Suckfest

What She Wore: Black running pants; navy blue and white polo shirt I stole from my husband; navy blue tennis shoes.  Virtually nothing fits me, and I have no desire to get any more maternity clothes, so I’ve sunk to stealing clothes.  Sheesh.


I while back, I blogged about one of those life-changing events that happened to my husband.   You can read the long version if you want, but the short version is this: a minor heart-defect prevented my husband from pursuing his life-long dream of flying air planes for the USAF. 
 
Well, when he got his diagnosis from an Air Force doctor, it was recommended that he have it checked periodically to make sure the condition wasn’t deteriorating.  He had this done about two years ago by a cardiologist, and after he checked out OK, he never really looked over his paperwork again.
 
Last week my husband took a class on re-entering the civilian world, and one of the items discussed was disability.  It was recommended that you go over any long-term diagnoses that you received while on active duty.  We have no intention of filing for disability, but my husband thought it would be a good idea to just go ahead and look over all his paperwork.
 
The report from the cadiologist contained some very interesting news.
 
According to that doctor, my husband doesn’t have a heart condition: he’s fine. 
 
The amount of profanity I’d like to share is unbelievable.  Some hack doctor completely changed the course of our lives and put us through an unbelievable amount of misery.
 
The Hub is non-plussed.  He thinks all is for the best, and we’d have a whole life-time of this if he had become a pilot.  As it stands, we have just a few more months. 
 
He’s probably right, but I’d still like to cuss somebody out.
 
KM
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Suckfest

  1. Jaysey says:

    OMG!!  What a crock!  How could they have possible messed that one up??  Heart defect, perfectly fine…big difference!

  2. KENT says:

    Wow, unbelievable!  If that\’s the kind of doctors they have, I\’m glad I finished my time a long time ago.  Some arm chair doctor… a pencil pusher that probably couldn\’t tell a hang nail from a festered belly button.  I\’m with your husband, all for the best…look toward your future and the new arrival, and many happy years together.  Hope all is well with you.  🙂  Kent

  3. Leighann says:

    Okay, I\’ll play devil\’s advocate – There\’s a reason why the first doctor made the mistake….call it fate…your hubby is right…it was all for the best.  Now, you\’ll be together with a new baby and he\’ll be safe on the ground with you both. 

  4. Nora says:

    Ouch! I can see why that hurts.  Opens up more questions than it answers doesn\’t it?

  5. Antonella says:

    OMG!!! That\’s crazy! How could they mess up something like that????

  6. Tracy says:

    That is so weird, that\’s such a big thing, how can people not check and double check to make sure they are right? And them maybe, I don\’t know, TELL YOU that they found out he\’s fine?!  Sheesh!!

  7. T. says:

    How awful.  I didn\’t go to the AFA because I was told I\’m too short to fly.  Three years ago, I went to a winging ceremony; one of the recepients was shorter than me.  I had to leave the party.  I was freakin\’ upset.  I can totally understand.

  8. K says:

    I would just like to say that I am so sorry this happened to you and what is even worse is that it does not surprise me one bit. I can\’t even begin to tell you how many doctors my husband (USAF) and I have seen that are either too dumb to figure the problem out or just don\’t care about us or fixing it. There is a real problem here and I am afraid nothing will ever be done about it. Again I am so sorry about your husbands job but everything will work out for you I know it!

  9. Sarah says:

    That\’s crazy! I hope he hasn\’t passed up anything else because of that bunk diagnosis. I\’d be ticked off, too!

  10. Becca says:

    I can see why you would want to cuss someone out. But, right now, it is probably for the best that he did get that diagnosis. Look where he might have gone had he not had it. There are reasons for everything in life, whether we know them or not, things happen. I think that your husband is right. I am glad that you know that there is nothing wrong with his heart and that you are going to have a long, long life together!
    Hugs,
    Becca
    http://escape-for-a-sec.blogspot.com

  11. Leah says:

    Oh. I know. I know ALL ABOUT military doctors and heart conditions. The husband has practically had a heart attack twice, at the RIPE OLD AGE of 28, and apparently there\’s "nothing wrong with him." He couldn\’t pay a doctor to sit down and read his chest x-rays. It works both ways, see.
     
    When I was in, I\’d had my eyesight corrected by a surgeon in Canada renowned for his expertise. They do it better up there anyway, by virtue of having been doing it longer. It took months to pass a flight physical because, Navy "experts" informed me, I was "almost legally blind."
     
    Oh really? Considering I once WAS almost legally blind, I think I\’d notice.
     
    I feel your pain.

  12. Stacy says:

    Wow – I can think of so many ways to react to that one.  Both ticked off and relieved.  I can completely see both of your views.
     
    Good Luck.
     
    -S.

  13. Unknown says:

    hey Km…have you had baby yet?  probably not if you\’re still busy blogging. Hope all is well…glad to hear the hubby\’s ticker is ok.
     

  14. Unknown says:

    Oh my, yes I can imagine that would very nearly push a person into inventing new cuss words. How bad, you\’d think something as serious at that… they\’d double check! Crazy!! Hee hee, I was stealing my husband clothes near the end of my pregnancies too. Hope you have a good weekend. -S-

  15. Aimee says:

    better that he is ok than sick…but you right…getting mad always makes it more fun…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

Leave a Reply

