Minor Heart Attack

What She Wore: White, Grecian-style top; purple A-line skirt; black strappy sandals.  My camera cord has arrived, so hopefully I’ll be getting up some shoe pictures some time soon.


I’ll try to be brief since I should be in bed.  
 
Now that I’m in my third trimester, I’ve started counting kicks.  Basically, you see how long it takes to feel ten fetal movements in an hour. 
 
For the past two days I noticed a sharp decline in the number and strength of the movements.  By this afternoon I was in a panic.  I called and spoke with the nurse who told me to eat a snack and lie on my side.  I did this and got some movement, but then it stopped again.  I hung out, played Spider on the computer, ate dinner, watched TV, and I was still feeling very little movement.  I’d gotten about ten kicks in three hours.  Finally, at eight o’clock I headed over to Labor and Delivery to get a Non-Stress test
 
I was seen promptly and baby has a good strong heart beat.  He passed the non-stress test as well, so I’m a pretty happy lady. 
 
And now. . . I’m off to bed.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Minor Heart Attack

  1. Sarah says:

    I\’m glad everything\’s okay! If I ever have kids I\’ll probably be ultra paranoid–like Tori Spelling on that new reality show she has where she thought she cooked her baby by taking a short bath (I know it\’s sad that I watch that show, but I LOVE 90210 so I\’m kinda addicted to "Inn Love" too).

  2. Stacy says:

    I am not sure which is worse,  The first trimester where you hold your breath that you will make it to a viable pregnancy or the last trimester where you worry all the time about Labor and if everything is okay.
     
    Good luck and relax.  Lay on your left side it gives more oxygen to the baby.  And please let us one sneak peak at the little baby belly!
     
    -S.

  3. Unknown says:

    Well what a scare!  I\’m glad everything is ok now.  That baby is just preparing you for all the times in  your life that you\’re going to be scared out of your mind because of something he or she did.  hee heeGod bless 🙂

  4. Nadine says:

     Let\’s not get too excited…we still have a few weeks to go…all is well.
     I think it\’s time to start the Hub on bloggin\’ becuz when the big day comes…we want to know!!

  5. Joell says:

    WHEW.  Glad to know all is well.  Hang in there!!

  6. Carol says:

    Hurray for the baby!  I\’m glad everything tested out OK. 

  7. Becca says:

    I am glad that all is well. Hang in there and you will be holding your little boy before you know it!

  8. Kathleen says:

    Good news on the baby\’s heart beat.  I had the same thing happen in my third trimester with my oldest and I was terrified.  I was so glad that the nurse didn\’t make fun of me and let me come right in to get checked out.  Next you can look forward to checking 20 times a day to see if your baby is breathing AFTER he/she is born.  That is when you know true paranoia has set in!  LOL.
    Kathleen

  9. g says:

    Glad to hear everything is all good.  My kids (both of them) kicked like crazy, especially at night, when I was TRYING to sleep.  But they were both very actice in utero.  Maybe that is a sign that your baby will be calm.  Enjoy your weekend.
     
    g.j.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Glad to hear all is well.  You must have been a state!  I hope you\’re resting comfortably and getting some serious pampering. *hugs*

  11. Christi says:

    Hey sister!  Try also an ice cold glass (at least 8oz.) of juice or water before the left side trick.  Also empty your bladder.  Remember how big your little punkin is inside of your tiny belly ~ he\’s a bit cramped for space!  But very very good for you to have called the nurse.  People are hesitant to call when they feel something is wrong, but it is the absolute best thing you can do.  If you are nervous ever again, call and go in again.  Hang in there – this stuff happens to all of us.  Like Rebecca said, you will be holding that punkin in your arms before you know it!  And yes, teach the hub how to blog so he can post an announcement on the big day!

  12. Aimee says:

    wow…you had me all worked up..i was starting to get stressed out…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

Leave a Reply

