Sleepless Nights

What She Wore: red, v-neck, empire waist shirt with small, white polka dots; denim skirt; red espadrilles with big white polka dots.  I got lots of compliments on the shoes.

Suddenly, I can’t sleep, and I’m not even worried about labor or delivery
 
It’s just occured to me that I’m supposed to move after the baby is born and live somewhere completely different.
 
Realistically, we’re going to be taking a big step down in standard of living.  Probably, buying an older home that needs renovations.  Hub’s best friend is a contractor, so that’s good, but we’d porbably have to live with bad cabinets and carpet till we got a little money together.
 
And a house that’s not as nice?  Will probably still cost at least 60,000 more dollars than our current home.  Minimum. 
 
And the Hub still has to find a pretty well-paying job, or we won’t even be able to afford that.
 
Is it any wonder I can’t sleep?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sleepless Nights

  1. Tracy says:

    Ya, you definitely have a lot of big stuff going on right now!!  I know the move will be stressful as it happens, and buying the smaller, older, more expensive house and everything, but just remember what the point of it all is, that you will be abck where you want to be and around family and it\’ll be where you raise the little one 🙂  Speaking of, glad everything turned out OK after the non-movement the other day, that musta been scary.  Hope you had a good Monday.

  2. g says:

    I wouldn\’t be able to sleep either.  That is a lot to worry about, but you\’ve got all your blogging friends to pray for you.  :0)
     
    g.j.

  3. Unknown says:

    Sorry you\’re stressed.  I don\’t blame you at all.We wanted to buy an older home too, well, actually, we had no choice either.  It was all we could afford.I will pray that you don\’t have problems like we\’re having.  For the love of God.  God bless 🙂

  4. Stacy says:

    Relax, it will all work out.  Promise!  Lean on God and He will bring you through.
     
    -S.

  5. Jaysey says:

    Yeah…that\’s a lot of stress…but hey, bad cabinets and carpet aren\’t the worst it could be…I\’m in that boat with my new house–nothing\’s going to be perfect, bu that\’s life.  Get a place you think you can live in for a bit, and you can fix it up as you go–it\’ll give you something to do–and it won\’t be that hard with a bf for a contractor–at least you have someone you can trust!  Plus, older homes have more personality. 😉

  6. Nora says:

    Hey Lady,
    That last trimester kicks worry into overdrive I think.  Paint can make a lot of things better until you can really fix them.  That was a sweet letter to your son on your last entry.  I am sure it will all work out.  I wish I had a great way to switch off the worrry switch, I sang a lot to the baby and had a rich fantasy book I was making up in my head utnil I fell asleep again.  The latter was probably because I read the Lord of the Rings books through twice while I was pregnant. LOL

  7. Sarah says:

    I don\’t blame you for being stressed about the moving/living/working situation. You just have to remember that no matter how messed up things seem right now or will be right away after you move, it will all calm down and work out after awhile. You won\’t be in the "poorhouse" forever!

  8. Becca says:

    I know that it will be stressful, but look at it this way, when you are done, it will truly be home. And something that you both put your heart and soul into and a wonderful place to raise your child. I know that it is easy for me to say not to stress, but try not to worry, it isn\’t so good for you and the baby. It will all work out, you\’ll see. Life has a funny way of doing just that.
    Hugs,
    Becca

  9. Betty says:

    Hi KM,
     
    It is good to remember that so far you have done well.  You respect and admire your husand\’s abilities and you revere your upbringing and your parents.  You, my friend, have everything you need to succeed in whatever you do and so far your life experiences have been successful.  There is no reason to doubt your choices and decisions – except, of course, that your homones are all over the place!
     
    Betty

  10. Joell says:

    I know you\’ve got a lot on your mind right now.  Take a deep (cleansing!) breath and relax. Don\’t worry.  It will all come together.  Things have a way of working out.  Hang in there.  🙂

  11. WINDOW LIVE says:

    You will be okay I know that!  I am hoping you will be close to family.  If not remember this.  At eighteen I lived 2500 miles from my family and gave birth to my firstborn.  I was dumb as a bag of hair and not nearly as smart or resourceful as you.  It all worked out and I made some great friends and had the time of my life.  You will too!  Just think of this as another adventure that the three of you can share.

  12. Aimee says:

    relax…things will all come together….no sense in worrying until you need to right…why stress yourself out now…try some warm milk and a bath…you are moving to where you want to be and things will be easier…and harder at the same time…. 
     
    :o) smiles easy to give away they are free… :o) very contagious… :o) so pass one to anyone … :o) to people that you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o) in no time the whole world will be smiling :o)

  13. Nadine says:

     An old fixer upper with your own touches makes for a great home…..we paid 35,000 for our heap with almost 4 acres….the lawn is coming along nicely but the house…I still have a hole in the kitchen floor. But I have a brand new barbed wire fence!!!! Woo hoo!!! priorities!!
     
     and the last blog…make a copy of it for your baby\’s book….that is one of the best pieces you have ever written.
    Hugs!!!

  14. Unknown says:

    You sound like my husband…. serious amount of brain activity! Slow down, things always work out!

  15. Tiffany says:

    I would be worrying as well!  So, did you guys ever decide to move?  I haven\’t heard you talk about that.  Other than getting a different house.  I\’m glad that you and the baby are doing well!  I\’ve been thinking of you!
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  16. Dawn says:

    Hang in there…I wouldn\’t be able to sleep either.    Things will come together.  You\’re a tough cookie and this is just one more hurdle…

Leave a Reply

