The World We Live In

What She Wore: Black, scoop-neck, short sleeve baby doll tee; distressed denim skirt; my ubiquitous black strappy sandals.  One of the girls at school wanted my skirt–feels great when someone says that, and you know that it’s got a big elastic panel.


One of my colleagues has two school aged children.  As a school assignment, one of them created a power point presentation about his family complete with pictures.  My colleague brought it to school to show her students–she thought they’d like to know about her family, and would enjoy seeing pictures of her children. 
 
The presentation raised the following questions:
 
You and you son have the same last name?
 
Does your other son have that last name?
 
And your husband?
 
How did that happen?
 
 
When I think about the kids I teach, less than 10% have parents who are married to each other.  I’m not saying right or wrong, I’m just saying times have changed!
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The World We Live In

  1. BP says:

    KM,
    You are definitely right that times have changed.  When I was a child it was very unusual to have brothers and sisters that didn\’t have the same name.  Just look at the Brady Bunch.Thanks for stopping by my neck of the woods and leaving your comments.  As for knowing about what type of microphone I was referring to, don\’t feel bad the majority of people do not understand and I really wouldn\’t know myself if I didn\’t depend on one to do my dictation.  I will be trying to get more pictures so that others might fully understand to what I am referring.
    I wish I could completely get off caffeine.  I may try again, but like you I crave tea, Mountain Dew, and various other caffeine products.Stop by again sometime.Billy

  2. Stacy says:

    The first time I took my oldest to the new pediatrician (our first one left town) they asked if he had the same last name as me.  And then they asked what the fathers last name was.  At first I was appalled, but then I realized that today is different than so many years ago. 
     
    -S.

  3. Nadine says:

     That is so true….the new modern family!!
     
     Come see my shoes.
     
     Hugs!

  4. Antonella says:

    THings definately are different, but I have to say, I didn\’t follow the traditional path, at least in the beginning. But now, we all have the same last name. I just think it\’s easier that way, but who knows, maybe in a few years, it\’ll be totally unheard of that husband wife and children have the same last names!
    Hope your cold is gone! I know it\’s really hard when you\’re preg!
    take care,
    Antonella

  5. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Yeah, we are in sad times……..I think this is just indicative of the decay of our society as we know it.

  6. Sarah says:

    How true! The funny thing is that the kids actually asked those questions. They\’re not shy, either!

  7. Aimee says:

    so true..my kenny and my friend eva are the only people i know who\’s parents are still together….eva\’s parents are old school hungarian so they have to stay together just because….but they are the only ones…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  8. siobhan says:

    Yeah, I remember when I was still single.  I would get asked all the time if I had any kids.  I would say no and then I would get asked if I had ever been married!  People thought that it was incredible that at 30 years of age I had never been married and didn\’t have kids!  And that was 10+ years ago!!  I have one girlfriend who has had 3 children (the first when she was 17 or 18 that she gave up for adoption to her aunt) by 3 different men.  I was thinking how embarrassing that must be for her, until I realized, that she is not alone! 
    I see that you are reading the Baby Book by Dr  Sears.  We loved that book.  It make the most sense to us.  The only thing is that we took them seriously about having our child sleep with us.  (We used the sidecar arrangement)  We should have moved him out when he was one.  We are still trying to get him into his own bed!!  He wakes up in the middle of the night and either cries until we come and get him, or comes into our bed on his own.
    Feel better
    Siobhan

  9. Becca says:

    How true, and how sad, but I can\’t talk since my son has a different last name than me now..
    Hugs,
    Becca

  10. Unknown says:

    So true.  I\’m glad I was born and grew up when I did.  The world is a totally different place now.God bless 🙂

  11. g says:

    That is sooooooooooooo true!!  And sad.  But times HAVE changed.
     
    g.j.

  12. Tracy says:

    Ya, it\’s crazy how having the same last names and married parents has become rare, in some places.  But good that the kids see that it does/can happen!  My ex-step-son was talking the other day about how him, his dad, and I all have the same last night – I felt bad thinking well yes, but, your dad and I aren\’t together, I just have the name!

Leave a Reply

