For My Son

What She Wore:Grey t-shirt; jean capris; gray, slip-on tennis shoes.


Lately, I’ve been watching some of the boys at school go astray.  I know that this is the age for this, and I also know that nothing is written in stone, but it still makes me sad.  It got me thinking about what sort of things I would want for my own son.  Here’s what I came up with:
 
I hope you find someone who understands you, and I hope you marry her and make a life together.  I hope you don’t confuse drinking and partying with a life.  I’m not saying you should never drink or party, but I would hate for you to awake at thirty-five and find that all you have is a series of good stories and a beer belly.  I want more for you than that.
 
I hope you figure out sooner rather than later that being part of the crowd is over-rated.  The things that make you different are what make you valuable.  There will be people who recognize your unique worth–just don’t expect to meet any of them in Junior High.
 
I hope you don’t sacrifice your values for someone else, be it a girlfriend, best friend, or even me.  You’ll regret it. 
 
I hope you find something that you love to do and pursue it with all your heart.  We all need a passion.
 
I hope you never forget what it’s really about: friends and family.  I hope to give you a home full of these, and when you have your own home, I hope it will be just as full.
 
And finally, when you pick your profession, I hope you pick something that feels valuable.  There’s nothing harder than getting up in the morning to pursue somebody else’s dream.
 
KM
 
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to For My Son

  1. Becca says:

    I love these, very wise words from a very wise woman. Sounds like you are getting into the nesting mode, too?
     
    Hugs,
    Becca

  2. Sheryl-Ann says:

    This great, KM!  I especially love the part about the values – we should never compromise on these!  Have a good weekend.

  3. Stacy says:

    Very powerful.  I may let my oldest read it.
     
    -S.
     
    BTW – I am having some very heavy bleeding, cramping and off and on spotting.  Dr did a sonogram and found a polyp so he is going to biopsy it.  He is 99% sure it is nothing and the D&C should help with the bleeding for a while.  Thanks for asking.

  4. K says:

    Wow… powerful!  Your son is going to be one lucky young man if you keep emphasising these amazing principles and values for him…. Glad you are well and baby is progressing as well… in a healthy manner.
     
    Sorry I haven\’t been around much.. got lots on the go and needed a break from Spaces.  But I wanted to make sure I came by as I think of you often!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  5. Joell says:

    Well said and DITTO from me to my babies.  Your son is blessed to have a loving mom like you.  I know you can\’t wait to meet him.
     
    Today I am remembering meeting my daughter for the first time…it\’s her birthday.  Nine already…the time does fly.  She and my son are the greatest joys in my life.  🙂
     
     

  6. Cheryl says:

    Katie, I wish this for all my students.  When they come in year 7 they are just babies, but when they leave in year 12, sometimes they don\’t even look the same or act the same either.  Hopefully, they will find the right path in life, there are many paths to choose and these days, young people have many more than the ones offered when I was a student.  Teachers are a major influence on their choices, even when they appear that they are not listening……  Never underestimate the power of influence teachers and parents have!  Hope you are doing well………
    Cheryl

  7. Sarah says:

    This is great! I\’m sure being in your profession really makes you see what you want and don\’t want for your own children. You\’re going to be a great mom!

  8. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Very well put.  My son graduates from high school this month and I am feeling very sad.  I want him to be little again.  I guess this is normal. 

  9. Unknown says:

    That\’s beautiful. Have a wonderful day.

  10. Aimee says:

    wow…for sure the best wishes i have ever read for a child…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  11. Jaysey says:

    That\’s a good list.  You should give that to him one day…preferably at one of the pre-go-astray ages. 😉

Leave a Reply

