  talk_nocyber

Leave a Reply

