Apologies in advance. . .

What She Wore: Peach, v-neck tee; khaki capris, brown strappy sandals.


I’m rarely one to get political, and I almost never get political on this blog, but today is going to be a different kind of day.  Yesterday, I heard something that made me so mad that I can’t keep my mouth shut, so here goes:
 
The Army and the Marines are strained to their limits and enlistments are down.  They don’t have enough people. 
 
The quick and dirty solution to this problem is to re-train Air Force Airmen to do infantry jobs.  Basically, you may have signed up to be an Airman, but you’re in the Army now. 
 
 
I hate this more than I can express.  Right now, in this country, military service is OPTIONAL.  When someone signs up to be in the Air Force, then they want to be in the AIR FORCE–not the army and not the marines.  They usually join that branch because they desire to do something with air planes or air defense.  If they wanted to run around on the ground with an M-16 then they would have joined the army in the first place.   
 
As far as I’m concerned, this is tantamount to the draft–they are drafting people into another branch of the service.  Some people would argue with me that military service is military service–you sign up, and that’s what you get.  I disagree.  I signed up to work for a certain city as a teacher.  If I showed up one day, and they asked me to collect garbage then I’d quit.  Military personnel don’t have the option of  quitting–they go to military prison. 
 
This is govermental slight-of-hand.  They don’t have enough people to fight in this war because not enough people believe in it.  Now they’re begging and borrowing from other branches to fill in the gaps.   They know that if they just went ahead and instated a draft they’d have people rioting in the streets–people would stop being passive and would get up and protest this war for real. 
 
I apologize to those I offend with this post.  I am a great supporter of the men and women who are willing to give their lives in defense of this country and its ideals.  I think we owe it to these brave souls not to play around with their lives or their integrity.  I respect them so much that I want them HOME guarding us and keep us safe–not torn from their family and friends holiday after holiday, year after year.  I have a great many friends in the military and I want one thing for them–that they be allowed to defend our country in method of their choosing–be it air, land, or water.  I don’t have their strength or their courage, but I can do one thing–stand up when I think they’re being taken advantage of. 
 
My two cents.  Disregard as needed.  Tomorrow, potty humor, or somthing else more my style.
 
KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Apologies in advance. . .

  1. Jaysey says:

    While you seem reluctant to blog about this, you shouldn\’t…for two reasons:
    1) It\’s important.  If you don\’t talk about it, no one will know about it. 
    2) As a military spouse, you\’re the perfect person to talk about it because you know what you\’re talking about.
    With that out of the way, I would like to say that I agree with you that this is totally unfair to those people willing to give their lives for our country.  The government takes advantage of that at every given opportunity.
     
    On a different note, how much training do they actually give them when they ask them to essentially switch careers?  My guess is the training is pretty, well, quick.  Now, think about a big business example: would people be ok with putting a janitor through a two-week training course and then making him oh, say, the IT guy in the same company?  Not likely.  Amazing what the government can get away with that wouldn\’t actually fly in the real world, isn\’t it?

  2. Carol says:

    Cheryl, I love the political stuff.  I guess it\’s because we usually agree.  Keep it coming.It\’s bad enough that the National Guard is being called up in such numbers that there aren\’t enough reserves stateside in case of a natural disaster, but here the government is changing the deal.  I don\’t see how this administration hopes to keep the soldiers in Iraq, save face, and have victory when everything it does from abetting torture to failing to provide medical treatment for wounded soldires undermines the whole enterprise.  Now this.  Look for a big year for Democrats in \’08 unless something changes fast.    

  3. Becca says:

    Speak up, KM, we need to know this stuff. You are much more versed in what is happening since you are the spouse of one in uniform. And you have every right to be angry.  I hate this. We need change. I will always support our troops, always, but we need someone to take the reins and find a way to figure out this.

  4. Sarah says:

    I like when you (and other bloggers) write about stuff like this. I\’m not very well-versed in political matters, and it\’s interesting to hear things.
     
    The fact that the governmentis forcing servicemen to change branches is sad. I think the government should be thankful for the people they have enlisted and not do anything to upset them. Who knows, next time they have the opportunity to "get out" they probably will. Then we\’ll have even less people to work with.

  5. Della says:

    What you choose to blog about is definitely your choice.  But I have agreed with everythign you\’ve written that I\’ve read, and it\’s interesting to hear others\’ opinions even if I DON\’T agree!  In this case, I heartily agree with you.  Choosing to defend your country is a personal decision, and people should be able to decide for themselves how to rick their lives.  Not only that, but many people who are in one branch or another are there because they have an affinity or talent for that area.  A person who can swim like a fish is going to be more of an asset in a branch that is primarily water based.  I person who loves to fly is going to do a better job when he or she is in the air.
    and I love Jaysey\’s point about training–I doubt they are going to make them start over from the beginning and train in their new job for the full amount of time!   Which will make them dislike their new jobs even more!

  6. Tiffany says:

    Girl, you should know ALL ABOUT this being married to someone in the military!  DO NOT feel bad that you might offend someone!  I think it\’s ridiculous that the military would do something like that.  Isn\’t that the reason they have different branches of the military?  So, you can FREELY choose which one you want to be in?  It\’s sad to hear that it\’s going on in our own country.  I\’m very proud of the men and women in our military and pray for them each and everyday!
     
    Don\’t ever be afraid to speak what is on your mind!
     
    Big Hugs – Tiffany

  7. g says:

    _________@@@@@@@@__________@@@@________@@@________@@_____@@@@@@@________@@___________@@__@@@______@@________@@____________@@@__________@@__________@@________________________@@____@@@@@@______@@@@@___________@@__@@@@@@@@@__@@@@@@@_________@@__@@____________@@@@@@@@_______@@_@@____________@@@@@@@@@_____@@_@@____________@@@@@@@@___@@@_@@@___________@@@@@@@______@@__@@@@__________@@@@@________@@____@@@@@@_______________________@@_________@@________________________@@________@@___________@@__________@@________@@@________@@@@@@@@@@@@_________@@@_____@@@_@@@@@@@@__________@@@@@@@@ @@@@@@___________@@@@@_@ ____________________@____________________@_____________________@______________________@_______________________@____@@@_______________@@@@__@__@____@@_____________@_______@@@____@@______________@@@@____@__@@__________________________@___
     
    Hope you enjoy the upcoming weekend and holiday.
     
    g.j.

  8. K says:

    I couldn\’t agree with you more… I don\’t believe in wars etc… but I do realise the importance of our armed forces and when one enlists to perform one of the most dangerous jobs in modern days… one should be able to choose what areas he/she wishes to serve and protect.  He/She is enlisting out of choice and honor… not because they were drafted or forced into service.
     
    Excellent blog posting.  Well stated and voices need to be heard speaking out against this change.  Its deplorable.
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC
     
    (PS… still waiting for your mailing address hon… when you can (since you don\’t have access to the internet at home now), please email it to me… I would greatly appreciate it!)

  9. Julie says:

    It\’s not offensive at all – it\’s right.  I agree wholeheartedly.  As far as I\’m concerned, W is a cancer.

  10. Gina says:

    I completely 100% agree with you!
     
    So much for a free country…

  11. Elizabeth says:

    I can totally understand how frustrating this would be.  If I wanted to be in the Navy I would have signed up with them instead of the Army. Intersting how close this entry is to Memorial Day.  Respect, people.

  12. Joell says:

    Totally agree with you girl!! 

Leave a comment